We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our wedding day was perfect”
Review of Kiwi Cove Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kiwi Cove Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ladysmith
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2012

All because of Peggy and Doug. The perfect hosts to a perfect day. The grounds gave our guests a lovely place to walk between the ceremony and reception. Both shade and sun, and a lot of space to set up ladderball and bocce. Thank you for the memories!

Room Tip: Get a balcony... have your coffee out there in the morning and soak in the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LeenerMcMahon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (91)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 91 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2012

I stayed here 2 nights while we explored the Ladysmith, Chemainus and Duncan region of the island.
The lodge is easy to find, 1 km off highway 1, but a world away in feeling. Peggy and Doug have created a really beautiful rest stop for travelers. Perfect for a get away, or for people passing through.
There are 10 acres of waterfront property for exploring, this is a prime birding location. The owners have a large kiwi farm for inspection, and a large community garden for the local food bank.
WE stayed in the pheasant room, a VERY large , double queen room, upstairs, with corner view of the property, with a large anti room and large bathroom. Thank you for abundant counter space in the bathroom, and good lighting. Room had TV, books, magazines.
There are lots of public spaces to share, and the hosts have lots of information on locations up and down the island to do research on the next destination.
The breakfast was abundant, fruit, eggs, bacon or sausage, toast, coffee, juice. or waffles if you want.
They also have a self catering house/cottage to rent, which allows dogs.
They even lent me towels to wash the road grime off my car.
This is a lovingly managed and cared for home/lodge, well worth a visit and repeat stay.

Room Tip: upstairs have better views,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank familySeattleWa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

We attended a wedding near this property & the guests filled the lodge over the weekend.
From the moment we checked in hosts Peggy & Doug were welcoming & most helpful. Our large room with balcony overlooked the kiwi grove & gardens. Each morning family gathered on the deck for a delicous breakfast, a great way to begin our day.
You feel a world away at this lovely property, relaxed & refreshed. We hated to leave, but will return.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaurieR58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Gorgeous setting and gracious hosts. We booked the Kiwi Cove since we had an early morning flight leaving Nanaimo & selected it due to its proximity to the Nanaimo Airport. We would have loved to stay longer.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AMANMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012

Kiwi Cove is a hidden treasure. My wife and I have stayed there three times and have also brought friends -- each time we love it more. The setting is a beautiful acreage on Oyster Bay near Ladysmith. We chose the Salmon Room, which -- with its large private deck -- overlooks the kiwi orchard and the bay, with mountain views in the background. The dining room and the secluded hot tub also look out on the orchard.

You can spend a quiet, relaxing time strolling the grounds, picnicking, playing horseshoes, walking the shoreline, and watching the wide variety of birds. You are also only a short drive from opportunities for kayaking, swimming, hiking, fine dining, and a surprisingly large variety of arts and crafts studios and music events.

The breakfasts are delicious and the rooms modern and very comfortable. For us, a weekend at Kiwi Cove is a luxurious getaway at a moderate price.

Room Tip: Go for the upper-floor rooms overlooking the orchard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeorgeAndyRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Upon our return to Europe, when thinking back on our wonderful vacation in Vancouver Island, the Kiwi Cove Lodge is the lodge we keep thinking of. After a long drive we were fortunate enough to see the sign for the lodge, and exited the highway. The lodge was easy to find, check-in was quick and easy. Once we had settled in the room we went for a walk on the property to stretch our legs. The lodge is located on a 10 acre plot of land right on the water, with a view of the beautiful snow covered mountains in the background. We saw hares, a great variarety of birds on land and bald eagles playing in the air. The serenity and this scenic part of Ladysmith completely caught us by surprise. In the evening we relaxed in the outdoor jacuzzi.
The room was great, it was large, nicely decorated, very clean and had a great view of the kiwis and the mountains in the background (no tv in the room).
Peggy served the best breakfast, which primarily consisted of homade things.
We had only planned to stay one night, but it was so nice that we extended our to two nights. I can sincerely recommend this lodge, and we will definitely return to the Kiwi Cove Lodge when we go back to Vancouver Island.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joergen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2012

Our family booked 9 rooms with Kiwi Cove and were extremely happy the reception we received and our superb rooms. What a wonderful spot at the end of Ladysmith Harbour. Great views and balconies. They even setup a private dining room for our Mother's Day brunch and Birthday celebrations. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms at the back of the building for the best views and balconies. Very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marvferg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ladysmith
15.9 km away
Best Western Plus Chemainus Inn
16.9 km away
Coast Bastion Hotel
Coast Bastion Hotel
#2 of 18 in Nanaimo
1,584 reviews
18.1 km away
Ramada Nanaimo
Ramada Nanaimo
#5 of 18 in Nanaimo
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 km away
Days Inn - Nanaimo
Days Inn - Nanaimo
#8 of 18 in Nanaimo
572 reviews
24.3 km away
The Inn on Long Lake
The Inn on Long Lake
#3 of 18 in Nanaimo
346 reviews
12.6 km away
Castle Cove Inn
Castle Cove Inn
#8 of 10 in Chemainus
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kiwi Cove Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiwi Cove Lodge

Address: 5130 Brenton-Page Rd, Ladysmith, British Columbia V9G 1L6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Ladysmith
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ladysmith
Price Range: $146 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Getaway rural accommodation on Vancouver Island just 20 minutes south of Nanaimo.All 12 guestrooms have private bath and breakfast included. South view rooms overlook a well manicured kiwi vineyard with ocean and mountains beyond.A relaxing park-like waterfront property, great for group retreats, reunions and weddings. Open year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Kiwi Cove Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing