We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“peaceful mountains”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Birch Meadows Lodge B&B
Ranked #3 of 12 Fernie B&B and Inns
Reviewed 31 May 2011

My mother and I stayed in one of the beautiful (rustic in a very clean and elegant way) cabins while on a summer road trip. I wish we could have stayed a whole week, it was so relaxing and peaceful and the views of the mountains were spectacular. The resident dog is a sweetie, he came and got us for a delicious breakfast and showed us where the hot tub was. A great place to rest or enjoy the outdoors. The owner and staff were helpful and patient. Truely lovely!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alycone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (35)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 35 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2011

Birch Meadows Lodge B & B is a beautiful home about 5 minutes away from the Fernie Ski Resort. It's nicely tucked away up a little road in the mountains off the highway. (If you are there in the winter, be sure to have either a 4 wheel drive vehicle or some tire chains handy.) There's the main house as well as a couple of log cabins set on over 50 acres of breathtaking mountain views. My husband and I have stayed there a few times in the last two years...we couldn't imagine saying anywhere else when we head to Fernie!

We like to stay in of the little log cabins, which are cozy and nicely decorated. There's a small gas fireplace to curl up in front of after a long day on the slopes and out the window you have perfectly an unobstructed view of the surrounding mountains. Outside there's a large hot tub next to the main house as well as a nice sitting area indoors with games and movies that can be taken back to your room/cabin for the night. Sonya and Marcel are wonderful hosts...they make you feel right at home!

The breakfasts are always delicious with a nice selection of different items & treats. We always leave stuffed!

If you are an animal lover, remember to bring some carrots for Slider (resident horse) and give lots of cuddles to the owners friendly dogs.

Birch Meadows Lodge B & B is the perfect place to stay when in Fernie...you won't want to leave!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RustyRedHead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2010

Our second visit with extended family was wonderful. Thanks so much for your warm hospitality. This is truly a special place!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tigerlilythecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2010

Beautiful clean comfortable cabins, delicious breakfasts, peaceful scenic location, friendly accommodating hosts, sled dogs on site ... adds up to wonderful vacation spot. I will be back ...

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Missawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2010

This place is located about a 10 minute drive outside of Fernie in a beautiful mountain meadow. It has two detached cabins and three rooms inside the main lodge. I stayed in the largest room in the main lodge -- the room has a queen bed, an ensuite bathroom (the only room in the main lodge with an ensuite) and a small private deck overlooking the mountains. The room I stayed in was absolutely lovely: spacious, spotless, full of light and nicely decorated. The hosts are very friendly. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markOttawa_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2009

A truly wonderful B& B. A fantastic location and Sonya is a really great hostess. The breakfasts were wonderful and we loved meeting your gentle dogs. We will be returning very soon!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tigerlilythecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2009

Our family spent a most enjoyable week at this wonderful bed & breakfast. We stayed in one of four log chalet suites which are a 30 second walk from the main lodge. Our chalet was perfectly suited to our needs with a separate bedroom (with a very comfortable queen bed), main room with gas "wood" stove, couch (hide-a-bed), arm chair, small TV with VCR, mini fridge, microwave and dishes. Our chalet as well as the main lodge facilities were immaculately maintained and absolutely spotless.
Our hosts, Sonya and Marcel, were most gracious and made us feel very much at home. Sonya prepared excellent breakfasts including granola, yogurt, fresh fruits, cold meats, cheeses, and a variety of breads followed up with a delicious entree. We sampled omelets, eggs with back bacon, eggs Benedict, crepes, and more, during our stay. Beverages included orange juice and excellent coffee, cafe au lait, or espresso.
The B&B is nestled at the base of mountains on 58 private acres a short drive south of Fernie. The grounds were snow covered during our stay, but we plan to return this summer to enjoy the large flower covered meadow.
We strongly recommend this B&B for couples or small families looking to get away for some tranquility, enjoy the mountain beauty and relaxation.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BT_Shutterbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fernie hotels
10.4 km away
Park Place Lodge
Park Place Lodge
#8 of 22 in Fernie
171 reviews
6.1 km away
Fernie Slopeside Lodge
Fernie Slopeside Lodge
#15 of 22 in Fernie
96 reviews
12.1 km away
Twisted Timber Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 km away
Blackstone Bed and Breakfast
6.4 km away
Lizard Creek Lodge
Lizard Creek Lodge
#2 of 22 in Fernie
704 reviews
11.1 km away
Best Western Plus Fernie Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birch Meadows Lodge B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birch Meadows Lodge B&B

Address: 4485 3 Hwy S, Fernie, British Columbia V0B 1M1, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Fernie
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Fernie
Price Range: $183 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Birch Meadows Lodge B&B 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca and Booking.com so you can book your Birch Meadows Lodge B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing