We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try the ice cream”

Kate's Sweet Indulgence Catering & Cafe
Ranked #1 of 4 Dessert in Lunenburg
Price range: US$3 - US$9
Cuisines: Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Description: Kate's is a well established independently owned and operated fast casual cafe that prides itself on making everything it sells. That includes all our soups, chowders, salads, breakfast and lunch sandwiches as well as our , fishcakes, fish burger, paninis and daily quiche. We source as many of our ingredients from local, organic suppliers as possible. All of our beautiful pasteries ( and we have a lot!) are made fresh daily on site. We serve only organic, fairly trades coffee, espresso drinks and teas. Gosh, not only the Kombucha and bottled fruit juices are organic but so are some of our soft drinks! Come and join us for a yummy breakfast, delicious lunch or tasty snack. We have try to take care of our vegetarian and vegan guests too and have some gluten free options. Get a discount when you use your re-useable coffee mug, a complimentary water bottle fill up and see all the innovative things we have done that won us the Best Green Restaurant in Nova Scotia award. Thanks
Reviewed August 29, 2017

Home made ice cream or Scotsburn ice cream ..love it !! It also sells various candies etc. including salt water taffy .

Thank Elaine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (190)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 190 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2017

I had a coffee & 2 small pastry's for 8.63 The coffee was great . What I find about fancy bakery's they are not as sweet as others. On street parking. The butter tart was great.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sugarandspice5661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatesSweetCatering, Owner at Kate's Sweet Indulgence Catering & Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2017

So glad you enjoyed your visit. It gets pretty hot in our bakery in August and your kind words go a long way. Thank you. Kate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 22, 2017

Went in here for lobster salad sandwiches. The lobster just didn't taste fresh, a big disappointment, and pretty expensive.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatesSweetCatering, Owner at Kate's Sweet Indulgence Catering & Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2017

Hello Linda. I'm very sorry to hear that you were not happy with your lobster sandwich. We do try to insure that our guests receive the freshest ingredients possible. We would have been very happy to resolve the situation to your satisfaction had you told us during your visit of your concerns. Should you ever be In Lunenburg again I hope you will come in to my cafe, ask for me and I will be pleased to take care of you personally. Best wishes, Kate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 17, 2017

I placed an order for a special event; the carrot cake and one dozen cupcakes..the cake was without a doubt the best carrot I've ever had, my guests could not stop raving about it as well as the cupcakes. The add d touch of the flower on top of the cake.. beautiful. Quality and service was excellent so glad I googled and found this place. Brenda MacDonald Perry

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank bcmskipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatesSweetCatering, Owner at Kate's Sweet Indulgence Catering & Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2017

Thank you Brenda for your kind words. It was our pleasure to make your cakes for you. The carrot cake we made for you is available by the slice in our shop everyday just in case you are looking for a small taste of it again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 13, 2017

I ordered 2 espresso drinks and 3 sweets, all to go. When handed the drinks with lids on, I asked for verification that the mocha did indeed have whipped cream on top and was told yes. After leaving with hands full, got to vehicle and discovered it absolutely did not have whipped cream. This is the second time this has occurred - first time I assumed was an oversight - I now know better. Also, their coffee seems to be going down hill - very weak and watery. As for the sweets - I watched as clerk broke the butter tart as she was taking it from the stand and putting it in the bag. As you can imagine, the gooey insides were all over the bag and all that was left when I got home was a broken shell. Won't go back.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JoJo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kate's Sweet Indulgence Catering & Cafe also viewed

Lunenburg, Southwest Nova Scotia
Lunenburg, Southwest Nova Scotia
 
Lunenburg, Southwest Nova Scotia
Lunenburg, Southwest Nova Scotia
 
Lunenburg, Southwest Nova Scotia
Lunenburg, Southwest Nova Scotia
 

Been to Kate's Sweet Indulgence Catering & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing