We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and homey”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Atlantic View Motel & Cottages
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Lunenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 October 2014

This motel is an update of the mom and pop motels from my youth, but better. It is set on a quiet road immediately across from the cove shore. Big picture windows face fore and aft. Lovely. Nice walking area. Nice extras, coffee and refrigerator. It has no hair drier, but that seems minor. I enjoyed our stay. Oh, did I mention that everything in Luneburg is a bit overpriced, but not the Atlantic View.

Room Tip: You can choose room with fridge, room the kitchen, or cabin.
  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Rob and Sherry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (122)
There are newer reviews for Atlantic View Motel & Cottages
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 122 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2014

Atlantic view is family owned maintained and managed. The husband and wife team are extremely friendly and helpful. The motel is almost completed renovated in updated taste. Very clean and the thing I liked the most were the floors. No carpet ..floors are pergo type and spotless. Also the motel is just minutes from the center of Lunenburg. My husband and I would definatly stay again.

Room Tip: Enjoy the short walk to the water across the very quiet street
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Joan41500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2014

We booked this motel because of its proximity to Halifax airport and it was to be the last stop on a trip around Nova Scotia. The location is fantastic, it's just a short drive to Lunenburg and has a beautiful ocean view. The motel has fire pits for groups to sit around as well as one placed close to the beach, which we enjoyed. The cottage which we booked was small but cosy and it had everything we needed. If I was to criticise anything at all it would be the shower, just not as good as other places we stayed in. However, it was a lovely end to our summer holiday and we were glad we had the opportunity to explore this coast, which was one of our favourite parts of Nova Scotia. The owner was very very helpful and recommended places to eat in town.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sunnydays077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2014

We booked a self catering cottage and were very disappointed with the size of what turned out to be a room, not a cottage. There was no room to bring even one suitcase in, to cook I had to use plug in hot plates on the table and used dishes had to sit on top of the toilet lid as there was nowhere else to put them. To wash the dishes, I had to use a tub filled in the shower! This 'cottage' does not contain the necessities to make it either self-catering or a cottage.

  • Stayed: September 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bruces230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2014

Beautiful location. The owners were extremely accommodating and friendly. They allowed us to do our laundry and leave motorcycles parked there for no charge. The motel was extremely close to the Lunenberg and restaurants. They recommended an excellent pub in town. There was a coffee maker, folded table and chairs, and refrigerator in the room.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2014

Certainly nothing to write home about ... but adequate if all you're looking for is a place to sleep for one night. If ever we return to Lunenburg, we'll look for a hotel in town overlooking the bay. In spite of its name, there was no view from where we stayed.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank idoforms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2014

My wife and I wanted to get away for the night,so we decided to go to the South Shore of Nova Scotia,we wanted to be within about an hour drive from home.We did a search and found this place and called and booked a room.It is pet friendly,so we took our dog Pepper with us.The beach was a minute walk from the cabin,and was quite peaceful.The room was clean,the bed was comfortable,and we had the use of a BBQ.The WiFi worked great.We walked around the back of the hotel and found a pond,and there were benches and a couple of chairs,and a paddle boat too.It was quite scenic.The owner,Alex,was very friendly and helpful.We would stay here again.Pepper had a good time too...

Room Tip: The shower & sink drain slowly.When I showered,I used the water sparingly.
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank guysmontess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lunenburg
1.4 km away
Smugglers Cove Inn
Smugglers Cove Inn
#2 of 6 in Lunenburg
333 reviews
1.3 km away
Rum Runner Inn
Rum Runner Inn
#1 of 6 in Lunenburg
274 reviews
1.4 km away
Lunenburg Arms Hotel
Lunenburg Arms Hotel
#3 of 6 in Lunenburg
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 km away
Best Western Plus Bridgewater Hotel & Convention Centre
15.8 km away
Days Inn & Conference Center - Bridgewater
1.2 km away
Homeport Motel
Homeport Motel
#4 of 6 in Lunenburg
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic View Motel & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic View Motel & Cottages

Address: 230 Masons Beach Rd, Lunenburg, Nova Scotia B0J 2C0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Lunenburg
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Lunenburg
Price Range: $101 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Atlantic View Motel & Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A peaceful seaside destination in a woodland setting; just one minute from historic Lunenburg.You'll hear the waves lapping at the shoreline from your choice of accommodation - a cozy cottage, housekeeping unit, or comfortable motel room. In the morning have coffee on the beach or in our pond-site sitting area while the sea gulls and red-winged blackbird greet the day.Families will love the Atlantic View's ample green space and beach where children can run, play in the waves and swim. This is a perfect location for vacationing sea kayakers and cyclists, and golfers will have a spectacular and challenging nine-hole course just over the hill from us. Historic Old Town Lunenburg, designated a World Heritage Site by UNESCO for its exceptional architecture, natural beauty and working waterfront, is only 1.5 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Atlantic View Motel & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic View Motel & Cottages Lunenburg, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing