We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious getaway”
Review of Kiwi Cove Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kiwi Cove Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ladysmith
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 June 2012

Kiwi Cove is a hidden treasure. My wife and I have stayed there three times and have also brought friends -- each time we love it more. The setting is a beautiful acreage on Oyster Bay near Ladysmith. We chose the Salmon Room, which -- with its large private deck -- overlooks the kiwi orchard and the bay, with mountain views in the background. The dining room and the secluded hot tub also look out on the orchard.

You can spend a quiet, relaxing time strolling the grounds, picnicking, playing horseshoes, walking the shoreline, and watching the wide variety of birds. You are also only a short drive from opportunities for kayaking, swimming, hiking, fine dining, and a surprisingly large variety of arts and crafts studios and music events.

The breakfasts are delicious and the rooms modern and very comfortable. For us, a weekend at Kiwi Cove is a luxurious getaway at a moderate price.

Room Tip: Go for the upper-floor rooms overlooking the orchard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeorgeAndyRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (91)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 91 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2012

Upon our return to Europe, when thinking back on our wonderful vacation in Vancouver Island, the Kiwi Cove Lodge is the lodge we keep thinking of. After a long drive we were fortunate enough to see the sign for the lodge, and exited the highway. The lodge was easy to find, check-in was quick and easy. Once we had settled in the room we went for a walk on the property to stretch our legs. The lodge is located on a 10 acre plot of land right on the water, with a view of the beautiful snow covered mountains in the background. We saw hares, a great variarety of birds on land and bald eagles playing in the air. The serenity and this scenic part of Ladysmith completely caught us by surprise. In the evening we relaxed in the outdoor jacuzzi.
The room was great, it was large, nicely decorated, very clean and had a great view of the kiwis and the mountains in the background (no tv in the room).
Peggy served the best breakfast, which primarily consisted of homade things.
We had only planned to stay one night, but it was so nice that we extended our to two nights. I can sincerely recommend this lodge, and we will definitely return to the Kiwi Cove Lodge when we go back to Vancouver Island.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joergen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2012

Our family booked 9 rooms with Kiwi Cove and were extremely happy the reception we received and our superb rooms. What a wonderful spot at the end of Ladysmith Harbour. Great views and balconies. They even setup a private dining room for our Mother's Day brunch and Birthday celebrations. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms at the back of the building for the best views and balconies. Very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marvferg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2012

The Kiwi Cove Lodge is located in a rural area close enough to Nanaimo to be convenient to get to but far enough away to leave the city behind. The rooms are comfortable and very clean, and ours had a private balcony with room to visit with the rest of our family staying elsewhere in the hotel. The breakfast was delicious and enjoyed by all. The grounds are quite lovely and our child was delighted by the rabbits and birds in the area. Recommended!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

The room that I have is generously proportioned, has a private balcony, georgous view of a nearby inlet with mountains in the distance. It is comfortably appointed and furnished with books and magazines about birds, an unexpected plus for me.
The whole lodge is delightfully placed on the land, and comfortable with beautiful hardwood floors throughout. I am here for a four day conference with 22 other participants and as well as it works for this, I look forward to coming back with my wife for a vacation in the Pacific Northwest. The kitchen staff and chef have put together a great menu for this group that is delicious vegitarian cuisine.

Stayed: April 2012
Thank Joel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

I found myself feeling very ill and in danger of falling asleep at the wheel of my car when I noticed the sign saying 'Kiwi Cove' Lodging. I arrived in terrible shape but Peggy was gracious and welcoming. I was pleased to find superb quality and cleanliness mixed with a cozy country comfort, with beauty inside and out! Soaking in the outdoor hot tub and looking over the Kiwi vines to the mountains allowed me to relax totally and begin my recovery.

I noticed the trails through the ten acres, as I soaked again in the morning after a sound sleep in the quiet atmosphere. Usually I find food away from home difficult to eat but Peggy produced an exquisite fruit and yogurt dish with fresh kiwi and orange on the side which satisfied me completely...even the herb tea was special. I enjoyed being immersed in a few of the excellent books available- one on seaweeds that was new to me --the best I've seen-- and others about the local flora and fauna, as well as lots of first-hand information on how to succeed with Kiwi-growing. I made good use of the handy phone in the lobby, free for local calls and easy to use with a phone card for long distance.
In 12 hours, I went from acutely ill to blissful!
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sylviahere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Most relaxing week ever. Off peak at a B&B is the best. I had the place to myself. Doug & Peggy were the best hosts. I'm sure you won't get a chance to leave without trying Peggy's Kiwi jam, but Just in case she forgets, the "Kiwi Comfort" is heavenly!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pjboston69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ladysmith
16.8 km away
Coast Bastion Hotel
Coast Bastion Hotel
#1 of 18 in Nanaimo
1,524 reviews
15.9 km away
Best Western Plus Chemainus Inn
24.3 km away
The Inn on Long Lake
The Inn on Long Lake
#3 of 18 in Nanaimo
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 km away
Ramada Nanaimo
Ramada Nanaimo
#5 of 18 in Nanaimo
305 reviews
12.6 km away
Castle Cove Inn
Castle Cove Inn
#7 of 10 in Chemainus
8 reviews
6.5 km away
Hawley Place Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kiwi Cove Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiwi Cove Lodge

Address: 5130 Brenton-Page Rd, Ladysmith, British Columbia V9G 1L6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Ladysmith
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ladysmith
Price Range: $147 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Getaway rural accommodation on Vancouver Island just 20 minutes south of Nanaimo.All 12 guestrooms have private bath and breakfast included. South view rooms overlook a well manicured kiwi vineyard with ocean and mountains beyond.A relaxing park-like waterfront property, great for group retreats, reunions and weddings. Open year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Kiwi Cove Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing