We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Spotless, Child friendly, Very nice” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of High Falls Motel and Cabins

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wawa
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
High Falls Motel and Cabins
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Wawa
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Spotless, Child friendly, Very nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2011

Stayed with small grandchildren in 1 bedroom cabin. Very modern and well taken care of cabins. Owners pleasant and accommodating. Excellent value for money. Plenty of space for children to unwind.

Room Tip: bigger cabins available - be specific about need
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank retiredmediator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    25
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
66
97
9
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

This is the nicest place we stayed on our trip from Inuvik NWT to New brunwsick driving the whole way! Quaint, peaceful and beautiful! You cannot beat the price. Not much in the town but the water falls in the area are great and so close! I suggest upgrading to the cabin instead of the hotel room, we could hear the neighbores showing at 2am and that did wake me up. we had a cabin booked but changed our dates last minute and they were ablt to accomedate up in a hotel room instead. the host is a fantastic lady who is wonderful to talk to, after booking the hotel over the phone I cuold not wait to meet her! We arrived late and that seem to be no problem, she is very accomedating.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kmteed03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2011

Warm, friendly, immaculate, well appointed, great setting, the list is endless. We were looking for a place around the half way point between Ottawa and Thunder Bay which allowed us to stay with our Labrador retriever. Not only is High Falls very pet friendly, it was the best value of any motel we stayed in. It also allowed me room to park the boat and trailer right beside the cabin without having to unhook. I would not hesitate to stay there again and it will be our going west half way destination from now on. We stayed in a cabin but there are also 5 motel style rooms.

Room Tip: The cabins are the best deal. Fully equiped for housekeeping and very spacious. Book ahead early in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fishingdavep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
137 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2011

The motel more than lived up to its reputation. Anna was super friendly, our cabin was spotless and the kitchenette was very well equiped. The wireless was free and fast. There is a nice outdoor area with a gazebo and barbeque--we didn't use it, but it would have been easy to pick up some steaks in Wawa and have a nice barbeque in a great setting.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OnetwentyOTR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2011

Between Sault Stn Marie and Thunder Bay there is water, trees and Wawa. For the weary traveller there is High Falls Motel and what a treat awaits. Our cabin was immaculate, it was modern and the owners are so welcoming. Our biggest regret not being able to stay longer.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gfn1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2011

We stayed here on a long road trip and it was perfect. Anya was so helpful and friendly and the room was exactly what we wanted, some charm, major comfort and some magic from the setting. We wanted to stay for much longer and it was such a great place to stay that we'll make an excuse to pass through in the future. Really couldn't recommend it more, and for the price it's stunning.

Room Tip: Call early, it's so good it might be sold out!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ianftw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2011

Loved my stay here, the staff was extremely nice. The room was extremely clean, and it felt like staying in your own cabin. I wish we could have stayed longer, next year we are staying two nights :) Though it's on the highway it felt like you were deep in the woods. I didn't hear the traffic nor could I see it. Can't wait to go back :)

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Northbound2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wawa
5.1 km away
Sportsman's Motel
Sportsman's Motel
#11 of 12 in Wawa
3.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
0.0 km away
Lang Lake Resort
Lang Lake Resort
#2 of 6 in Espanola
4.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
0.0 km away
Waring House
Waring House
#2 of 5 in Picton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Mystic Isle Motel
Mystic Isle Motel
#6 of 12 in Wawa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
2.0 km away
Best Northern Motel and Restaurant
14.7 km away
Makiebares Waterfront Accommodations
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Falls Motel and Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Falls Motel and Cabins

Property: High Falls Motel and Cabins
Address: 280 King's Highway 17, Wawa, Ontario P0S 1K0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Wawa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wawa
#1 Family Hotel in Wawa
#1 Best Value Hotel in Wawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a scenic valley of pine and birch trees just outside central Wawa, HIGH FALLS MOTEL AND CABINS offers an ideal accommodation whether you are vacationing in the region or just passing through. Our cabins, built with a vertical log construction method, provide a traditional Canadian log-cabin experience with all the amenities of modern accommodation. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
High Falls Hotel
High Falls Motel And Cabins Wawa, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing