We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Perfect Blend of Old and Modern” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mariner King Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mariner King Inn
Ranked #7 of 25 Lunenburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect Blend of Old and Modern”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2011

A beautiful Historic Inn. We stayed in the main building. The room was small but very efficient. The bathroom was entirely modern and also quite small but well planned. The staff are very pleasant, helpful and professional. The breakfast is included and is delicious and plentiful. The eating area is bright and pretty. Our evening meal was definitely fine dining. I would definitely return.

Room Tip: They vary in size so ask about that. Also, there is the main Inn plus two other buildings. Be sure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank camfm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    41
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
29
167
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dartmouth, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

I stayed at the Mariner King Inn for three nights in September of 2011. I stayed in the green building (Cilantro?), in a marvelous room with a nautical theme. Room was modern and cozy, with a window in the sitting area that looked over the harbour. Very clean and relatively quiet property, right downtown within walking distance to many great restaurants, pubs and shops. The best restaurant I ate in, however, is literally next door, Trattoria Della Nona!

Breakfast is included and should not be missed. A choice of made-to-order hot entrees, and lots of great pastries and cold items, served in a quaint sun room. Can't wait to return!

I also had a quick walk down to see the restoration of the Bluenose II. Made me very proud to be a Nova Scotian - can't wait until she is in the water again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 10ACJed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Glasgow, Canada
Level Contributor
86 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2011

We had the good fortune to stumble across the inn late on a rainy evening earlier this year. We were greeted cordially at reception, despite the late hour, and took a room in the main building. The attention to detail while preserving the "old inn" feeling was very well done and the breakfast the next morning was superb. Our second night was equally enjoyed.

Having heard about the nice suites available, we stayed another night recently, this time in the Cranberry building next door to the main inn. Our corner suite on the third floor consisted of a small living room complete with desk, flat screen TV and electric fireplace. The bathroom was large with modern appliances and a large tiled shower. The bedroom was cozy with flat screen TV and another electric fireplace. A nautical theme carried throughout the suite with loving attention to detail everywhere you looked. One night is really too short a stay!

Room Tip: While the rooms are lovely, a suite really heightens the experience and is worth the extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NovaScotiaSunlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolfville
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2011

My husband & I stayed overnight at the Mariner King Inn on Oct. 21st for our 32nd Anniversary. We had a wonderful time. The meal was excellent. It was extremely well presented and it was all delicious. The restaurant was a little crowded but the ambiance made up for it. The wine & chocolates in the room were a nice treat. The room we had was not large but they sure made the most of the space & it was very tastefully decorated to suit the building, setting and town itself. The bathroom was extremely well done. Not that you spend a lot of time in the bathroom but it was probably one of the nicest we have ever seen in a hotel. The shower was awesome.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartmouth, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2011

My wife and I stayed just the one night - the meal was perfect with wonderful atmosphere, surroundings, and impeccable service. The suite was spot on with the right mix of new and old - masterful renovations with great appointments.

Room Tip: The suites are worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank G W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2011

Like most of the Inns we stayed at over 12 days in Nova Scotia the standard was high but the Mariner King was defintely our favourite. It was so good having stayed 2 nights at the start of our holiday we arranged to spend out last night here also. Everyone was so friendly and the setting in the centre of Lunenburg makes it ideal for walking along the waters edge or meandering through the town with its small inviting shops. The 3 buildings which make up the hotel seem to be a feature of the area as everytime we stepped out there seemd to be someone photographing the street. Next door is an Italian restaurant - make sure you visit as we had our best meal of our holiday - a bit pricey but worth it ! In fact with the Mariner King breakfasts you will be spoilt - eggs bacon, fruit, cold meats, cheeses. Some lovely walking - try the trail as it is peaceful with itys walk along an inlet. We have promised ourselves a return visit soon.

Room Tip: Room 303 - its is delightful with a view from the its top floor location to the street below and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2011

My wife and I enjoyed a perfect one day stay at the Inn. We were greeted by the Innkeeper, who gave us a short history of her restoration of the Inn. Our suite was in the Cranberry Annex, and was tastefully furnished, comfortable, with those little extras that go beyond the norm. Our dinner was table d'hôte: three courses, perfectly prepared, visually stimulating, and served by a charming, friendly waitress, who was attentive and helpful without hovering. Our sincere thanks to the owner and staff of the Mariner King for making our stay in Lunenburg memorable, enjoyable, and energising. We shall certainly return.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lunenburg hotels
0.1 km away
Smugglers Cove Inn
Smugglers Cove Inn
#1 of 6 in Lunenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
0.2 km away
Rum Runner Inn
Rum Runner Inn
#2 of 6 in Lunenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
0.1 km away
Lunenburg Arms Hotel
Lunenburg Arms Hotel
#3 of 6 in Lunenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Ashlea House
Ashlea House
#3 of 25 in Lunenburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
0.1 km away
Boscawen Inn
Boscawen Inn
#6 of 25 in Lunenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.1 km away
Spinnaker Inn
Spinnaker Inn
#14 of 25 in Lunenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariner King Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariner King Inn

Property: Mariner King Inn
Address: 15 King Street, Lunenburg, Nova Scotia B0J 2C0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Lunenburg
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Lunenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mariner King Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Lunenburg, Nova Scotia, The Mariner King Inn majestically stands in the heart of Old Town Lunenburg. The Inn, built in 1830, has undergone extensive renovations restoring the old and melding it with the needs of today's travellers. The Inn has three rooms and two suites in the original building, while the Cranberry and Candy Apple additions add six suites and three rooms with a more contemporary, mariner theme in mind. All rooms have luxurious, environmentally conscious and allergy free queen or king size beds, en-suite bathrooms, WiFi, TV (dvd), minibar, safe, telephone, and air-conditioning. Other amenities include good morning breakfast buffett, business center, exercise room, cosy parlour, winter garden, and laundry facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Mariner King Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariner King Inn Lunenburg, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing