We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“OMG” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Gander

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Gander
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Gander
St. John's, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“OMG”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

Stayed at this hotel this past weekend and was disgusted. Would not recommend this hotel to anyone. The rooms may have been nice 30 years ago, but, apparently have not been updated since. Very dirty. Small. Overpriced. Beds were not even made. Bathrooms dirty and not updated. Very noisy. Pool was freezing cold. The only positive is that the restaurant was good and the staff were nice.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JackB577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    24
    44
    25
    26
See reviews for
34
25
8
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

I have used this hotel over 10 times in the last 20 years or more. As all hotels in Gander their older and need some love but this is my first choose when I need a hotel room in Gander. This hotel is more then a basic hotel and in its day I sure it was really nice. The rooms are clean and the staff are fine to deal with so I would not have any problem suggesting this hotel to anyone. The hotel is right on the highway so it’s easy to find.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KSE_NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

ok place to stay but you really don't have many choices in gander.

Clean and comfortable rooms, free breakfast with waffle maker,toast, cereal, yoghurt, hard boiled eggs, etc...

would stay again for sure when visiting family in the area.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andrewturk1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Thomas, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

There is not a good choice of hotels in Gander. They all seem a bit worn out. This hotel is quite dated The staff are very friendly and the restaurant served good food but the rooms need some renovation. It was probably nice about 30 years ago but nothing has been done to it since. I thought it was a bit overpriced for the facility. I have stayed at much better hotels in Toronto for less money.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bazz11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
310 reviews
149 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2011

I will begin by saying that it might have just been poor timing. Students were returning to the local university and using many of the rooms to "celebrate" and some kind of dinner theatre was attracting the regional glitterati. I literally struggled to find a parking place in the vast lot which surrounds this vintage 1960's pile. Check in in the shabbily chic 1970's lobby was very friendly. I was assigned a room on the top floor toward the back past the drunken students and access near the loading dock. Only a slight exaggeration. The room was small, dreary, dated and dirty (the last of which is unforgiveable), Possibly there is a luxury wing that I never came across, but really this is an "only if you are in Gander and there is no other place to stay" kind of place. I really wanted to revel in the atmosphere of a very dated hotel where flight crews from around the world met as they paused on transatlantic flights...shabby I like. But aside from the reception, you don't even get nice shabby, just dirty dreary shabby.

Room Tip: Drive on! Gander is a friendly place and maybe a local will offer a room if everything else is booke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UKbanker33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

If you are traveling to Newfoundland Labrador Canada, and you find yourself in the central district of the province and you need lodgings, look no further than Gander Hotel located on the TransCanada highway in Gander. As individual who has travelled around the world and stayed at many many hotels, Gander Hotel is right up there with the best of them. The hotel is beautiful, the rooms, lounges and hotel itself are all immaculate clean and comfortable with all the amenities including pool, fitness, day spa, lounge, bar and restaurant. The free wireless internet is welcome bonus. There's an old world charm that prevails in Newfoundland and it's certainly not lost with this hotel. The friendly and helpful staff, Jennifer, Stephanie, Scott, Jenny, Iona and all the others I've neglected to mention but who were also kind and helpful made for a pleasurable stay. Nothing was ever too much trouble. A special big thankyou to General Manager, Calvin Wagg, who clearly runs a tight ship and knows what customer service is all about. I'd like to take this opportunity to thank everyone for making our stay so comfortable and memorable. I highly recommend this hotel as one of central Newfoundland's hidden gems. There are few places around the world that we can say we felt truly at home but Gander Hotel is at the top of that list.

Will Chapman iDanceaustralia.com and Shawn Silver iDance.ca

Room Tip: Just ask any of the friendly and helpful staff. You'll get an honenst answer!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SSilver001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

I had to attend a meeting in Gander and was told it was being held at Hotel Gander so I read the reviews and was not impressed with the comments. However, upon arriving at the Hotel I was pleasantly surprised! Yes my room was dated but at least it was very clean....I have no complaints and would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gander hotels
0.4 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 6 in Gander
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
0.7 km away
Sinbad's Hotel and Suites
0.5 km away
Albatross Hotel
Albatross Hotel
#4 of 6 in Gander
3.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 km away
Country Inn Motel & RV Park
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gander

Property: Hotel Gander
Address: 100 Trans Canada Hwy, Gander, Newfoundland and Labrador A1V 1P5, Canada
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Gander
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Gander
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gander 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Gander reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Gander Newfoundland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing