We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Toilet and sink slow to flush and drain.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Auberge du Lac des Sables

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Auberge du Lac des Sables
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Toilet and sink slow to flush and drain.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

Friendly front desk with most being able to speak English fluently. Breakfast buffet, which ended at 10 a.m., consisted of cereal, juice, croissants, various breads, muffins, bananaa and a few other small items. Outdoor front patio with tables and umbrellas provided an elevated western view of Lac des Sables. It also provided an excellent view of the Festival Sainte-Agathe en Feux fireworks which was the best Canadian display in my opinion.

Now, the rooms were about 95% clean. There were a few spots missed here and there. Nothing serious. No bedbugs during our stay. The slow draining sink was outside of the bathroom. The bathroom consisted of a slow flushing toilet and a jacuzzi bathtub/shower head combination. The bathroom's exhaust fan was operated by a wall timer knob. The jacuzzi, which we did not use, was also timer wall operated.

The air conditioning was adequate and quiet enough for us to sleep comfortably. Our second floor suite entry door did not have a self closing device. We had to ensure the interior thumb latch was locked before we closed the door and exited the suite. Otherwise, anyone could have gotten in.

The hotel was close to the park where concerts was held. About a ten minute walk. The drive north into the small downtown area was about five minutes. The walk would have been about twenty to twenty five minutes.

There was one day where the cook didn't show up and there was no lunch or dinner served. The nearest luxury spa hotel was called Watel which was a five minute walk south where they had a better dining room with a cook.

Best to compare the Watel with the Auberge and see which one suits your taste. Going into the downtown area would be a better option for food.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jp1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    25
    15
    8
    4
See reviews for
11
43
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, MA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2010

Stayed at Auberge du Lac de Sables for one night on a bike trip along the P'tit Train du Nord bike path. The inn is Ok, but for the price I paid, I was expecting something a lot nicer. This was the most expensive room of our whole trip. We stayed in a studio, as that was the only room large enough to accomodate two adults and two children. The price for 4 was a good bit higher than for 2 in the same room. The room was pretty average, certainly nothing fancy, a bit worn, and with a stained carpet in places. The pull-out couch was old and incredibly uncomfortable - you could feel every spring in the mattress. Breakfast was a decent continental breakfast, but again, based on the price, I was expecting a full breakfast (should have asked in advance...). As others have noted, the location and view are nice, but the inn is on a noisy road. The people at the hotel were friendly, nice and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bmorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2009

Stayed at this auberge for 2 nights in March. Was a major disappointment. First, the road it's on is very noisy, day and night. If you are looking for peace and tranquility - this is not the place. Second, the "deluxe" bedroom is claustrophobic. So called "double whirlpool bath" is very small and there's no way it fits two people. The bedding is cheap synthetic and the carpets are smelly. This auberge was one of the worst experiences we've had. Will never go there again.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Glafira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sainte Agathe des Monts hotels

Montreal
Level Contributor
687 reviews
145 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 855 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2008

Very nice place,very friendly personal. We rented a studio, it is a bit overpriced, but it is nice. View is good, the jacouzzi is great, and food at restaurant ( and service) is just excellent.

  • Liked — Food and view
  • Disliked — small details not finished in a room
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank fabioinmontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2008

We spent a few days in Montreal, and we wanted part of our vacation to consist of agenda-free relaxation where the mountains meet the water. We used Google Earth to find Sainte Agathe des Monts, and we found a very small resort (7 or 8 suites) on Lac des Sables called Auberge aux Nuits de Reve. When we first came upon the site for this place (reve.ca), we thought it might be funny/cheesy, in the "beautiful Mount Airy Lodge" champagne glass jacuzzi sort of way. After all, our room was called Napoleon & Josephine, and the neighboring room was called Tarzan and Jane, complete with an array of ropes on the ceilings and walls! But the hotel was amazingly well appointed, with giant in-room hot tubs and very spacious digs in general, and a semi-private balcony overlooking the lake. The boat house had kayaks, canoes and paddle boats available to all at any time. We selected our breakfast of choice each day, and the time we received it, and we were served out on the balcony, which was an extraordinary way to start the day. A note of caution, this hotel is for couples only (you don't want to have to explain what's in the gift store to your kids), and couples with a good sense of humor at that. The staff could not be more welcoming or accommodating.

The town is small and very easy to navigate, with a variety of foods. Smoked meat seems to be popular. My husband said it's just bad pastrami. There are no gourmet meals to be had but everything is palatable and you can get organic and/or vegetarian if you search for it. Expect seaside tourist prices. There are only two places in town that have wifi: the cappuccino chop (there is only one and it's only open until 7pm) and a bar/eats joint called Richard's. When it was too busy to get a table, I am ashamed to admit that we cyber-squatted on the restaurant's sidewalk to check email. It was necessary, people. The town offers little by way of sight seeing, except for some interesting examples of vernacular architecture. The lake was the real attraction, and it is a large, calm glorious lake. Exceptional.

We took a 50 minute boat tour and it was lovely. It's amazing to see the vacation compounds people have nestled into the hillsides over the years. Very few of the houses are aesthetically similar. The lodges/
resort complexes, which are sprawling and enormous and everywhere, are very similar unto themselves, and could be equally in context in Colorado.

Overall, very relaxing, totally escapist, a little bit naughty, and a very nice time. Speaking French, however poorly, helps tremendously. Brush up on your conjugations and make the effort... it is appreciated.

Helpful?
3 Thank PKJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2007

We took the studio and were generally pleased with Ste-Agathe area (except for damaged roads). There is a beach (plage Major) and a nice view from our studio. The TV network is very good. Very impressed with the SPA open on the studio (half-height doors can be closed). I was deceived that the fireplace could not be used in May with cold evenings. Also consider bringing a fan, something that can do background noise because the road is very close.

  • Liked — Studio layout and SPA, refurbished recently, beach and view, food
  • Disliked — No allowed use of fireplace in May, limited parking and road nearby
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Saintor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2004

I have stayed at this beautiful Auberge many times both alone and with my family....we have always enjoyed staying there. The position is lovely....right opposite the Lake....very quiet and peaceful. The inn is also close to many great places to visit...St Sauveur...Tremblant...Val David.
I would reccomend Auberge Lac des Sables without hesitation!

Helpful?
5 Thank suzannah706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sainte Agathe des Monts
0.4 km away
Hotel Spa Watel
Hotel Spa Watel
#3 of 4 in Sainte Agathe des Monts
4.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
1.3 km away
Auberge aux Nuits de Reve
Auberge aux Nuits de Reve
#1 of 4 in Sainte Agathe des Monts
5.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
1.4 km away
Super 8 Sainte Agathe des Monts
Super 8 Sainte Agathe des Monts
#2 of 4 in Sainte Agathe des Monts
4.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 km away
Hotel Spa Chateau Sainte-Adele
Hotel Spa Chateau Sainte-Adele
#2 of 11 in Sainte-Adele
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
25.4 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#12 of 30 in Mont Tremblant
4.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
19.0 km away
Relais St. Denis
Relais St. Denis
#2 of 6 in Saint Sauveur des Monts
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge du Lac des Sables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge du Lac des Sables

Property: Auberge du Lac des Sables
Address: 230 Saint-Venant St, Sainte Agathe des Monts, Quebec J8C 2Z7, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Sainte Agathe des Monts
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Sainte Agathe des Monts
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Auberge du Lac des Sables 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer 3 types of rooms, Classique with Double or Queen bed, single theraputic bath, shower, lake view. Superior with Queen or 2 Double beds, double therapuric bath, corner shower, gas fireplace,table and chairs,lake view. Studio with Queen bed, Queen sofa bed, double theraputic bath, corner shower, tables and chairs, fully equiped kithennette, wood burning fireplace, lake view. All rooms include continental breakfast. Our in house Restaurant LE 2-30 welcomes you as well as well as guests from the surrounding areas. Come and ENjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Auberge du Lac des Sables reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Du Lac Des Sables Hotel Sainte Agathe Des Monts
Auberge Du Lac Des Sables Sainte Agathe Des Monts, Quebec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing