We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best fishing and crabbing”

D and D Fishing Charters
Ranked #4 of 24 Tours in Sooke
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Let's Go Fishing! Experience the unsurpassed beauty of the rugged west coast of British Columbia in the total comfort of a top class fishing charter boat and a professional guide. Unforgettable salmon and halibut fishing as well as wildlife sightings that may include seals, otters, eagles, sea lions, dolphins, porpoises, and pods of whales. Our boat has a heated cabin and we sell fishing licenses too!
Qualicum Beach, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best fishing and crabbing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013

My wife and I went on a charter with DandD charters and had a blast.
The boat is big,clean and very comfortable with a washroom as well inside for the woman and has a heated cabin as well.
Guide was very knowledgable and polite and had us into fish in no time at all.
I will recommend this charter to my friends and family , the fish were cleaned and bagged and the crabs were cleaned as well, all we needed to do was start cooking.
Our trip consisted of setting crab traps and halibut fishing.
Got our limit on both:)
We are going back later this year for salmon.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Best Fishing Trip !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2013

We went out today April 4th, 2013 on a charter with Doug. It proved to be an experience that will be repeated, Doug is an excellent guide that knows the area like the back of his hand. We fished for Halibut and caught our limit and then switched to springs, though no springs where caught we enjoyed the trip. We highly recommend D and D Fishing charters.
Richard

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard796
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great fishing trip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2013

Just came off a great halibut fishing trip with Doug from D and D. The in-laws were in town for their first trip out west and it was memorable.

From the get-go we could see this outfit was about providing a good experience rather than making money. When we called for reservations, we were told that our name would be put on hold but that we would only go out if the weather was safe to do so. Other companies are only too happy to take your credit card number first! Also, D and D's rates were competitive for the area.

Doug met us on an easy-to-find dock in Sooke at the appointed hour. His boat was in great shape and very comfortable including a fully functional normal-size head (marine toilet) which was much appreciated by the ladies in the group. We actually caught enough halibut to pay for the trip at current market value (!) but of course your results may vary. We also brought home a couple bonus dungeness crab appetizers, and had the opportunity to see whales and seals.

Arrived back at the dock, Doug filleted all of the fish for us (thanks!) on his clock, not ours. If you are looking for an experienced, safe guide, with a modern boat for a charter fishing trip in the Victoria area, I am not sure you can do better than D and D.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Alexandre H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoira
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great experience fishing in Sooke”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2012

We booked our charter with D and D Fishing and had a great time. It was none stop action all day. We were fishing for Coho Salmon and they were constantly biting. Also, watching the pod of grey whales up close was an amazing bonus.
Doug is an excellent guide and makes it a great experience even for even a novices like myself. He has an expert knowledge of the waters and where the best spots are for the most action in the area. Doug clearly loves what he does and it shows.
I've been telling all my friends what a great experience I had and I can't wait to go again.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Wild Coho Fishing Action!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2012

We have booked a number of trips over the years with Doug and have always enjoyed the experience! This trip was no exception.
We had about 30 hits and kept 5 the largest being 13 lb. A lot got off as they can be difficult to keep on the hook but wow do they fight!
On previous trips we have been treated to Orcas and large sea lions close to the boat. This time it was humpback whales
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=py5rscaw4tY&feature=plcp
Doug lives for fishing and ensuring his guests have a great time. You will not be disappointed booking with D&D Fishing Charters!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Westcoaster606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed D and D Fishing Charters also viewed

Sooke, Victoria Capital Regional District
Sooke, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Sooke, Victoria Capital Regional District
Sooke, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to D and D Fishing Charters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing