We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place for a wedding!”
Review of Kiwi Cove Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kiwi Cove Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ladysmith
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Thank you Peggy and Doug for providing such a lovely venue for our son's (and new daughter's!) wedding. The lodge and orchard are beautiful, the food was great, and the atmosphere was perfect. We would return in a heartbeat, and would highly recommend you to anyone looking for a very special place for a small wedding!

Room Tip: The rooms are named, ie - the "romance room, "bird room", "pet room", so th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CJackins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (91)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 91 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2012

On our recent driving trip of Vancouver Island we spent one night at Kiwi Cove Lodge......our room was "Chocolate" on the ground level. Nice sitting area, roomy bedroom, and large bathroom by some b&b standards. It was a gorgeous sunny afternoon so we explored the grounds....Kiwi orchard, large grassy area on the water, and a wonderful vegetable garden which we learned was for the owners and the food bank! What a splendid way to help the less fortunate.

Peggy gave me several dinner suggestions earlier so we set off for a little drive and found a small marina that we as boaters had docked at about 20 years ago but we knew their restaurant was closed that night. Onward we drove to the Crow and Gate Pub.......it was like a stop in the U.K., lovely setting in the countryside, and very authentic atmosphere plus a wonderful garden. Ate at a communal table outdoors and enjoyed meeting new travelers.....my husband enjoyed his burger and me, crab cakes!! Don't miss the cider either.

After a good sleep, we enjoyed Peggy's breakfast fare. Came away with a purchase of kiwi jelly too. Peggy and Doug are nice people and helpful hosts so it is a pleasant stopover near to Hwy Canada 1 on a visit to Vancouver Island.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lover-of-Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2012

Wonderful lil get away for a night! Peggy and Doug were very hospitable. The Lodge and surroundings are absolutely breath taking!!! Breakfast in the morning was yummy!! Loved walking through the Kiwi Vineyard. Who knew Kiwis grow in BC:-)
Thank You a very nice and Chillaxing time!

Room Tip: If you heading back to the mainland to Tawassen via Nanaimo on a Sunday be sure to book the ferry ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nicole W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

All because of Peggy and Doug. The perfect hosts to a perfect day. The grounds gave our guests a lovely place to walk between the ceremony and reception. Both shade and sun, and a lot of space to set up ladderball and bocce. Thank you for the memories!

Room Tip: Get a balcony... have your coffee out there in the morning and soak in the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LeenerMcMahon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

I stayed here 2 nights while we explored the Ladysmith, Chemainus and Duncan region of the island.
The lodge is easy to find, 1 km off highway 1, but a world away in feeling. Peggy and Doug have created a really beautiful rest stop for travelers. Perfect for a get away, or for people passing through.
There are 10 acres of waterfront property for exploring, this is a prime birding location. The owners have a large kiwi farm for inspection, and a large community garden for the local food bank.
WE stayed in the pheasant room, a VERY large , double queen room, upstairs, with corner view of the property, with a large anti room and large bathroom. Thank you for abundant counter space in the bathroom, and good lighting. Room had TV, books, magazines.
There are lots of public spaces to share, and the hosts have lots of information on locations up and down the island to do research on the next destination.
The breakfast was abundant, fruit, eggs, bacon or sausage, toast, coffee, juice. or waffles if you want.
They also have a self catering house/cottage to rent, which allows dogs.
They even lent me towels to wash the road grime off my car.
This is a lovingly managed and cared for home/lodge, well worth a visit and repeat stay.

Room Tip: upstairs have better views,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank familySeattleWa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

We attended a wedding near this property & the guests filled the lodge over the weekend.
From the moment we checked in hosts Peggy & Doug were welcoming & most helpful. Our large room with balcony overlooked the kiwi grove & gardens. Each morning family gathered on the deck for a delicous breakfast, a great way to begin our day.
You feel a world away at this lovely property, relaxed & refreshed. We hated to leave, but will return.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaurieR58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Gorgeous setting and gracious hosts. We booked the Kiwi Cove since we had an early morning flight leaving Nanaimo & selected it due to its proximity to the Nanaimo Airport. We would have loved to stay longer.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AMANMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ladysmith
15.9 km away
Best Western Plus Chemainus Inn
16.9 km away
Coast Bastion Hotel
Coast Bastion Hotel
#2 of 18 in Nanaimo
1,589 reviews
18.1 km away
Ramada Nanaimo
Ramada Nanaimo
#5 of 18 in Nanaimo
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 km away
Days Inn - Nanaimo
Days Inn - Nanaimo
#8 of 18 in Nanaimo
573 reviews
24.3 km away
The Inn on Long Lake
The Inn on Long Lake
#3 of 18 in Nanaimo
346 reviews
26.9 km away
Best Western Northgate Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kiwi Cove Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiwi Cove Lodge

Address: 5130 Brenton-Page Rd, Ladysmith, British Columbia V9G 1L6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Ladysmith
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ladysmith
Price Range: $148 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Getaway rural accommodation on Vancouver Island just 20 minutes south of Nanaimo.All 12 guestrooms have private bath and breakfast included. South view rooms overlook a well manicured kiwi vineyard with ocean and mountains beyond.A relaxing park-like waterfront property, great for group retreats, reunions and weddings. Open year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Kiwi Cove Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing