We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small museum that is worth a visit”

North Atlantic Aviation Museum
Ranked #1 of 15 things to do in Gander
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Renovated in the spring of 2012, the Museum’s collection focuses on North Atlantic aviation history as it pertains to Gander and Gander International Airport, from the 1930’s through to present day, with the bulk of the artifacts, photos, and text focusing on the WWII years through the early jet age. Highlights of our collection: We have several WWII aircraft engines, a restored WWII DeHavilland Tiger Moth bi-plane, a WWII Lockheed Hudson MkIIIA mid-range bomber (which we are told is one of only 8 left in the world, and is the only one in North America), a 1950’s CF101 Voodoo jet, a 1930’s Beech 18-S, and a 1940’s Canso PBY-5A waterbomber. Of special interest, above the main entry we have positioned the tail section of a DC-3 (1930’s model), and out the back of the building, overlooking beautiful Gander Lake, is the cockpit of the DC-3, which visitors can enter from inside the building.
Omemee, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
338 reviews
149 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“Small museum that is worth a visit”
Reviewed 2 February 2017

If you like aviation, this is a good spot to stop in for a short visit. The museum is not huge, so it won't take hours to get through. The aviation history for this small town is pretty incredible. I enjoyed reading the letters that Americans had written thanking the residents of this area for taking them in when the 9/11 disaster occurred. I had tears in my eyes. The facility is clean and maintained. There are airplanes surrounding the building so you can't miss it from the highway.

Visited August 2016
Helpful?
Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    54
    7
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Interesting for All Ages”
Reviewed 7 January 2017

The museum is small, but filled with very nice exhibits covering various periods of aviation history, including Gander's role during WWII and the days following 9/11. My sweetheart was a military aviator and also visited Gander a couple of times as a child, so the museum had special meaning for him. I also found it very interesting and was glad we visited. The admission fee is only $8.00 for adults, with discounts for military, seniors & kids, so it won't break the bank.

Visited May 2016
Helpful?
Thank OUTCRUISIN2610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
265 reviews
107 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Huge models outside and great history inside!”
Reviewed 4 January 2017

When you pull up you'll immediately notice these huge airplanes surrounding the building. They are all life-sized and retired airplanes! They are beautiful and huge. I've never been that close to actual fighter jets and there is a huge red plane water bomber out in the back. Most of the models were actually used by the Royal Air Force. Then you have a Tiger Moth inside to see. When you go inside you can see the actual engines in there, classics. I had heard about the "merlin" engine previously in WW history reading, which was made by Roll Royce, but had never seen one previous to this visit. What a bucket list thing to see. Definitely head in if in the area or have some extra time to kill at the Gander airport.

Visited October 2016
Helpful?
Thank oatografia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“See the exhibit on Gander's on kindness to strangers during 9/11”
Reviewed 27 December 2016

If you haven't heard about the contribution by Gander International Airport and the Town of Gander's involvement in helping more than 6,500 stranded airline passengers on 9/11, go see the display, video and piece of steel from the World Trade Center.

Visited November 2016
Helpful?
1 Thank ktuerff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Worth the stop.”
Reviewed 11 November 2016 via mobile

We spent part of a rainy morning there. Very interesting to learn about the gander airport history and the display about ganders role in the 9/11 event. The museum is not huge but worth a visit.

Visited August 2016
Helpful?
Thank Bill2013bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed North Atlantic Aviation Museum also viewed

 

Been to North Atlantic Aviation Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing