We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Les Haut Bois By Sunstar Tremblant-Not ski in/out!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tremblant Sunstar Condominiums

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tremblant Sunstar Condominiums
Toronto
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Les Haut Bois By Sunstar Tremblant-Not ski in/out!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

We travelled to Mont Tremblant Feb 4-11, 2012 and stayed at Les Haut Bois (a Sunstar condominium). We booked our reservation via Tremblant Reservations and were told we were booking a ski in/ski out with internet access. To be clear this property is in NO way ski in/out, unless you call walking out your driveway across the street and through a parking lot to get to a "ski-out" trail. The ski out picture on the website is a narrow tree lined path that you can't even safely walk down. Other travellers also beware that when you book through the reservations line connected to Mont Tremblant's website you are essentially talking to "flight centre" who is booking you a room operated by "air canada" for example. They made it sound like they new what they were selling you, but really had no clue.

The condo itself was quite dated, duct taped blinds, soiled carpet, uncomfortable beds, there wasn't even a kettle in the kitchen. Our major issue though was with the keys. They didn't work, we spent 4 of 5 days of our trip trying to get someone to make sure we had a working set of keys. Also the intercom system outside of the condo didn't work, so when we got locked out because our keys didn't work or the door lock froze we couldn't even tell someone to let us back in.

Overall, we were very disappointed with our accommodations and the conflicts with our keys made the whole experience extremely frustrating. We will not be returning to this location.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 730AimeeQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chateaubeauvallon, General Manager at Tremblant Sunstar Condominiums, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments. I am very sorry about the problems that you experienced during your stay. This does not reflect our usual level of service. Concerning the accommodation, the Hauts-Bois is very close to the ski-in ski-out (I would say less than 100 meters). The slope to the ski lift can be narrow in some parts. We have different level of accommodation as each units is individually owned. If you would like to pick a specific property, I encourage you to go directly to our website tremblantsunstar where you will be able to see a very detailed description of each property together with lots of photos. We also have a specials section to find the best available price.
Warm regards, Francoise Reynier - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    27
    12
    12
    13
See reviews for
50
14
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Whitby, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

We stayed in Les Eaux, unit 217-6. The condo was spacious, and had all of the amenities you could want including full kitchen, washer/dryer, two bathrooms, etc. We were given two fire logs to use (must use fire logs) and didn't have to buy any more.

We stayed at the Sommet de Neigs for a few nights prior to Les Eaux. The condo at Les Eaux was a liitle bit aged/worn compared to the hotel, but nothing too concerning. One lounge chair was broken and looked like it had lived a good and long life!!

The stand alone hot tub was fine, and the other two hot tubs at the rec centre were good as well. There is a steam room and sauna as well.

The location is pretty close to the hill and is either a short drive or a shuttle ride from the hill.

I would definately recommend staying here, and it is much cheaper than the hotels especially on the weekends.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeW54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chateaubeauvallon, General Manager at Tremblant Sunstar Condominiums, responded to this review, 21 March 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for having stayed at Les Eaux (via Tremblant Sunstar. We are pleased to offer a hot tub and steam room to all our Les Eaux Guest. We are pleased that you enjoyed the free shuttle service. We hope to see you soon.
Sincerely, Françoise Reynier, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester NY
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

Stayed at Les Manoirs, 116-06. All the apartments are owned and furnished independently, and ours was a little dated, but completely adequate for a family of with 3 teenagers. Very clean, plenty of heat and hot water, adequately equipped kitchen, etc.
I've stayed in places with granite countertops and heated floors, but for 3 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms 5 mins from the slopes, in prime President's Week, it was a STEAL. Could easily have spent $200 a night more for something fancier, but if I owned a holiday house, it would look like this. Nice and Quiet!
Cons... Would replace the mattresses. Could use a few pictures on the walls. No wifi. (would have been useful for finding restaurant reviews etc)
The shuttle to the slopes was a iffy timing wise. Luckily it was mild . The last day we drove our minivan to the (free) main lot to do the "First Tracks" (hit the Gondola 0745, beat the crowd, best skiing all week!) and it was actually more convenient than waiting for the free shuttle, with about a hundred yard walk. Bring snow-tires!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chateaubeauvallon, General Manager at Tremblant Sunstar Condominiums, responded to this review, 21 March 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for having stayed at Les Manoirs via Tremblant Sunstar for your recent trip. We have great specials on our website, for example book early promo or last minute offers. I have taken note to your comments on the condo and I informed the house manager who will discuss with the owner (as all our homes are privately owned).
Sincerely, Françoise Reynier, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

Stayed at La Clairiere #301 earlier this month and had a great family ski week-end. The location is perfect for ski-in ski-out which allowed us to go back to the condo for lunch. We have stayed at the La Clairiere Units a number of times and have always been pleased. We were with another family and there was ample space for 4 adults and 5 kids.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chateaubeauvallon, General Manager at Tremblant Sunstar Condominiums, responded to this review, 21 March 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your continued confidence in our Clairiere Tremblant Sunstar condos. I am pleased that your stay was once again a success.
Sincerely, Françosie Reynier, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookline, MA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

I've been staying at ski condos across North America for over 25 years now, and this is the first time I've ever been really disappointed with customer service from a company managing a property. Some people were nice, and some weren't... but the upshot is that none of them seemed to own the responsinbility of solving the simple problems that arose.

We were at La Clairiere. The front desk people were great when we checked in--very helpful--but any issues that arose subsequently were handled poorly and basically ignored. The first problem was that we could not park at either of our two designated parking spots right outside our unit. This was because the tenants of the condo across from ours selfishly parked FIVE cars near their unit, three more than were allowed. So we called the office. The basic response we got from three different people was "It's not our problem." Because the unit that was abusing the parking was not a Sunstar unit, the Sunstar people said that there was nothing we could do. When I told them this was unacceptable, I was told that I could "park at P2" (a parking lot a HALF-MILE away)... or that I could "knock on doors" to try to figure out who was in the way and to get them to move.... or that I could try to figure out who to call to get cars towed. When I suggested that I was the guest and that THEY should handle the problem, one of the staff--Monsieur Rousseau (sp.?) got huffy about it. I finally called back, and someone else finally agreed to have the cars towed.... but that never happened. I finally had to confront the unit owners myself and ask them--twice--to move their cars.

The previous tenants had left garbage in our ski lockers--so much so that they were not usable. Again, we called the front desk. M. Rousseau was puzzled but said he would notify housekeeping to remove the garbage. He didn't. I finally bumped into the head of housekeeping much later the next day, and she said that no one had told her. She was also apologetic about the unit's lack of cleanliness--there were dirty dishes in the cupboards--but lamented the fact that any guest concerns were supposed to go through the front office instead of directly to her.

Strike three came on our last day. It had snowed significantly, and naturally no one had shoveled our stairs.... or even left a shovel for us to do it ourselves. So I slipped while lugging suitcases and strained a back muscle.

With that context, here is a general overview of our stay:
--Positives: Unit was a good size for the money. It's a not difficult 15-minute walk to the very charming village at the base. There's a shuttle service, but we didn't find it necessary. The beds and pillows were good. Ski-in ski-out is not great but not impossible.
--Negatives: Poor customer service, particularly in response to issues that arose. No daily housekeeping, and unit cleanliness was an issue. Ski in ski out was just so-so: Our unit was a good 80 yards away from the nearest trail, and that trail was a winding, sometimes flat trail that was a bit of a pain to reach. It would not be a good option for beginning skiers.

We definitely would go back to Tremblant--really enjoyed the village, the food, the French culture, and the easy trip up from the Montreal airport. But I would go with another condo management company--one that understands Customer Service 101.

Room Tip: If you must stay at this condo complex, I would suggest getting a unit that is much closer to the tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tunemeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chateaubeauvallon, General Manager at Tremblant Sunstar Condominiums, responded to this review, 21 March 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to give us your comments. I am very sorry about the level of service that you received this is really not up to our standards. I have asked our Operations Manager to contact you regarding your trip. I am glad that you enjoyed Tremblant.
Sincerely, Francoise Reynier - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mont Tremblant hotels

Perth, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

We recently stayed in the Tremblant Les Eaux 229.4 condos and we had an absolutely fantastic time! I was booking the trip for 12 people and I assumed we'd have at least a few problems throughout the weekend since we booked everything online. But the trip went extremely well and we didn't have a single problem. The staff were friendly, extremely helpful with everything and the condo was beautiful and very well kept. Everything was exactly as it was shown in the pictures. It was a ton of fun, for an amazing price. We will DEFINITELY be going back next year.

Room Tip: Tremblant Les Eaux 229.4 is HUGE and very cozy and comfy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank staceyb1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chateaubeauvallon, General Manager at Tremblant Sunstar Condominiums, responded to this review, 21 March 2012
Dear guest,
thank you for sharing such a positive review regarding your recent stay at Tremblant Les Eaux (via Tremblant Sunstar). It will be my pleasure to pass on your comments to our staff. I am happy that you were able to get a great rate and that the condo was up to your expectations. We look forward to seeing you again in the next future.
Sincerely, Françoise Reynier, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

We vacationed at Mont Tremblant over President's Day weekend and had a memorable stay at the Le Plateau condominiums. Check-in was easy and the condo was ready for us early. As it was our first time to this area, the desk staff were very courteous with helpful tips and directions. The condo was clean and had two bedrooms with a jacuzzi tub off the master bedroom. The ski-in/ski-out feature of the condo was appreciated, but it wasn't so simple. That said, the shuttle to the pedestrian village / gondola was very easy and comfortable. Staying on the property gave us access to free skate rentals so we went skating, and we went tubing one evening - my youngest son enjoyed riding the "GT Racer." We were so busy we never got over to the AquaClub, but it looked fun too. We had a great vacation and plan to return. We will recommend this property to our friends.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank O-Zone_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chateaubeauvallon, General Manager at Tremblant Sunstar Condominiums, responded to this review, 21 March 2012
Dear Guest,
I am very pleased that your recent stay at our Tremblant Sunstar Plateau Complex was a success. We are very pround to offer the best complementary amenities to our guests (like skating, first tracks, aquaclub...). We hope to great you in the near future.
Sincerely, Françoise Reynier, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mont Tremblant hotels
2.3 km away
Fairmont Tremblant
Fairmont Tremblant
#2 of 30 in Mont Tremblant
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,482 reviews
2.3 km away
Le Sommet des Neiges
Le Sommet des Neiges
#1 of 30 in Mont Tremblant
4.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
2.1 km away
Residence Inn Mont Tremblant Manoir Labelle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Homewood Suites Mont-Tremblant
Homewood Suites Mont-Tremblant
#6 of 30 in Mont Tremblant
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,033 reviews
2.0 km away
Ermitage Du Lac Tremblant
Ermitage Du Lac Tremblant
#14 of 30 in Mont Tremblant
4.0 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
2.1 km away
Chateau Beauvallon Mont Tremblant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tremblant Sunstar Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tremblant Sunstar Condominiums

Property: Tremblant Sunstar Condominiums
Address: 2001 Chemin Principal, Mont Tremblant, Quebec J8E 1S5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Mont Tremblant
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Mont Tremblant
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tremblant Sunstar Condominiums 3.5*
Number of rooms: 325
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Tremblant Sunstar Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tremblant Sunstar Condominiums Hotel Mont Tremblant
Tremblant Sunstar Condominiums Mont Tremblant, Quebec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing