We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Snow storm caused us to stop here the night.”
Review of Wawa Motor Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wawa
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wawa Motor Inn
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Wawa
Reviewed 6 December 2009

We set off from Sault Ste Marie for Thunder Bay, but 52 cm of snow fell that day closing Highway 17.
We acquired a room (209) down in the lower grounds among log cabins.
Very nice except when the sun goes down, lighting in the room is very in adequate.
Also the TV reception is fuzzy and wireless www is a no go!
We were however very very thankful to have found a motel business open in early December and would recommend it as a place for summer vacations.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steveof5-0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (182)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

178 - 183 of 183 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2009

When you're in Ontario's North you want to stay in a place that looks like it's north. And it does. Very comfortable room; very nice staff and a good restaurant. Perfect for 1 night when you're on the road.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Randalljay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2009

My expectations for motels in small towns in Northern Ontario is usually fairly low. This one was a pleasant surprise. We stayed in the main part of the hotel. There is a centre hall set up with rooms on both sides accessible form the hall or from the outside door to parking in front of the room. The bed was reasonably comfortable. The bathroom clean and modern. Don’t expect the 5-star hotel towels though. Decent lighting. Free wireless access.

Because it was raining we decided to have dinner in the restaurant. The pizza that I had was fine. The chicken that my partner chose was at the bottom of the ratings. And, as another reviewer mentioned Tim Hortns is very nearby. And you gotta see that fireplace, I will stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank under8d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2009

We stayed in one of the "Log" motel rooms. Very clean, rustic and cozy. Only downside was the restaurant. Not very good service and value from dinner menu. Bonus was proximity to Tim Horton's. Chalets are also available which would have been my preference if I had checked in early.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fourbeesOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2009

PROS: worth the price charged, very comfy bed, good air conditioner, GREAT pillows, nice room setup with French doors add touch of class, exceptionally clean in every area of the motel including entranceways, hallways, even the parking areas, powerful jacuzzi, the staff was friendly(check-in lady seemed 'miffed' we'd purchased the weekend through a charity auction and tried charging us more for a third night than what they were charging others), engaging, accommodating, even the cleaning staff took extra care to stay quiet, the restaurant/lounge area is exhaustingly clean, very good food, simple yet good menu choices, good service, GREAT fireplace(I mean GREAT)!

CONS: when checking in we asked the lady at the desk what the 'best rate' for a third night would be and she quoted $119.00 + tax, but as I used the lounge computer, ice machine, etc., the night shift girls were charging $99 for the same rooms as was the dayshift staff, felt that since we'd bought the package via charity auction that the lady working at check-in felt we should pay more than the rest (was not pleased with this), room had no microwave, the bathtub/jacuzzi taps were very loose so that water ran into the wall behind the fixtures, although the bed was very comfy it should have been a bit larger than a double.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank krazykritik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Chambre arrière moins bruyante car plus loin de la route.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Abitibien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wawa hotels
0.3 km away
No photo provided
Sportsman's Motel
#12 of 13 in Wawa
20 reviews
1.4 km away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#9 of 13 in Wawa
25 reviews
10.4 km away
Best Northern Motel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 km away
Mystic Isle Motel
Mystic Isle Motel
#4 of 13 in Wawa
232 reviews
10.6 km away
Makiebares Waterfront Accommodations
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wawa Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wawa Motor Inn

Address: 118 Mission Road | PO Box 1190, Wawa, Ontario P0S 1K0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Wawa
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Wawa
Number of rooms: 88
Also Known As:
The Wawa Motor Hotel Wawa
Wawa Motor Inn Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing