We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Sunset Motel(Portage la Prairie)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Westgate Inn(Portage la Prairie)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hi-way Motel(Portage la Prairie)
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Yellow Quill Motel(Portage la Prairie)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Days Inn Portage La Prairie(Portage la Prairie)
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (356)
Filter reviews
356 results
Traveller rating
78
125
91
46
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
78
125
91
46
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroom was cleanno elevatorwaffleshard boiled eggscomplimentary breakfastpool area was very cleantoasta great place to staywould stay here againnext morningafter a long dayfresh fruitonly downfallno issuesmeeting roomone night stayfirst floor
Filter
Updating list...
344 - 349 of 356 reviews
Reviewed November 20, 2011

Stopped here on our Cross Canada drive. The rooms were clean and to the point. The free breakfast is always a nice touch. The beds were comfortable.

Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Maureen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meghan S, General Manager at Super 8 by Wyndham Portage la Prairie MB, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2012

Dear Elizabeth444;

Thank you for taking time out of your schedule to complete this review. Feedback is the most important part of any business, and we take our's seriously.

All of our beds on the main floor are Serta pillow top beds, and they make for a very comfortable and relaxing sleep! I'm very glad that you enjoyed them!

I hope the rest of your cross canada drive was enjoyable, and we hope to see you again in the future!

Sincerely,

Meghan Stouffer
General Manager
204-857-8883

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 15, 2011

I would go with that one. Unfortunately, I don't think there is a lot to choose from in Portage. We chose this hotel because the reviews say it's new...but, the decor seemed quite dated. Apart from that, the room and hallway smelled like wet dog. Yuck! We're not that fussy about coffee, but it was disgusting. The breakfast was also a huge disappointment and the breakfast room was really not that clean. Front desk staff really just did the bare minimum. Had a much better experience at a Days Inn in another city the next night -- Super 8 could take a few lessons from them!!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CanadaGalOnTheGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Super8PLP, General Manager at Super 8 by Wyndham Portage la Prairie MB, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2011

Dear CanadaGalOnTheGo,

I am deeply sorry that your stay wasn't up to the expectation.

Room Decor:
Our decors are country-style (i.e. oak), which may strike some as 'dated'. However, they are standard decoration for hotels throughout the prairies with Super 8, Ramada and Days Inn built in 2000's. We have updated all our mattress to Simmons Beautyrest Pocket Coil Mattress (medium softness), which is found in more higher priced brands. Our linens are 84/16, and we constantly order new linens throughout the year. While guests may have different taste in decor, we make sure that basic needs are met and we do our best to keep our standards high when it comes to guest comfort & towels/linens.

Room & Hallway:
We use commercial grade extractors & vac. machines (Electrolux brand) to clean our rooms and hallways regularly. We also have commercial timed automatic deodorizer dispensers at key travel points to remove odors. Our hotel is equipped with Lennox HVAC/Ventilation system, serviced twice a year, and it circulates air and effectively removes odors in hallways.

We are deeply surprised that our hotel smelled like a 'wet-dog'. Rest assured, we'll look into this to make sure that it doesn't happen again.

Coffee:
At Super 8 Portage la Prairie, we use Columbian 100% whole bean, roasted by Citavco, which used by many chained restaurants, in our breakfast room. We have the commercial coffee bean grinder at the breakfast room. We use Nabob & Stonebranch coffee for our rooms. Our coffee is far superior to that of Maxwell and/or Folgers. Again, if our 100% Columbian whole bean was not up to your expectation, I am deeply regretful for your experience. I am wondering if you have tasted our decaf instead of our Columbian coffee? We are proud to say that we have numerous guests who load their travel mugs with our Columbian whole bean coffee every morning.

And if the coffee is not hot, we grind the beans and brew a fresh coffee for our guests right away.

Breakfast room:
Due to limited service nature of the 58 room hotel, we cannot provide a full line of breakfast. We provide 'continental breakfast' with breads, jams/cheese, cereals/milk, coffee/tea, muffins, fruits and juices. Our breads and muffins are all baked from a local bakery; and we order from them twice a week. I apologize for your inconvenience should our standard not meet your expectations. We are planning to add more selections this fall; and guests arriving to Super 8 this fall would be able to enjoy new breakfast items.

We regularly clean our breakfast room, we have the breakfast room operation license from the Province of Manitoba, and we are inspected by the health authority regularly just like any other restaurant. We may be busy at times, however, our standard is definitely not below average.

We try to keep our facility clean with best available tools and equipments. Again we reiterate the fact that we purchase new linens, new mattresses, new equipments and new supplies regularly; and we keep our hotel at good condition throughout the year by having regular maintenance.

Again, we apologize for your inconvenience and we hope we have addressed your concerns. Should there have been any other grievance during your stay, please do not hesitate to contact the hotel directly.

Best regards,


Management
Super 8 Portage la Prairie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 28, 2011

The Super 8 in Portage is good, I would stay there again.. The staff was nice and efficient, the room was clean. The only problem we had were the children running up and down the hall on the 2nd floor, late into the evening. This is the not the staff's fault but the parents who have no control over their children.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank genwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meghan S, General Manager at Super 8 by Wyndham Portage la Prairie MB, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2012

Dear genwen;

Thanks for providing your feedback on your stay at the Super 8 in Portage. All feedback is very valuable to us, as we utilize it to better ourselves for future guests.

We can be very full during tournament weekends, but do our best to keep everyone quiet past 11:00 p.m. In future stays with us, let us know if you have any noise problems, as we will rectify the situation as quick as possible.

Once again, thank you so much for completing this review. It means the world to us!

Sincerely,

Meghan Stouffer
General Manager
204-857-8883

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 12, 2011

This was a great hotel room. We stayed with our little dog and were delighted to not only have her welcomed but to be able to stay in a smoke-free room (the whole hotel is smoke-free). The pool and waterslide looked like great fun, though we didn't use them, and the continental breakfast was very good. The hotel was very reasonably priced, clean and quiet. The charge per pet is $10/night. The room didn't smell like dog. We couldn't hear anything from other rooms. Close to restaurants, grocery stores and the mall. Fridge and microwave in the room. I'd stay here again any time I was in Portage.

Room Tip: Book in advance, especially if you have a pet.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mmg26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meghan S, General Manager at Super 8 by Wyndham Portage la Prairie MB, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2012

Dear mmg26;

Thank you so much for your review! We understand that most people are very busy, and love it when a guest takes the time to write about us, good or bad.

Our hotel is 100% smoke free. To accomodate those who do smoke, we have a patio area out back (fully equipped with chairs and a barbeque in warm seasons) where we welcome smokers.

We are also pet-friendly! Up to three pets in a room, and we only charge $10 a pet per night. This ensures that we can do extra cleaning after the pets are gone, and keeps our hotel smelling fresh and clean, like you said.

Our pool and waterslide are very fun, and we plan to renovate the area in a couple months. It will be looking fresh for the next time you come to stay with us.

Being located on the edge of Portage la Prairie means we are in a nice, quiet area. We are only a 2-minute drive from shopping, grocery stores, beer vendors, and restaurants. Everything you need is located in our quiet little end of town.

Again, thank you for completing this review, and I hope that the next time you are in our area you come and stay with us again!

Sincerely,

Meghan Stouffer
General Manager
204-857-8883

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 11, 2010

Stayed here on our return trip to Winnipeg before our flight home. As I stayed here about 8 years ago, just after it opened, I knew what I was getting. For some strange reason Winnipeg hotels are very pricey for what you get. This hotel provides you with a cheaper option before you arrive in Winnipeg. Rooms we clean and spacious as this hotel is still relatively new. Easy access and plenty of parking. The only complaint is there is no elevator and with three bags it is awkward on the second floor. It would be worse if we were older or infirm. Continental breakfast is available and adequate to start you on your day.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mustangguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews