We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful!”
other travellers have booked this property
Our home sits on a pretty, secluded cove overlooking a bay. Has a lower deck, gazebo, floating dock
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Our home sits on a pretty, secluded cove overlooking a bay. Has a lower deck, gazebo, floating dock
Aerial of our location on LaHave Island House from cove with new paint job
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
Our home sits on a pretty, secluded cove overlooking a bay. Has a lower deck, gazebo, floating dock
Aerial of our location on LaHave Island
House from cove with new paint job
At sunset
View of water from roof deck to the west
View of water from roof deck to the north
Living room view of bay
View from dining room table
New kitchen with soapstone counters, glass-top stove, dishwasher, fridge w icemaker, farmhouse sink.
Living room w/ stereo, satellite TV and 2nd wood stove
Living room includes mini pool table
Living room facing back yard
Dining room during daytime
Wood stove in dining room
Living room wood stove
Downstairs bedroom
Downstairs bedroom adjoining bathroom
Bathroom with claw-foot tub and pedestal sink
Upstairs master bedroom
Master suite (adjoining master bedroom)
2nd and 3rd bedrooms upstairs
LaHave Islands from Risser's Beach
Government Wharf (3 minutes away)
Crescent Beach (3 minutes away) -- Great for morning walks
Crescent Beach -- Great for jogging
Crescent Beach - Great for driving
Crescent Beach --Great for kite surfing
View of cove and bay from front deck at sunrise
Relaxing on front deck
Gazebo and deer
View from gazebo
Deck and bench on the cove
View of cove from front deck
Sunrise from our point
Sunset from front deck
House from cove at sunrise
View of cove from front deck
View from living room
Side yard with gazebo
Front yard and swing
View off front deck to front yard
Back deck and roof deck
Front yard and cove
Lower deck, bench and garden
View of cove from front deck in fog
View of cove and bay from roof deck
Rear deck and roof deck
Garden and cove
Rear deck
Renters enjoying deck
Renters' children on dock
Renter barbecuing on front lawn
Boardwalk to driveway
Woods next to house
Sunset from front deck
Sunset from front deck
Island Scene -- Fishing boat and bridge to our island
Island scene
Island scene
Island scene
Island scene
Island scene
Island scene
Island deer
Island path
Island beach
Kayaking
Fisherman and shack
Bell's Island Marine Museum (3 minutes away)
Green Bay Beach (10 minutes away)
Sperry's Beach (9 minutes away)
Broad Cove Beach (15 minutes away)
LaHave Bakery (17 minutes away)
LaHave Bakery -- Fabulous breads, pastries, and sandwiches
LaHave Bakery -- hanging out
Lunenburg (40 minutes away)
Lunenburg -- Colorful houses and shops
The Ovens National Park (40 minutes away)
Moon over island road
House at moonlight
So come enjoy the good life!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 7
Lunenburg, Southwest Nova Scotia, Nova Scotia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Andrea M
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed May 28, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Two of my colleagues and I held an offsite at Fennel Old House in May. We hit great weather and the place
was amazing. The house was impeccably clean and organized - as were Mont's extremely clear instructions that
covered any questions you might have. The views are beautiful from most every window and the place has that great
old, seaside homestead feel. My colleagues had to head out to pick up some supplies and they were pleasantly
surprised to find a well-stocked store very near by. Mont contacted me to ensure everything was OK upon our arrival
and picked up the moment I called him with a question or two. If you're looking for a well-managed, beautiful, quiet place in
a unique, seaside location - I highly recommend Fennel Old House.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tricia L
1 review
“A landscape to admire..”
Reviewed May 17, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

I absolutely fell in love with this rental property. The home has history and the family who owns it has put so much time and effort to its current appeal. I cannot express enough as to the tranquillity of its picturesque landscape. This home is well equipped and very prganized. I was impressed.
If you like seclusion, this is the place for you. Not far from amenities and local shops also.
Thank you for sharing your home Mont. It was a pleasure and I will be back most definitely.
It is by far one of my favourite places to be in NS. It was a pleasure to be part of the Fennel House experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krysta M
Nova Scotia, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful south shore cottage”
Reviewed October 22, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I recently stayed at the Fennel house with my sister and mom for a south shore girls weekend. We loved the seclusion of the home, yet it was relatively central to many South Shore points of interest.

The cottage truly has an oceanfront cottage feel, from the decor to the age of the house and antique wood stoves. The house was more spacious than anticipated and the value was well worth it. The old family photo albums showing the upgrades to the house over the years was really neat.

The views are spectacular from inside the house and from the many decks /docks located on the exterior. We were there during the recent lunar eclipse and had some of the best views.

The cottage is very well stocked with cooking wares and your basic spices and everyday items. Far more stocked than any other vacation property.

I was a little nervous about the compost toilet, but none of us had any issues when we were there, and thought it was quite neat.

We strolled to Crescent beach and saw many deer along the way. The local inhabitants of the island are very friendly and welcoming. The Lahave Bakery does not disappoint and is a must!

The rental process was extremely smooth and Mont called to check in upon our arrival and departure to make sure everything was alright and that we enjoyed our stay. His response time to emails was within an hour or two. I would highly recommend this vacation rental for those looking to get away from the hustle and bustle of the city, and who are looking for a true cottage feel.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil W
Guelph, Canada
1 review
“The charm of the ocean, a sweet old country house, and Nova Scotia....WOW!”
Reviewed September 25, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

The house is old and still a bit rustic...yet charming, well maintained and immaculately clean. If you want to experience the sounds and smells of the ocean in a place where that;s all you can see from the kitchen window...this is the spot.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The ocean
Liked least: Too bad there isn't a second bathroom...but, hey, it's an old house!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver Island, Canada
Reviewed May 6, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: A magical spot that has been very well cared for, I felt like we were sharing something special
Liked least: Everything was great
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed February 18, 2015 for a stay in August 2014

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewed November 10, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Water heater issues
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
13 Nov 2014
The closest full-size supermarket is indeed a half-hour away, but there are two, well-stocked convenience stores within an 8-10 minute drive. We encourage guests to stop at the supermarket before arriving.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing