We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (114)
Filter reviews
114 results
Traveller rating
85
19
7
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
85
19
7
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews vegetable garden vancouver island nanaimo airport quiet property an early morning flight local artists community garden balcony overlooking large bathroom wedding weekend birds nest wonderful spot enjoyed our stay gracious hosts oysters off the highway included breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
84 - 89 of 114 reviews
Reviewed July 12, 2012

I stayed here 2 nights while we explored the Ladysmith, Chemainus and Duncan region of the island.
The lodge is easy to find, 1 km off highway 1, but a world away in feeling. Peggy and Doug have created a really beautiful rest stop for travelers. Perfect for a get away, or for people passing through.
There are 10 acres of waterfront property for exploring, this is a prime birding location. The owners have a large kiwi farm for inspection, and a large community garden for the local food bank.
WE stayed in the pheasant room, a VERY large , double queen room, upstairs, with corner view of the property, with a large anti room and large bathroom. Thank you for abundant counter space in the bathroom, and good lighting. Room had TV, books, magazines.
There are lots of public spaces to share, and the hosts have lots of information on locations up and down the island to do research on the next destination.
The breakfast was abundant, fruit, eggs, bacon or sausage, toast, coffee, juice. or waffles if you want.
They also have a self catering house/cottage to rent, which allows dogs.
They even lent me towels to wash the road grime off my car.
This is a lovingly managed and cared for home/lodge, well worth a visit and repeat stay.

Room tip: upstairs have better views,
Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank familySeattleWa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We attended a wedding near this property & the guests filled the lodge over the weekend.
From the moment we checked in hosts Peggy & Doug were welcoming & most helpful. Our large room with balcony overlooked the kiwi grove & gardens. Each morning family gathered on the deck for a delicous breakfast, a great way to begin our day.
You feel a world away at this lovely property, relaxed & refreshed. We hated to leave, but will return.

Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaurieR58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Gorgeous setting and gracious hosts. We booked the Kiwi Cove since we had an early morning flight leaving Nanaimo & selected it due to its proximity to the Nanaimo Airport. We would have loved to stay longer.

Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AMANMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Kiwi Cove is a hidden treasure. My wife and I have stayed there three times and have also brought friends -- each time we love it more. The setting is a beautiful acreage on Oyster Bay near Ladysmith. We chose the Salmon Room, which -- with its large private deck -- overlooks the kiwi orchard and the bay, with mountain views in the background. The dining room and the secluded hot tub also look out on the orchard.

You can spend a quiet, relaxing time strolling the grounds, picnicking, playing horseshoes, walking the shoreline, and watching the wide variety of birds. You are also only a short drive from opportunities for kayaking, swimming, hiking, fine dining, and a surprisingly large variety of arts and crafts studios and music events.

The breakfasts are delicious and the rooms modern and very comfortable. For us, a weekend at Kiwi Cove is a luxurious getaway at a moderate price.

Room tip: Go for the upper-floor rooms overlooking the orchard
Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeorgeAndyRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Upon our return to Europe, when thinking back on our wonderful vacation in Vancouver Island, the Kiwi Cove Lodge is the lodge we keep thinking of. After a long drive we were fortunate enough to see the sign for the lodge, and exited the highway. The lodge was easy to find, check-in was quick and easy. Once we had settled in the room we went for a walk on the property to stretch our legs. The lodge is located on a 10 acre plot of land right on the water, with a view of the beautiful snow covered mountains in the background. We saw hares, a great variarety of birds on land and bald eagles playing in the air. The serenity and this scenic part of Ladysmith completely caught us by surprise. In the evening we relaxed in the outdoor jacuzzi.
The room was great, it was large, nicely decorated, very clean and had a great view of the kiwis and the mountains in the background (no tv in the room).
Peggy served the best breakfast, which primarily consisted of homade things.
We had only planned to stay one night, but it was so nice that we extended our to two nights. I can sincerely recommend this lodge, and we will definitely return to the Kiwi Cove Lodge when we go back to Vancouver Island.

Date of stay: May 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joergen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews