We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (129)
Filter reviews
129 results
Traveller rating
12
36
52
19
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
12
36
52
19
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fish cakes hot breakfast staff were friendly and helpful on site restaurant potatoes free wifi the trans canada highway gas station rooms were very clean two double beds long drive front desk staff would stay again stayed one night newfoundland server hairdryer
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 129 reviews
Reviewed August 28, 2018

There aren't a lot of choices of hotels in Gander and this one was very clean and there was nothing bad to say about it. The room was nicely appointed. It is located next to an Aand W rootbeer restaurant and across the street from the tourist bureau. There is another restaurant bar on the other side. Parking was a little tight. Every spot was taken.

Room tip: There is an elevator in the back of the building which is helpful for accessibility
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ChayaYehudit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cory A, Marketing Manager at Albatross Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Your feedback is greatly appreciated. Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to hopefully seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 21, 2018

Myself and 3 friends stopped into the Albatross on our way across Newfoundland. The place was spotless. We went into the restaurant. The beef vegetable soup was delicious. We ordered the fish cakes. It was served on a dinner plate with nothing else but 2 fish cakes. I was excited about getting them as I live in Ontario. There was no fish just potatoes. We complained to the server but nothing was done.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank eileenhicks1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cory A, Marketing Manager at Albatross Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We really appreciate it. Very happy to hear that you were pleased with your accommodations but very sorry that your meal was not to your satisfaction. Your concerns have been brought forward to our management team and will be investigated further. Our fish cakes are a popular menu item and one of the many more traditional Newfoundland dishes that can be found on our menu. I hope the rest of your stay in Gander was enjoyable and we look forward to hopefully seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 10, 2018 via mobile

I’ve stayed in many Steele hotels and this was by far the worst. It was so outdated, and the room was very small. When we arrived it was just by hope they had a room available, when we asked they said they had rooms so we requested a queen, the lady said they had one left and gave us our room key, the elevator was broke so we had to lug our suitcases up the stairs which thankfully was only one flight. The layout of the hotel is very poor and all over the place. The carpets down the halls look very outdated, and our hallway was closed off by a door and you were hit by a stale gross smell once it was opened. It’s a “non smoking area” but I feel as if it was a smoking area at one point and never cleaned properly to remove that smell. We were the last room in 246 maybe? Not 100% sure the number now. But the room was so small and was NOT a queen bed like we were told. It was a double, we did not go down to complain for we were tired and really just wanted to relax. The whole room was outdated, even the bathroom wallpaper. The hotel itself needs some TLC in my opinion. We did not eat at the restaurant but it looked very clean and nice. They have wifi but it was very slow and then crashed for the night. We were choosing between this hotel and the hotel we stayed the night before and another that wasn’t too far. And sadly in think we made a poor choice to stay here.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 534makaylak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cory A, Marketing Manager at Albatross Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2018

Thank you for your comments. Good or bad, anything that helps us improve is very much appreciated.

First I would like to apologize for the broken elevator. Unfortunately, in NL there are only two elevator companies, neither of which are located in Gander. A technician did visit to investigate the issue but was unable to fix the elevator immediately as parts had to be ordered in from outside of Newfoundland.

We also apologize for the musky smell in the hallway. The ventilation system for that hallway has broken down and the extreme heat and humidity we have been experiencing in Gander as of late has not helped with this issue but work is ongoing to correct the problem.

Management did measure the beds, on the floor you stayed, in case we had made a mistake when we changed the mattresses. The beds are 60” queens. The carpets may appear outdated to some, but are less than six years old and have been replaced since we became a non-smoking hotel. We did renovate the washrooms with tiles, a pedestal sink and wallpaper (which is currently used in many hotels). These rooms are smaller than some of our other rooms but are often requested.

Once again, we are sorry that we did not meet your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 3, 2018

We stayed one night at the hotel. As mentioned it is older but the rooms were very clean. No fridge in the room but one was supplied when we asked for one. The restaurant prices are a bit high but my husband and I shared the 2 strip loin special which could be shared and it was two complete meals cooked to perfection. The bakeapple tarts were so good and Pauline our server was the best.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cory A, Marketing Manager at Albatross Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2018

Thank you for choosing The Albatross during your recent stay in Gander. Very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to hopefully seeing you again someday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 15, 2018 via mobile

Hotel room was outdated and smelled funny. Room was clean and well kept and beds were clean and comfy. It was ok for one night stay as we traveled through Gander.
Restaurant and pub on site. Restaurant was good but on the expensive side. Service was good and friendly.
Overall ok experience.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Adolmoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cory A, Marketing Manager at Albatross Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We greatly appreciate the feedback. Both good and bad guest comments allow us to continue to grow and provide the best hotel experience that we can. I hope the rest of your time is Gander was enjoyable and hopefully we may see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews