We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A Lovely Stay in Sooke” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Moonlit Cove B&B

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Moonlit Cove B&B
Ranked #2 of 24 Sooke B&B and Inns
Prince George
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Lovely Stay in Sooke”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2011

We came to Sooke for a romantic couples getaway. We booked last minute over the phone when we arrived on the Island, and that was no problem. The owner made an effort to get our room ready quickly. The owner was very friendly and accommodating. She payed attention to all the little details and went out of her way to make our stay as lovely as possible. She definitely went above and beyond.

The view was breathtaking. Our bed was cozy, and we were definitely well cared for. The breakfast that was served on our patio was good. It was healthy and delicious.

I think this B&B is well suited to people needing extra care or company. I think families with young children, people traveling solo or couples 50 plus would enjoy their stay here. We did enjoy ourselves in Sooke however, romance was not the in cards at this location because we were given very little privacy. The owner was often in our room with us, and we felt uncomfortable asking her to leave. When we arrived and wanted some private time the owner stayed in our room for quite awhile. When we were getting dressed in the morning the owner was in our room cleaning it. We had to get dressed in the bathroom because we had no privacy. While sitting in the hot tub in the evening the owner was nearby and talked to us for quite awhile after we got out (we wanted to go to our room if you know what I mean). We also would have liked to enjoy a glass of wine while sitting in the hot tub (no drinks were not allowed).

Sooke is a lovely place to visit. We would definitely recommend this B&B to the demographic listed above.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jalingra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoonLitCove, Owner at Moonlit Cove B&B, responded to this review, 10 November 2011
Thank you for taking time to write the review. In response to some of your comments.

Initially when our guests are checked we take the time to give information about the area, such as where to eat , availability of local activities, maps etc. at this time it gives us an opportunity to assess the special needs of our guests inorder to provide the best service.

Most of the guests are very appreciative of this assistance as is reflected in the past guest reviews.

It is not the policy to be "cleanning " the room, suite or cottage when the guests are in residence. It is unclear what occured in your situation.

Reasons for the the "NO DRINKING Policy "
There are libaility issues, the hot tub is on a secluded deck , no life guard on duty. Our guest(s) are left ALONE to enjoy the hot tub with extended late night hours.

Past guests have brought drinks in the hot tub area, broken glass was found inside and out of the tub, lid was trashed and consequently the hot tub was shut down for repairs and our other guests were unable to use the facilities. Now there is a strict policy and all guests are advised as to the reasons in advance.

In summary, we apologize that you were not satisfied . It is unfortunate that you did not voice your concerns at the time of your stay . We value the privacy of our guests, endeavour to provide each guest with a welcoming, unique and memorable experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    8
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
13
44
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2011

My husband and I stayed in the Harbour Suite at Moonlit Cove B&B for 2 nights and it was an amazing experience.
Upon our arrival we were pleasantly surprised with fresh cut flowers for my husband's birthday and our mini fridge stocked with apple juice and V8. Later in the evening, Chris left us 2 chocolates on our comfy bed, truffles and fresh fruits on our kitchen table.
The next day we had slept in, but Chris insisted on making us breakfast. That day, we had fresh fruits, yogurt, fresh orange juice, scones, mini cinnamon buns and muffins, and omelette made with mushroom, orange bell peppers and cheese. The breakfast really lasted us until dinner!
When we returned to our room that night, Chris had bought us 2 plain cheescakes with chocolate shavings and blueberries on the side.
Our last breakfast, we had bacon and blueberry pancakes. Chris ended our stay with Kinder Surprises:) She was truly a wonderful host.
The view was breathtaking and the pictures does not do the view justice. There were humming birds flying around and above there were eagles soaring in the sky. We haven't had time to use the hot tub but it did look clean and inviting. The rooms were very clean and Chris had offered robes and thick, fluffy bath towels and toiletries during our stay. We were really happy with our stay and we will be back again. Thank you Chris for everything!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MSY2010Vancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2011

ecxellent hospitality, yammi food spectacular view

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank I T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Vancouver, BC, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2011

Our group of 4 ladies from North Vancouver had planned a cycling weekend for September 2010. It rained all weekend. Chris was very understanding and we postponed our trip to "summer" (July 2011). Little did we know we would have the worst summer in 25 years! Nevertheless, the weather was kind to us, the cycling was good and we stayed at Moonlit Cove for 2 nights. We went out for dinner on our first evening - Chris gave us a ride - and ordered in pizza on the second. Chris provided us with two wonderful breakfasts and accommodation that suited us very well - including a hot tub. Moonlit cover is located between markers 37 and 38 on the Goose. Very convenient to the Goose, with spectacular views, and close to Sooke. All the comforts we needed - and more. Thank you Chris!

Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank C_N23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2011

This place came to us by fate... Saw the sign and decided to stay! Chris is truly amazing! Best host you could ever ask for! And what an amazing chef! We left pleasantly full and entertained! We stayed in the honeymoon suite... Most comfortable bed and pillows! The room was full of treats and love! Very clean and updated! We soaked our bones in the spa tub overlooking the breathtaking views of the Olympic mountains and ocean cove! Lots of wonderful wildlife including quail, hummingbirds, deer, berries and flowers! Cannot wait to come back and stay longer! Would recommend this place to anyone looking for a wonderful stay in a 5 star accommodation with reasonable prices! Go and escape!!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AndreaFromEdmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sooke, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2011

This was my first experience staying in a B & B, our hostess Miss Christine Hoffman gives impeccable attention to detail,for all her guests. The Property is absolutely Magical...the view was beyond stunning. I must say other than the views, another favorite to me was the many hummingbirds that seem to live their permanently (year round here in Paradise). You had to look around the corner after your walk on the Galloping Goose Trail, after all they(the hummingbirds) give permanent pleasures 4 all to see) 2 Cute !
Service was 5 Star, rest was invigorating and our Breakfast Meals were Top Notch.
Our Family Reunion( we celebrated two ) and Birthday Celebration for just us three girls; Mom ( Barbara Cayer from Ontario ) my Sister ( Shelley Logan from Calgary Alberta) and myself.
Thank You for the Fantastic memories, kindness , your Love for Service , A Place with Perfection & Magical Views. This was the very first holiday ever for the three of us - A gift to my girls from me ) Best Time for us EVER !
There is something so very special about Miss Christine and this Bed and Breakfast, so Book here for your next stay in Paradise . I give it a 5 * You will not regret a thing.
Peggy-Sue E. Cayer
"Sooke Resident"

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peggy-Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2011

My gosh.... I have never experienced such hospitality from anywhere else I have stayed. This was my first time in a B & B, our hostess Miss Christine Hoffman has every attention to detail for all her guests. She has a beautiful property....the view is spectacular, along with the hummingbirds gallantly flying about all day long.
Her service was impecibable and our Breakfast meals were outstanding and kept us full pretty well all day :) Hats off to you Christine, you made our family reunion and birthday extra special, we will never forget that and I hope soon that I can return to see you and spend more time with you.
Thank you from the bottom of our hearts, your kindness touched us all. Hugs, hugs and more hugs.
Love from Shelley Logan, Calgary Alberta --- ie: Peggy-Sue( Sooke BC and Mom ( Barbara from Ontario. )

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maxter1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sooke hotels
7.2 km away
Prestige Oceanfront Resort
7.5 km away
Sooke Harbour House
Sooke Harbour House
#2 of 3 in Sooke
4.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
11.0 km away
4 Beaches Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 km away
Points West Oceanfront Resort
17.1 km away
Ocean Wilderness Inn
Ocean Wilderness Inn
#4 of 24 in Sooke
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
5.2 km away
Seascape Inn
Seascape Inn
#9 of 24 in Sooke
4.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moonlit Cove B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moonlit Cove B&B

Property: Moonlit Cove B&B
Address: 5219 Sooke Rd, Sooke, British Columbia V9Z 1J6, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Sooke
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Sooke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Moonlit Cove B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the majestic, unspoiled wilderness of Canada’s West Coast, with 180 degree views over forest and ocean – and just a half hour drive from the City of Victoria! Moonlit Cove Bed & Breakfast is a jewel waiting to be discovered by visitors to Vancouver Island who want to be close to nature, and yet be able to enjoy all the amenities that southern Vancouver Island has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca and Priceline so you can book your Moonlit Cove B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moonlit Cove B&B Sooke, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing