We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice steak place”

Steak House Sympathique
Ranked #37 of 121 Restaurants in Rimouski
Restaurant details
Reviewed September 8, 2016 via mobile

Nice steak and Caesar. Great service and pub ambiance.

At $40 pp for steak and langoustine, plus a glass of wine it is good value. Steak excellent, langos small but sufficient.

Typical of brasserie Au Quebec, ambiance, atmosphere, service, joie de vivre.

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank ricikesan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (22)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 22 reviews

Reviewed December 14, 2015

Great fish and chip for a good price. Good food selection. Huge restaurant with lots of nighlife activities, Go for the cozy bar on the left of the entrance.

Date of visit: December 2015
Thank Bobepine2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 17, 2015

Staying in town for one night, we ended up at Steak House Sympathique for dinner.

The restaurant is actually a mix between a bar and a restaurant with the bar call 'Chez Pull' (and that's the name it operates under).

My overall impressions are mixed mainly due to the fact that three of us ordered the same dish, a 6 oz steak. Two of them were quite large and perfectly cooked on a grill.

Of course mine was about half as thick and looked like it was cooked in a microwave. It was actually unbelievable that they served all three together.

As such, I wasn't too impressed with my meal but the other two like theirs.

One other issue was one party ordered a coffee and it was served cold. They fixed it after brewing a fresh pot but I get the general sense that this is a bar first, restaurant second kind of place.

STYLE/AMBIENCE

As mentioned, this is primarily a bar and while quite large, the general feel is more bar like than restaurant.

SERVICE

This being our first real meal on our Gaspesie trip, it started a common occurrence of slow service. Maybe we just needed to be more laid back but the wait times and attention by staff was longer than I think it should have been.

All in all, the food can be good but it is a touch place to recommend as a restaurant. It is probably an easier recommendation as a bar that serves a full menu.

One plus side is that the steak price was quite affordable, if you get a good one!

Date of visit: July 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Fr3lncr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 15, 2014

ill definatly go back! great service! ambiance was great. portion size was perfect! we made a reservation so we didnt have to wait to be seated. i would recommend this steak house to all my friends and family

Date of visit: December 2013
Thank Robyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 29, 2018
Google Translation

Date of visit: July 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Steak House Sympathique also viewed

Rimouski, Bas-Saint-Laurent
Rimouski, Bas-Saint-Laurent
 
Rimouski, Bas-Saint-Laurent
Rimouski, Bas-Saint-Laurent
 
Rimouski, Bas-Saint-Laurent
Rimouski, Bas-Saint-Laurent
 

Been to Steak House Sympathique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing