We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyed our stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sail Inn B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sail Inn B&B
Ranked #12 of 25 Lunenburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2009

We stayed for two nights in Room 4 and thought the Sail Inn was very central and good value for money.Good view from the bedroom window,free parking and an excellent breakfast. A word of caution,to get the 'free' sail there have to be at least four paying passengers and on the two days we stayed this requirement was not met so we didn't get a sail. Pity as I would have booked a trip on the Bluenose.Only adverse comment is that the Inn felt a little impersonal as it was run by staff and not the family that own it but we would still recommend.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joandgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    18
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
66
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Burleson, TX
Level Contributor
195 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2009

We loved the Sail Inn B& B. We stayed in room #2 & loved it. Very spacious & clean with good amenities. The location was great...just one street up from where the Bluenose II is berthed. We truly enjoyed the sail although there was no wind. We had the option of sitting out in the harbour or using the motor to go out by the Ovens. We went to the Ovens. Breakfast was very good with lots of options....eggs, sausage, bacon, breads, fruit, cheeses, jams, etc. Would def stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kftw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2009

We stayed at the Sail Inn on our second night in Lunenburg and we were soooo happy we had to switch Inns. Lovely room, beautifully restored building, wonderful complimentary sail on the owner's boat and the hugest, most delicious breakfast we had on our trip! Please stay here. You will love it! (ask for room #4).

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChappyChapman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventura, CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2008

we loved the sail inn. really friendly people, yummy, cooked to order breakfast, spacious, homey room, great view, amazing "free sail" included in the cost of the room. we LOVED it and would return in a heartbeat!

  • Liked — the free sail included, breakfast, wonderful staff
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank donnadbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2008

We just called in on spec and found a real bargain! The owner also has a 48 foot classic wooden ketch (Eastern Star) that conducts interpreted sails around the harbour and bay. If you stay at this lovingly restored turn of the century skipper's house you will be invited aboard the ketch for an evening sail. The four rooms are all spacious and thoughtfully restored to enhance many of the building's original features. The decor is contemporary whilst complementing the old building. The breakfast was excellent, with healthy options.

  • Liked — The whole experience
  • Disliked — Having to leave the next day!
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank FloJoCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thunder Bay
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2008

We stayed at the Sail Inn B&B in Lunenburg after staying at the Guest Lovitt B&B in Yarmouth. The Sail Inn is a very different yet complementary experience and one you should not miss. Again, the location is excellent as it is right down town and has a view of the harbour. We stayed in room # 3 on the third floor with a small kitchenette but the highlight of the room is the very large bathroom with jaquzzi. The breakfast by the owner Keith, was made to order with a variety of items that would satisfy all tastes. (I especially enjoyed the salted salmon.)
The real highlight was the 2 hour sunset cruise in his sailboat with his boathand, Dave. Those of us on board for the ride were encouraged to participate in hoisting the sales or steering the boat - only if we wanted to. Keith provides interesting information on the harbour, history and town during the boat ride.
We had a wonderful stay with a bonus of the sail boat ride. Even if you don't stay over at the B&B, be sure to look up the sail boat in the harbour - you will definitely enjoy both!

  • Liked — its character
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Morjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NS
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2008

Although it was a while ago when we stayed there (August 2007) I just wanted to write a quick review to let people know how wonderful it was.
We stayed in Room 1 which was very large and had nice antique furnishings and a huge bathroom with jacuzzi. There was also a little kitchenette.
Since the owner's boat (The Eastern Star) wasn't filled we went out with them for an afternoon cruise and then an evening/sunset cruise (it was free since they weren't full). We brought a bottle of wine and a little picnic to enjoy. My husband even helped to raise the sails. There were binoculars on board and we saw seals.
The breakfast the next morning was delicious and the other guests were very nice.
I would definitely go back if I was staying in Lunenburg!

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NovaScotiaTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lunenburg hotels
0.1 km away
Rum Runner Inn
Rum Runner Inn
#2 of 6 in Lunenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
0.1 km away
Smugglers Cove Inn
Smugglers Cove Inn
#1 of 6 in Lunenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
0.0 km away
Lunenburg Arms Hotel
Lunenburg Arms Hotel
#3 of 6 in Lunenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Ashlea House
Ashlea House
#3 of 25 in Lunenburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
0.1 km away
Brigantine Inn
Brigantine Inn
#13 of 25 in Lunenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
0.9 km away
Atlantic Sojourn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sail Inn B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sail Inn B&B

Property: Sail Inn B&B
Address: 99 Montague Street, Lunenburg, Nova Scotia B0J 2C0, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Lunenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Lunenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sail Inn B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Sail Inn B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sail Inn B&B Lunenburg, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing