We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“The Best !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Les Copains d'abord - CLOSED

Les Copains d'abord
Price range: US$8 - US$26
Cuisines: French, Greek, Contemporary, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Situated in downtown Mont-Tremblant, Copains inspires all of the senses with its modern chic ambiance, contemporary french cuisine, and gracious service.
Hillsdale, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Best !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

Les Copains d’abord is without a doubt one of the finest dining experiences I have ever had. The food must take precedence when it comes to dining out, but at Les Copains d’abord the experience began even before we removed our coats. Eric was the ultimate host, with a manner that immediately put all in a wonderfully pleasant and welcome place. After an interesting and knowledgeable presentation of the evening offerings, Eric happily answered all of our questions with the utmost interest for our individual concerns. We were treated as if we were the only table in the restaurant.

As the entrée’s arrived, these are appetizers in the States, we new we were in for a special night. Foe Gras served with a crème brulee and a dipping sauce and sweet breads in a flaky pastry, all original to us and delicious. Dinner was served appropriately timed to allow us to enjoy the first course and being in such a pleasant surroundings we gladly carried on with discussions of our own. Stripped bass with a wine reduction sauce over French lentils, of course, and fresh veggies, all perfectly prepared right down to the lentils. Bison short ribs falling of the bone paired with a bison steak. Aside from the steak being very raw for our taste, the dish was delicious. Venison and rabbit, contributed to a wonderful dining surprise. Canadian wine that was suggested by out host was both wonderfully appropriate and delicious. Two of our party had a prefix option ($47.00) which included deserts. The rest opted to forgo the sweets when complimentary profiteroles for all arrived at the table. All this and Eric and his staff attending to us as though they were invisible.

Les Copains d’abord is on the top of my list and if you’re in the Mount Tremblant area don’t miss out on this little gem. I certainly won’t next time I’m there.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FSolofood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chefguy2009, Owner at Les Copains d'abord, responded to this review, 3 May 2012
Dear FSolofood ,

Thank you so much for the wonderfull words...
It was a treat to wait on you and your guests as you were all so interesting.
Please do come in again uppon your next visit to the area
again with many thanks........Merci.
e.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

234 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    45
    18
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New Liskeard
1 review
“Service and food was "To Die For" . Amazing is all I can say!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

Don and I were very impressed with the food, service and atmosphere. It is a definite must to take in this Restaurant....we will be back!!!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Catherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nantucket, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous food made with local ingredients, great attention to detail”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

Dining here was a wonderful experience, well worth the short drive from the mountain to St. Jovite. Duck was substituted for the venison listed on the menu. It was moist, tender and delicious, served with barley pilaf. A lobster cannelloni to start could have been an entree. We seldom have dessert but it was part of the table d'hotel. There were several small tasting of very fanciful creations, all fabulous. Service could not have been more attentive. The chef makes a point to speak with each patron. I don't mean to sound cliche but he certainly seems to be passionate about what he does; which is to create great food.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 300beachgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
48 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Modern Québécois cuisine with style”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

Prix Fix choices were superb with local selections of bison and rabbit for added adventure. All the food was good but I have to say the Lobster Canneloni and the Creme Brûlée were exceptional. I will return to Les Copains next year for sure.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnth99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Ontario
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Upscale Bistro Dining”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

We chose this restaurant based on a great review from my brother who is an excellent amateur chef and pickie restaurant critic. He loved this place last fall, so for our son's 19th birthday, we decided to head here on our way to Tremblant for the weekend. It was a Friday night and the place was mostly full. We had made reservations and they prepared our table beautifully with streamers and other festive birthday decorations. The restaurant is small with maybe 10-15 tables. The menu was rather extensive, which made choosing a difficult task. We all had a different appetizer and main course. All the food, from start to finish was excellent. By the time we hit dessert, we were all stuffed, but managed I managed to finish off the very rich and creamy cream caramel. The service was outstanding and price very reasonable. We will certainly return on our next trip to Tremblant.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mitchali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Les Copains d'abord also viewed

Mont Tremblant, Quebec
Mont Tremblant, Quebec
 
Mont Tremblant, Quebec
 
Mont Tremblant, Quebec
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing