We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a special occaison!”
Review of Le Baccara

Le Baccara
Ranked #3 of 654 Restaurants in Gatineau
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$100
Cuisines: French, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Great for a special occaison!”
Reviewed 23 November 2011

Enjoyed a romantic dinner to celebrate my husand's 50th. We had a table by the window (night view). The recommendations by our server were great..the fish in particular was delicious (and I'm not usually a fish fan) but he recommended it and it did not disppoint. Definitely a must try for a splurge.

Visited February 2011
Helpful?
Thank rockport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    227
    47
    22
    11
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gatineau, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
312 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Surprising change”
Reviewed 12 November 2011

I went to Le Baccara with a few girlfriends to celebrate a birthday.

My last review was raving about the service, this time, it was lacking. We received the service I usually expect from these places : looking down on the younger crowd as if we are inexperienced and know nothing (we are around 35 yrs old).

Once again, I had the blind tasting menu, without wines as I cannot drink due to medical reasons. I asked the waiter if he had non alcoolic drinks to suggest, and his answer was : look of disgust on his face, crude : NO, WE COULDN'T FIND ANYTHING THAT TASTE GOOD, then turned around to take a friend's order. I was quite shocked and so were the people at my table. Not a good answer, even if they had nothing other than pop to propose.

The evening started with a double bang : salmon mise en bouche and incredible deer carpaccio. Followed by the traditional foie gras (miam) and a bland piece of salmon. The main course was fine, but once again, cooking was inequal. I had a nice medium; a friend received rare, and another well cooked. I know this is blind tasting, but maybe they could ask us how we like our meats cooked in general?

So, overall, food was very good, but service not so good.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank zaz936
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“expected much more than we got at these prices”
Reviewed 14 August 2011

Le Baccara claims it is ranked one of Canada's top 10 best restaurants and we have had good experiences there in the past. With guests in from Toronto for their anniversary, we had hoped to have a `top dinner`. Yes, of course, it is very expensive ...so one expects everything to be way above average. The greeting by the Maitre D` was welcoming and our table was as we had booked. Things got off to a good start with predinner drinks, then upon asking our waiter to walk our Toronto friends through the menu, his answer was a casual 'everything is good as we are one of Canada's 10 best'. We pressed him to again take us through Le Baccara's signature dishes, again he said pointing casually to the menu, 'this, that, and other dishes are all good after all we are one of the best in Canada' - seems only reasonable, in our view, that he could have, at least, helped explain the Chef's specialities. So we made our dinner selection without much 'information' from the smiling waiter. Once selected we had to ask for the Sommelier for help with the wines - she was quite pressed with other tables but gave us her attention and recommendations, which were welcomed although she immediately forgot which wine she had just recommended from their large list ---- which is, by the way, extremely highly marked up price wise, (so one should not expect any bargains even in middle quality wines). The first course arrived but then the service began to loose focus - we needed to ask for cutlery for example. Portions were reasonable and original. The main courses came with a flourish of silver covers but then again the service was distracted to say the least. One guest's Lobster `signature dish` $50+ was overcooked and rubbery. Again difficult to get our disappearing waiter's attention - Maitre D` intervened at last to quickly remedy with a replacement. Other 2 guests had same 'lobster issue' and he agreed and cheerfully replaced saying they must have been under a heat lamp....we assume while our absent waiter was out of range...Partrige signature dish was barely adequate and we did not return it as by now we had had problems with 3 out of 4 main courses and this was not contributing to a calm dinner. Wine service needed repeated prompting. All in all, we had expected much much more at these prices - Le Baccara may be running on its reputation but in our view is falling down on service and quality of the food. We received our bill very quickly and never did see our waiter again. We are of two minds on trying Le Bacara again, top 10 or not!

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank salmonangler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vitri
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Best eating experience ever.”
Reviewed 11 August 2011

Even though you might think that this is expensive, why not splurge when everything is perfect: food, service and decor.

  • Visited September 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vitri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing service, excellent food, huge price!”
Reviewed 8 July 2011

This restaurant has 5-diamonds from AAA, so we were expecting it to be good. It was better than good - the food was excellent with a nice presentation. It was the incredible attention-to-detail service that really blew us away, though. Too bad the price also blew us away! Read the whole review here:
http://backstagetraveler.blogspot.com/2011/07/restaurant-le-baccara-fine-cuisine.html

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BackstageTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Baccara also viewed

Gatineau, Outaouais Region
Ottawa, Ontario
 

Been to Le Baccara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing