We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nova Scotian hospitality in a UN Heritage Site”
Review of Mariner King Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mariner King Inn
Ranked #6 of 26 Lunenburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 October 2011

My wife and I enjoyed a perfect one day stay at the Inn. We were greeted by the Innkeeper, who gave us a short history of her restoration of the Inn. Our suite was in the Cranberry Annex, and was tastefully furnished, comfortable, with those little extras that go beyond the norm. Our dinner was table d'hôte: three courses, perfectly prepared, visually stimulating, and served by a charming, friendly waitress, who was attentive and helpful without hovering. Our sincere thanks to the owner and staff of the Mariner King for making our stay in Lunenburg memorable, enjoyable, and energising. We shall certainly return.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (262)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

184 - 190 of 262 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2011

We stayed for 5 nights in one of the 2-room suites in the Cranberry Annex. The suite was very well built and decorated, very clean, and had lots of nice extras: two flat screen TVs, two electric fireplaces, a desk, coffee/tea/cocoa maker, wine glasses, ice bucket, and two comfy chairs. Except for the occasional door slam, noise was minimal.

The Cranberry Annex is right next door to the main building; going between them was not at all an issue. The Mariner King Inn is situated at almost the exact center of town. Everything is within walking distance.

The bed was comfortable. The bedroom had a safe. The bedroom had a refrigerator stocked with snacks and drinks, with some space for use by guests. There were end tables and a bureau providing decent drawer space.

The bathroom had all the little things (hair dryer, extra toothbrushes, two sinks, etc) that make a big difference. Shower was deluxe, with side jets. Bathroom also had sliding door, which did a lot to maximize the space.

Concerning the suite, the two drawbacks that stand out are:
(1) There is not a lot of space for luggage. It would be great if shelves were provided for luggage. In general, floor space is at a premium. It would be great if some creativity were applied to find out of the way places to stow things, for example, drawers that slide out from under the bed.
(2) There is only one medium-sized armoire for storing clothes. It was quickly filled to capacity.

The overall level of service was terrific. From start to finish, everyone was helpful and friendly. Before I booked, I asked for and received pictures of the room I wished to reserve. We were given a complimentary iced bucket of sparkling cider as a honeymoon gift.

The restaurant was great, with quick service and delicious food. The breakfast is very deluxe, much more than we were expecting, many items featuring salmon and lobster. The one dinner we had in the restaurant was very good. The restaurant was a big selling point for us, as it provided intimacy as opposed to having to share a communal table for 5 consecutive days.

While we had little trouble parking in late September, I can certainly see it being an issue in June through August.

Overall, we were very happy with our stay at the Mariner King Inn, and recommend it to anyone looking for more of a hotel experience over a B&B experience.

Room Tip: The suites in the two Annex buildings are modern, but have less floor space. Conversely, the rooms i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2011

We spent 3 nights at the Mariner King in Lunenburg, NS. What an absolutely fabulous place!!! We stayed in the top floor of the main building (there are three buildings available) Our room had three skylights,an extremely comfortable bed with high quality linens & a down comforter. The bathroom was large & had both shower and clawfoot tub. The decor was very tasteful, we had a sitting room with sofa, three chairs, and an electric fireplace. In addition, the front facing windows had a luxuriously upholstered, pillowed window seat. Best of all was the outstanding service we received. All of the employees were friendly, helpful, and provided over the top service. The breakfasts included in our stay were absolutely wonderful. Not only was there a large, varied "continental" buffet with tons of fresh fruit, meats, varied specialty breads, but one could also order from a hot breakfast menu as well. All were delicious! This hotel was elegant and immaculate, and immediately apparent once you step in the front door.So many lovely antique touches! The downstairs public bathroom even had terrycloth hand towels for each single use. We received an excellent bottle of champagne, with high quality chocolates on our arrival. We absolutely loved our stay there, and really hated to leave. Everyone working there seemed to enjoy their job, and were very helpful with driving instructions, things to do & see, etc. We definitely would stay here again!!!

Room Tip: We loved room 105 in the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank green033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2011

This Hotel is a must to stay if you are visiting Lunenburg. The rooms are immaculate, and the bed is very comfortable. The breakfast is so good, Eggs Benedict with Smoke Salmon, Eggs Benedict with Lobster. Wow! I will definitely stay here the next time I visit Lunenburg.

Room Tip: The best room if you don't mind paying the price is room # 105, it's a suite with a balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LMel154958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2011

The Mariner King Inn is a great little hotel, which is well-located in the center of Lunenberg. From check-in to departure, every staff member was warm, smiling and full of helpful advice. We slept like babies on a very comfortable bed with lovely linens and cosy duvet, and particularly loved the flat wall-mounted air-conditioning unit that sounded like the rolling surf. The breakfast was plentiful and offered a nice variety of choices. All in all, it was the best choice for our short visit to this picturesque and charming town.
p.s. Be sure to visit the Italian restaurant attached to the hotel - Trattoria della Nonna - it's wonderful!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank PriscillaPruitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2011

We loved this place. Our newly renovated suite was Swedish-meets-Victorian. In the Green Apple annex It had sky lights (3), ultra modern bathroom shower with (5) sprays, AC , puffy duvet and in the main Inn a simply delicious buffet...as well as kitchen choices such as eggs benedict, omelets, the works inclusive. We can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2011

We enjoyed our stay at the Mariner King Inn. It's right in the middle of town, just steps away from the water and restaurants. The rooms are spacious and well-appointed. The bathroom in particular was excellent - best shower (huge, with 5 working shower heads and a tile bench) I've ever used. At breakfast, in addition to a quality buffet, you can choose from one of three different main courses, all delicious.
There are a few things which the management may want to address. When we arrived, it was pouring rain and we had lots of things to unload. There was no place close by to park our car as we went to check in. We were told we would be in the Green House (a separate building a block away), but we were misdirected and spent the first 5 or 10 minutes getting soaked as we looked for our building. Then we were on our own as far as getting a parking space and unloading our things. This initial experience left us almost dreading our choice of accommodation in Lunenburg. Once we did get unpacked, parking was not an issue. There were plenty of free parking spaces just a block or two away.
Our in-room wifi worked only intermittently, and I pretty much gave up on it by the last day of our stay. This was no small issue for us. They should let guests know beforehand if in-room wifi is unreliable or sporadic.
Our suite had a nice downstairs living area with an upstairs bedroom. The beds were quite comfortable and clean. However, the upstairs walls slanted so much that you really need to be careful not to bump your head. My wife, daughter and I all bumped our heads on the ceiling and eventually avoided the upstairs for that reason.
If management addressed the above drawbacks, this would be a first-rate place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank twoforty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lunenburg hotels
0.1 km away
Smugglers Cove Inn
Smugglers Cove Inn
#2 of 6 in Lunenburg
343 reviews
0.2 km away
Rum Runner Inn
Rum Runner Inn
#1 of 6 in Lunenburg
277 reviews
0.1 km away
Lunenburg Arms Hotel
Lunenburg Arms Hotel
#3 of 6 in Lunenburg
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Boscawen Inn
Boscawen Inn
#4 of 26 in Lunenburg
200 reviews
0.7 km away
Ashlea House B&B
Ashlea House B&B
#3 of 26 in Lunenburg
348 reviews
0.1 km away
Spinnaker Inn
Spinnaker Inn
#16 of 26 in Lunenburg
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariner King Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariner King Inn

Address: 15 King Street, Lunenburg, Nova Scotia B0J 2C0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Lunenburg
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Lunenburg
Price Range: $135 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mariner King Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Lunenburg, Nova Scotia, The Mariner King Inn majestically stands in the heart of Old Town Lunenburg. The Inn, built in 1830, has undergone extensive renovations restoring the old and melding it with the needs of today's travellers. The Inn has three rooms and two suites in the original building, while the Cranberry and Candy Apple additions add six suites and three rooms with a more contemporary, mariner theme in mind. All rooms have luxurious, environmentally conscious and allergy free queen or king size beds, en-suite bathrooms, WiFi, TV (dvd), minibar, safe, telephone, and air-conditioning. Other amenities include good morning breakfast buffett, business center, exercise room, cosy parlour, winter garden, and laundry facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca and Priceline so you can book your Mariner King Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariner King Inn Lunenburg, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing