We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Resort in Quiet town” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bighorn Meadows Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bighorn Meadows Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic Resort in Quiet town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2011

I picked this venue after reading the good reviews about it on tripadvisor. I was able to book the 4 person 1200 sq foot condo for $199 a night on hotels.com which was a steal for what we walked in to. The resort itself is near the main strip but tucked away in the back road in a private area. I specifically asked the resort to book us on the top level and facing the back pond, which they did with no issues.

The condo itself was in immaculate condition-it looked like a house! All the smallest details were cared for right down to the toiletries on every sink in the condo and the folded towels and edges that were put on the paper towels and toilet paper. The decor and color scheme were very modern and fresh!

We stayed in #236 and noticed the following:

It was very quiet in our strip except in the early mornings when the tractors come out to manicure the golf course at 7:00 am onwards...since we were facing the water fountain, that becomes quite noisy when it's turned on at 8:00 am, however it is a stunning backdrop to the greenery and mountains so well worth the noise.

The bedroom was VERY large with its own jetted tub right by the window to face out on the golf course....a small tv and good size closet fit the room and a convenient sink right by the bed were smart ideas. The bathroom itself was nice and large too...only issue, the bed itself was VERY hard and uncomfortable.

There is a small nook just outside the bedroom with laundry and mini patio as well as 2 chairs and a table for reading...very cozy. Our mini patio faced out to the pool however there is a wasp nest right at the top so it was hard to sit outside without swatting away wasps.

The kitchen was VERY large and fully stocked with utensils....the sitting area was also lovely with the TV in an odd spot (down on the ground behind a cabinet) but who wants to watch tv when you have great views.

Our patio that overlooked the man made lake was quite nice, however we noticed that ours was the smallest of all the patios-so be sure to book a different room if you want a bigger patio...we had barely enough room to sit at our table which was crammed right up to the door with the big BBQ just on the left...also another wasp nest was in a hole making it hard to sit outside.

The staff was quite nice and made sure to call us every day to see if we were ok-the condo is fully stocked with extra towels and toilet paper which we never even used half of while we were there....parking was easy during the day but when we got back later at night, our spot was taken and we had to park a long ways away....there should be designated and assigned parking outside each condo so the visitor can actually have somewhere to park if they come "home" later than 9:00.

Overall we LOVED this resort....it felt like living in a real home and was worth the money...even at full price, it is still worth it. This is a great condo for large families as there are 2 big bathrooms, and 3 spots to have inflatable mattresses for extra visitors.

We hope to go back again next year!

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room facing the back lagoon area where you can the big pond with water fountain...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisadarlene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    75
    18
    14
    7
See reviews for
93
130
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

One of the best condos that we have stayed in. 6 of us stayed there over the September long weekend and enjoyed our stay tremendously. Our room backed onto the golf course with unobstructed views of the mountains. We had a 3 bedroom suite which was very luxurious with a full kitchen and luxury washrooms. Jetted tubs, rainfall showers, granite countertops, barbecues in balconies and the list goes on. It was pricy but worth every penny. We loved the resort.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meg2383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington
Level Contributor
255 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2011

We booked by phone for 3 nights in a studio at $129 a night with 10% AAA discount. Check in was a breeze, our 1 king-bed studio with a huge bath was clean and elegant, with mountain view. It is indeed a resort hotel with a beautiful golf course surrounded by the Rockies. Walked to resort's Spring Restaurant for breakfast every day. A great stay at the entrance to Kootenay National Park!

Room Tip: Book early by phone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kueimei L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2011

Have been travelling to Radium since I was a little girl, but primarily stayed at the Radium Resort (which has gone down hill considerably) or at a family friends condo. This is by far one of the best properties we've stayed at in the Rocky Mountains. We love it so much in fact, we drive down for almost every long weekend during the summer months and even try and pop up during the fall since discovering Bighorn Meadows three years ago.

The units in the 700 and 800 buildings are very spacious and well appointed. I would highly reccommend requesting a unit in those buildings, they are the newest and by far the best! The only downside is that the buildings aren't the greatest for noise between the units, it isn't uncommon to hear doors being shut and chairs being moved around from units beside and/or above you.

But other than that my family and I consider this our home away from home and will continue to be be back because of the excelent location!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Benzie82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2011

The room itself has an AWESOME VIEW of the golfcourse with the mountain on the background! The big balcony is a great place to hangout. We have a beautiful sunset view as our balcony is facing west! I could live here forever because of the view!
The unit is fully equipped with a high-end BBQ stove at the balcony and modern/new kitchen! We have saved a lot because it is a joy to cook on their sensational kitchen!
It is nice to walk and stroll around!

The only thing that needs improvement is their pool, wish it was bigger to accomodate adults. looks like the pool is only for kids.
The resort is also on the townsite area where you can have a walk and dine.
I will recommend La Cabina Ristorante on the main road, they have the best pasta in town!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jepokepok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

We booked three nights (by internet) and the resort web-site led us to believe we would get a suite with golf course views. Not so - the "suite" while superbly furnished and equipped was just a room with no views at all and nowhere to sit except a bar stool near the bed. We were lucky enough to be able to change and got one of the best suites we have ever had. It was someones own one bedroom apartment and was gigantic even without the balcony complete with top end gas BBQ. It even had a professional quality washer and dryer which was a real bonus. The place was so good that we basically sat in it for the whole stay and after travelling for over three weeks it really restored our energy and enthusiasm for the rest of the holiday. So, be very careful what you have booked. This is a timeshare by a fancy name and the web-site is more geared to sales than to rentals. It would be worth ringing them to make sure you get what expect. Minor complaint - it isn't really a resort as the only facilities it has are a small outdoor pool and hot-tub. No other sports at all (it doesn't own the golf course it boasts about overlooking) and no food nor drink options on site.

Room Tip: Make it clear that you want a golf course view and a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KeswickTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lund, Sweden
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2011

We stayed here only for one eveningbin their queen guest room. The bathroom was huge (a bit unneccessarily large) and everything was well kept. The best part of our stay was the customer service from the 'welcome centre'. They were courteous, kind and helpful. We will definitely return here and stay for a longer time to take advantage of the gorgeous golf course, the large outdoor pool and hot tub and the beautiful surroundings.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rachlach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Radium Hot Springs
0.9 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Prestige Inn Radium Hot Springs
BEST WESTERN PLUS Prestige Inn R...
#6 of 22 in Radium Hot Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
0.8 km away
Piccadilly Motel
Piccadilly Motel
#2 of 22 in Radium Hot Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
36.0 km away
Fairmont Mountainside Vacation Villas
Fairmont Mountainside Vacation V...
#1 of 4 in Fairmont Hot Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Village Country Inn
Village Country Inn
#10 of 22 in Radium Hot Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
0.7 km away
Radium Park Lodge
Radium Park Lodge
#20 of 22 in Radium Hot Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
12.9 km away
Copper Point Resort
Copper Point Resort
#1 of 3 in Invermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bighorn Meadows Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bighorn Meadows Resort

Property: Bighorn Meadows Resort
Address: 10 Bighorn Blvd. | PO Box 571, Radium Hot Springs, British Columbia V0A 1M0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Radium Hot Springs
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Radium Hot Springs
#8 Romantic Hotel in Radium Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bighorn Meadows Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 2.5 hours west of Calgary in the scenic village of Radium Hot Springs, BC, award-winning Bighorn Meadows Resort offers stunning views of the Purcell and Rocky Mountain ranges, as well as the emerald green fairways of the prestigious Springs Course. Mountain vistas, cozy fireplaces, decks with BBQs, high-end finishings, and full kitchens where you can stock groceries, snacks, and drinks await you in one of our Resort’s 1, 2, or 3 bedroom vacation condos. Guest Room's are also available with kitchenette, private bathroom, and dining area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bighorn Meadows Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bighorn Meadows Hotel Radium Hot Springs
Bighorn Meadows Resort Radium Hot Springs, British Columbia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing