We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the location, great value. Great addition with the hot tab”
Review of Kiwi Cove Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kiwi Cove Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ladysmith
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 September 2010

We loved the place and the view from the room. Had great hot tub at the end of each day.so quiet u can think:). I truly enjoyed the room and the hospitality. Really recommend .Just missed shampoo and conditioner in the room

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Limorkiti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (91)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 91 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2010

I was reccommended to stay at Kiwi Cove by my daughter and was very delighted to experience the warm hospitaliy of Peggy and Doug as we arrived. The setting with Kiwi Grove and beautiful gardens is so peaceful that it takes you to a special place to enjoy nature, wildlife, ocean walks and good food. Our room was bright, spacious, very clean, nicely decorated and homey. Peggy was so helpful with our requests and beautiful homemade breakfasts. When I learned that the vegetable garden was a community effort and benefited the local food bank it demonstrated the generosity of the Inn Keepers. Thank you Peggy and Doug I hope to be able to visit you again soon.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amvVancouver_B_C_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2010

We traveled to Vancouver Island to attend our son's wedding. We booked rooms at the Kiwi Cove for ourselves and several family members and friends, since the wedding location was nearby.
It was our first time staying at Kiwi Cove but I hope it will not be our last. Our hosts, Peggy and Doug, were most welcoming and the Lodge itself was very comfortable and relaxing. Delicious breakfasts were included, served in an informal dining room overlooking the kiwi grove.
For part of our visit, we stayed in a three-bedroom cottage adjacent to the Lodge. It too was very clean and comfortable, and was a great base for get-togethers with the rest of our group.
The Lodge is not in the town of Ladysmith itself, so a car (or taxi) is necessary to get into town or into Nanaimo, the nearest city. Fortunately, the Lodge is close to the highway and is an easy drive to and from such Island locations.
Overall, our experience was most positive and I would highly recommend the Lodge.
Ian

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IanPop1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2010

25 Rotarians on a cycling trip to Ladysmith - we made Kiwi Lodge our home base. What a wonderful retreat. Peggy and her team made us feel right at home. Thanks for the hospitality and the great meals. We all had a great weekend.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tsawwassentraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2010

I have no hesitation in recommending Kiwi Cove lodge as great place to stay. The rooms are spacious and clean with great views of a kiwi grove in the foreground and mountains in the distance. I have been there on two occasions. Both times we were warmly welcomed by the owners Peggy and Doug. Breakfast in the morning was excellent, some items, including their kiwi jam, made from right from their own garden patch. The owners are longtime residents of the area, and were very helpful as to local attractions. They helped us arrange a sea kayaking trip with a local provider our first trip there. I am already a repeat customer, and will stay again when I’m in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anonymousontadvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2010

I had my second visit with Kiwi Cove and I have to say I enjoyed it just as much the second time. The lodge is lovely, homey, relaxing. Rooms are spotless, food is just like Mom makes it and you won't find friendlier people than Peggy and staff. Treat yourself and stop by.

  • Stayed: January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank knitter33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2009

Myself, my husband and my young daughter had a wonderful experience at the Kiwi Cove Lodge last month. This was our first "get-away" with our two year old daughter and were aprehensive about how she would settle in to a strange place with strange people, She was great. She loved the spacious room, the great dining hall, the lounge with available toys for kids... toys that Peggy and Dougs' (the owner/operators) own children had once played with! And WE loved the hot tub that looked over the kiwi orchard and out to the mountains, the lovingly maintained paths that skirted the kiwis, along the windswept beach, out to the lagoon, and through the small Island that once housed the original homestead. Our daughter was facinated with all the different types of mushrooms, birds, trees, pants, and moss she encountered. Not to mention the bunny rabbits, how exciting! To wrap up, we had a wonderful relaxing trip and look forward to returning again and again. Oh, and I almost forgot! The breakfasts... I would go back just for that homemade bread and yoghurt! Thank you Peggy and Doug!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elliVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ladysmith
16.8 km away
Coast Bastion Hotel
Coast Bastion Hotel
#1 of 18 in Nanaimo
1,522 reviews
15.9 km away
Best Western Plus Chemainus Inn
24.3 km away
The Inn on Long Lake
The Inn on Long Lake
#3 of 18 in Nanaimo
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 km away
Ramada Nanaimo
Ramada Nanaimo
#5 of 18 in Nanaimo
305 reviews
12.6 km away
Castle Cove Inn
Castle Cove Inn
#7 of 10 in Chemainus
8 reviews
6.5 km away
Hawley Place Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kiwi Cove Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiwi Cove Lodge

Address: 5130 Brenton-Page Rd, Ladysmith, British Columbia V9G 1L6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Ladysmith
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ladysmith
Price Range: $147 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Getaway rural accommodation on Vancouver Island just 20 minutes south of Nanaimo.All 12 guestrooms have private bath and breakfast included. South view rooms overlook a well manicured kiwi vineyard with ocean and mountains beyond.A relaxing park-like waterfront property, great for group retreats, reunions and weddings. Open year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Kiwi Cove Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing