We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (114)
Filter reviews
114 results
Traveller rating
85
19
7
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
85
19
7
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews vancouver island an early morning flight quiet property local artists community garden large bathroom wedding weekend birds nest wonderful spot enjoyed our stay gracious hosts oysters included breakfast main floor comfortable rooms b and b stayed for nights
Filter
Updating list...
81 - 86 of 114 reviews
Reviewed August 11, 2012

On our recent driving trip of Vancouver Island we spent one night at Kiwi Cove Lodge......our room was "Chocolate" on the ground level. Nice sitting area, roomy bedroom, and large bathroom by some b&b standards. It was a gorgeous sunny afternoon so we explored the grounds....Kiwi orchard, large grassy area on the water, and a wonderful vegetable garden which we learned was for the owners and the food bank! What a splendid way to help the less fortunate.

Peggy gave me several dinner suggestions earlier so we set off for a little drive and found a small marina that we as boaters had docked at about 20 years ago but we knew their restaurant was closed that night. Onward we drove to the Crow and Gate Pub.......it was like a stop in the U.K., lovely setting in the countryside, and very authentic atmosphere plus a wonderful garden. Ate at a communal table outdoors and enjoyed meeting new travelers.....my husband enjoyed his burger and me, crab cakes!! Don't miss the cider either.

After a good sleep, we enjoyed Peggy's breakfast fare. Came away with a purchase of kiwi jelly too. Peggy and Doug are nice people and helpful hosts so it is a pleasant stopover near to Hwy Canada 1 on a visit to Vancouver Island.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lover-of-Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Wonderful lil get away for a night! Peggy and Doug were very hospitable. The Lodge and surroundings are absolutely breath taking!!! Breakfast in the morning was yummy!! Loved walking through the Kiwi Vineyard. Who knew Kiwis grow in BC:-)
Thank You a very nice and Chillaxing time!

Room Tip: If you heading back to the mainland to Tawassen via Nanaimo on a Sunday be sure to book the ferry back unless you want to go via Victoria. Pretty drive through Malahat but if pressed for time plan ahead:-)
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nicole W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 27, 2012

All because of Peggy and Doug. The perfect hosts to a perfect day. The grounds gave our guests a lovely place to walk between the ceremony and reception. Both shade and sun, and a lot of space to set up ladderball and bocce. Thank you for the memories!

Room Tip: Get a balcony... have your coffee out there in the morning and soak in the view.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LeenerMcMahon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 12, 2012

I stayed here 2 nights while we explored the Ladysmith, Chemainus and Duncan region of the island.
The lodge is easy to find, 1 km off highway 1, but a world away in feeling. Peggy and Doug have created a really beautiful rest stop for travelers. Perfect for a get away, or for people passing through.
There are 10 acres of waterfront property for exploring, this is a prime birding location. The owners have a large kiwi farm for inspection, and a large community garden for the local food bank.
WE stayed in the pheasant room, a VERY large , double queen room, upstairs, with corner view of the property, with a large anti room and large bathroom. Thank you for abundant counter space in the bathroom, and good lighting. Room had TV, books, magazines.
There are lots of public spaces to share, and the hosts have lots of information on locations up and down the island to do research on the next destination.
The breakfast was abundant, fruit, eggs, bacon or sausage, toast, coffee, juice. or waffles if you want.
They also have a self catering house/cottage to rent, which allows dogs.
They even lent me towels to wash the road grime off my car.
This is a lovingly managed and cared for home/lodge, well worth a visit and repeat stay.

Room Tip: upstairs have better views,
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank familySeattleWa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We attended a wedding near this property & the guests filled the lodge over the weekend.
From the moment we checked in hosts Peggy & Doug were welcoming & most helpful. Our large room with balcony overlooked the kiwi grove & gardens. Each morning family gathered on the deck for a delicous breakfast, a great way to begin our day.
You feel a world away at this lovely property, relaxed & refreshed. We hated to leave, but will return.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaurieR58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews