We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (111)
Filter reviews
112 results
Traveller rating
85
18
6
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
85
18
6
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvancouver islandlocal artistsquiet propertycommunity gardenlarge communitywedding weekendlarge bathroomwonderful spotenjoyed our staygracious hostsoysterseach morningmain floorstayed for nightsdelicious breakfastother guestsbed and breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
92 - 97 of 112 reviews
Reviewed August 15, 2011

We had an unexpected delay in a motorcycle tour of Vancouver Island and need a place for one night near Ladysmith. What a surprise to find that a quick online search led us to a wonderful experience at the Kiwi Cove Lodge. The location and the gardens are absolutely beautiful. The room was nicely furnished and spotless. The hospitality was friendly and very helpful.

To top it off, after a walk along the water and through the gardens we had an amazing breakfast starting with yogurt, berries and kiwi and moving on to yard eggs, local bacon, home-made bread and jams and beets and peas from the garden.

The quality of the accommodations and the location are unbeatable for the price. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stanley F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 31, 2011

We've just returned from a week staying a Kiwi Cove whilst hiking in the area...there were 8 of us. Part of us had a cottage that was amply supplied with full kitchen( including the corkskrew!) and everything else one needed for delectable meals! Our friends who stayed in one of the lodge rooms described healthy, creative, and well presented breakfasts. Our last night about 12 of us had a scrumptious meal whilst sitting at a long table on the deck overlooking the kiwi vines, vegetable garden and hils on the horizon. We were near Ladysmith, a charming, historic Vancouver Island town and we were very well situated for all the hiking areas! The property is very well maintained and Peggy & ? Andre were very accomodating!! Thanks so much...repeat business coming your way!

Room Tip: Cottage that sleeps 6 at least was very quiet and friends in the lodge rooms agreed!
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank foxylady77Vancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 2, 2011

We stayed at Kiwi Cove for a family reunion; a total of 14 people travelling from the US, Canada and Europe. This was a perfect spot for our get together. The "older" folks stayed in the beautiful rooms in the lodge, while the "kids" (young adults, really) shared the cottage. This arrangement worked very well, since it meant we could all gather in the cottage in the evening, prepare meals in the well appointed kitchen, and still keep to our very diverse schedules. The lodge rooms are themed, spotless and beautifully decorated. The cottage is a little odd in appearance from the outside- we came up to it initially from the wrong side and thought it was a barn/storage facility- but it is very nice on the inside, particularly the upstairs bedroom. 6 people slept very comfortably in the cottage, as with the rooms there is plenty of space here.
Breakfast was very nice and the hosts were gracious and accommodating. The grounds are peaceful and lush, and there is plenty to do in the surrounding area.

Room Tip: All the rooms that I saw were great.
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yeldablue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 21, 2011

Just finished two lovely days here with a senior family member. Doug and Peggy were very welcoming, unobtrusively providing all the necessaries. The location is wonderful - across the harbour from Ladysmith, on an estuary with great walking along the shore. We stayed in the Salmon Room, #22, with a huge private deck overlooking the kiwi grove and the estuary in the distance. Just lovely. And the birdsong - like a Dan Gibson recording. I would highly recommend this to anyone who wants a quiet getaway, yet close to town.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MerrieB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 4, 2011

Myself and my two 10 year old twins stayed just the one night , we loved this place. We felt welcome from the moment we arrived. We took the Dutch room and it was very commfy and the whole place has an "at home" feel ...err well the kind of home I'd like to have ! It is very comfortable and tasteful art and crafts adorn and fit right in to the decor.

Our main reason to stay was to be in close proximity to a friend and I can say this was very comfortable and a great rate for the level of comfort we enjoyed.

The hot tub soothed and relaxed

We wish we had had more time to explore the grounds but we had to move to our next destination.

This is a total thumbs up.

This is a retreat away from things and I liked that

Thanks Peggy and Doug hope to see you again soon

Guy , Vicky and Myles

Room Tip: email and ask
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gmatchett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews