We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pool Freezing!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Residence Inn by Marriott Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Gravenhurst
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklin, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Pool Freezing!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

Booked this hotel because we wanted to spend some time with another family and allow kids to have fun in the pool. Pool was freezing- no heat at all; and when we asked we were told two different stories from two different people. This was very dissapointing to us as that was the main reason for the stay.
The room however was very spacious and clean.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DisneyFreak1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    384
    151
    22
    6
    2
See reviews for
190
252
13
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2012

I booked this hotel after reviewing some excellent reviews. The hotel was designed and decorating with style. The check in process was seamless. We managed to visit some of the local restaurants and I was able to do some fishing on the lake next to the hotel. This hotel is a win win if your wife is not into cottages. It will give the avid fisherman a outlet to the lakes and the fishing is steps away from the hotel. My family and I will continue visiting this property. The front desk was very helpful. We had not complaints during our entire trip. The PLUS is this is a dog friendly hotel. I was able to bring along the Boston!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cali G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

Booked the hotel because it was a residence inn and a newer hotel.
Convenient location to enjoy the area sights (we were there in the fall/enjoyed fall colours); Nice breakfast. Room was nice and spacious.
What was disappointing is that the hotel does not have specific floors/rooms only for pets, but allowed pet owners and their pets to have a run of the hotel as confirmed with front desk staff. Never come across any such policy before in other hotels. We were not travelling with a pet. There is no way that the rooms could be thoroughly cleaned and deodorized between guests. A real pity that this hotel will most likely go downhill with number of and size of dogs that come through this hotel. There was a faint dog odour in our room as well. Will not return on this account.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mississauga25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Ontario
Level Contributor
99 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

Nice place to stay. Stayed here and went to a show at Casinorama. Counter staff were helpful and friendly - rooms clean and very nicely appointed. Loved having the kitchenette even though we didn't stay long enough to actually cook, having the large fridge and making a real pot of coffee was nice. The popcorn in the room was a nice touch for late night snack when we got back from the show.

Breakfast was certainly adequate (horrible coffee though, so suggest bring your own). Suggest you not ask the breakfast staff for any help because you'll get an answer but in a rude condescending tone (ya, I'd look in a different room for coffee. Why would you expect it to be with all the other breakfast foods/drinks?)

Catered to snowmobilers and there certainly were a lot of sleds around. Only one problem, the smell of exhaust smell in the hallways and even in the room first thing in the morning was nasty - had a terrible time with sore runny eyes because of it. We assumed, due to sleds being started next to an intake.

Probably an amazing view in the summer. I'll try it again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CRM433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheboygan, Michigan
Level Contributor
34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

We always have loved the Muskoka region and are thrilled to find a GREAT pet-friendly lodging choice that is affordable.
We had some issues booking this property...which were not the hotel's fault but rather the
Marriott reservationist. We finally received a call from the hotel manager to assure us the issue had been resolved.
We had a great upper floor suite that overlooked the parking lot and lake beyond. Other side maybe more scenic but it was interesting to watch comings and goings and to sit out
on balcony and enjoy sunsets. We were concerned as room was next to elevator but we did not hear anything. The room was well kept and had no problems with housekeeping. The university students working the breakfast were very friendly and did a good job keeping it replenished.
One of the highlights was the many restaurants and shops within easy walking distance.
We also hiked up a nearby rock enscarpment and found a gazebo overlooking the lake...
a nice surprise. There's a great fruit/ice cream stand a few blocks away on highway. Nice people and awesome Blueberry shake. Also, enjoyed the museum next door. Docents there were outstanding..very friendly.
We will definitely be back soon...

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoadTripFans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

I came back to this Hotel with my 2 yr old son and wife and we love the simple pleasures.
Balconies, indoor pool and jacuzzi, full kitchen with separate bedroom, and tv's in both rooms.
We cooked ourselves and our son loved playing in the pool and running around in the forest path outside.
There are not too many exciting attractions around Gravenhurst, but we just wanted a quiet after christmas family getaway to see some snow - and we got everything we wanted.
Nearby Bracebridge (20 min drive) has much better restaurant and stores, but they don't have any good hotels so stay here and play in Bracebridge.

Room Tip: The lakeview rooms are nice but don't be shocked when you look down and see the parking lot dire...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LongBranch34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2012

This hotel is one of the best I've ever stayed in. The staff makes you feel SO welcome. They go out of their way for you. The rooms was beautiful and immaculately clean. The beds are comfy. Our room had a lovely view of the water. The property around the hotel is gorgeous, many great spots for romantic walks. We explored much of the Gravenhurst and Bracebridge area while staying here. There are an infinite number of waterfalls and hiking trails within minutes of this hotel. We visited in late fall, so the in-room fireplace was much appreciated after a chilly day outdoors. I look forward to our next stay!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank loutri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gravenhurst
34.0 km away
JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa
29.1 km away
Sherwood Inn
Sherwood Inn
#2 of 3 in Port Carling
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
29.3 km away
Christie's Mill Inn and Spa
Christie's Mill Inn and Spa
#2 of 4 in Port Severn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.9 km away
Rawley Resort
Rawley Resort
#3 of 4 in Port Severn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
13.7 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#2 of 10 in Bracebridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
10.1 km away
Hart of Muskoka
Hart of Muskoka
#5 of 8 in Gravenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn by Marriott Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn by Marriott Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf

Property: Residence Inn by Marriott Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf
Address: 285 Steamship Bay Rd, Gravenhurst, Ontario P1P 1Z9, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Gravenhurst
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Gravenhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn by Marriott Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn by Marriott Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf is the newest of Muskoka hotels and is situated on the shores of beautiful Lake Muskoka. Our Gravenhurst hotel's location is perfect for business and leisure travel, offering proximity to Muskoka's most iconic destinations and attractions. When you stay at Residence Inn by Marriott Gravenhurst Muskoka, you have Lake Muskoka's sea adventures, Muskoka shopping and dining, and beautiful Muskoka Wharf at your availability. You also have easy access to nearby Muskoka Boat & Heritage Center, Hardy Lake's hiking trails, Santa's Village, Muskoka Bay Club golfing, and more. Our all-suite hotel in Muskoka provides complimentary breakfast, high-speed Internet access, and pet-friendly accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn by Marriott Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf Hotel Gravenhurst
Residence Inn By Marriott Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf Muskoka District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing