We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WEEKEND GETAWAY”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riverfront Chalets & Rafting Newfoundland
Gander, Canada
1 review
“WEEKEND GETAWAY”
Reviewed 31 January 2017

What a beautiful place to get away and relax. There were six of us at our chalet this past weekend for a snowmobile trip to Hodges hill. The accommodations were very clean and comfortable and everything needed to cook with was there. There were two beautiful rooms and an eight inch memory foam mattress for the third couple which we had in the living room. The hot tub was definitely the highlight of the weekend especially after a full day of snowmobiling. It was very clean and so relaxing.

The trails are endless for snowmobiling and you can leave right from your chalet. The owner (Paul) was very helpful before we got there and kept me informed of the snow conditions for our trip. Paul does offer guided tours which we didn't do this time but will certainly do the next time.

After our trip we were met by one of the workers there and he made sure we had lots of clean towels and such. Paul took the time to contact me and make sure everything was ok with our trip and the accommodations. No complaints at all and will surely be back there. If your looking for a place to getaway whether to enjoy the outdoors or simply relax this is the right place.

Stayed January 2017, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank chriscollier33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulwrose R, Owner at Riverfront Chalets & Rafting Newfoundland, responded to this review, 1 February 2017
Wow! Thanks so much Chris. That's a review I am proud of!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    5
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
17
28
1
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 December 2016

Beautiful chalets tucked away with an amazing view of the Exploits River. The chalets themselves are well appointed with comfy beds, plenty of cookware, a gas grill, use of the outdoor hot tub and an enormous bathroom complete with jacuzzi tub!

Stayed December 2016, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Tracey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverfrontChalets, Owner at Riverfront Chalets & Rafting Newfoundland, responded to this review, 27 December 2016
Thanks so much Tracey! I am so happy you had a nice stay at the chalets. Your comments mean a lot to us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. John's, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 18 October 2016

with friends or alone these chalets never disappoint..all the amenities of home..cozy and quaint..fabulous view of the river sitting on the deck or sitting in the hot tub..fire pit.. trail walks..can't wait until next time.

  • Stayed October 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank _goldaw10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulwrose R, Owner at Riverfront Chalets & Rafting Newfoundland, responded to this review, 20 October 2016
Hi Goldie. Thanks so much. You are always a pleasure to have stay with us. Your happy personality rubs off on all of us when you are here! Come on back soon! We can't wait either!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2016 via mobile

The chalets are gorgeous and everything is very well taken care of. The river views are incredible. Sure beats the hell out of a hotel. A fire by the river on a Wednesday night is a great way to relax. I will definitely be staying there again

Stayed September 2016, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Don S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulwrose R, Owner at Riverfront Chalets & Rafting Newfoundland, responded to this review, 3 October 2016
Thanks so much Don. Your kind words are very encouraging! It was nice meeting you and hope to see you again soon.
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Bank, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2016

The cottages were lovely, and roomy A-frames, but they didn't sleep as many as expected. 2 double beds and a mattress for the floor. there were 2 sofas as well, but they didn't pull out. So in a pinch, it could manage 8 maybe, though it was short on bedding for more than 6. That said, they were lovely. Full kitchens. Nice jacuzzi tub too. Only one bathroom tho, but it was HUGE.

The grounds are really nice. Firepit, horseshoes, hot tubs, beautiful view of the river.

The rafting was fun, we did the "low impact" version because we had younger kids with us. In retrospect we should've done the more whitewater trip.

Beware the internet tho, as they have limited bandwidth, and if I recall, they charge for excessive use.

Finally: food. You're a way out of Grand Falls-Windsor, so bring groceries if you're staying more than one night.

Room Tip: The cottages are all essentially the same, with the same views, etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moosepic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulwrose R, Owner at Riverfront Chalets & Rafting Newfoundland, responded to this review, 1 September 2016
Hi how are you? Thanks for all the nice compliments! I am glad you had a nice time here and on the river. I am curious though as to how many people were at your chalet? We advertise the chalets are comfortable for four (and our prices are based on four) but 6 is possible if people don't mind using the mattress in the closet. Were you expecting the chalets to be larger? I am assuming you were in number 4 chalet because all the pull-outs in the others were replaced this season. Incidentally we just replaced the couch and loveseat in number 4 this morning so all new furniture here now....and no pull-outs. We supply bedding for 3 beds if required but in the few special cases that we allowed more than 6 in a chalet, like a kids birthday party, extra people supplied their own bedding and sleeping pad. 4 is a great rating and I am proud to get it but curious why the service was rated 3 as you didn't mention anything about service in your review? You can call me if you like on my personal cell 290-9978.
Thanks so much!
Joy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridlington
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 August 2016

Absolutely loved this, wish we could have stayed longer. The rafting, the river jumping into the rapids (and swimming), the hot tub, the BBQ and the fire pits in the evening all made this an unforgettable few days. I will definitely be back next year.

Room Tip: They are all beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TillyTheTruffle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulwrose R, Owner at Riverfront Chalets & Rafting Newfoundland, responded to this review, 26 August 2016
Thanks so much. It sounds you took it all in and really enjoyed yourself! Looking forward to your return. See you then!
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2016 via mobile

Great day on the Exploits River! Ton of fun for the whole family. Guilds are awesome,informative and just plain chill! I would certainly recommend for everyone! Great value for your dollar. Can accommodate large groups.

Stayed August 2016, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Cabrini F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Riverfront Chalets & Rafting Newfoundland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverfront Chalets & Rafting Newfoundland

Property: Riverfront Chalets & Rafting Newfoundland
Address: TCH at Aspen Brook | 20 KM West, Grand Falls Windsor, Newfoundland and Labrador A2A 2K2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Grand Falls Windsor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Grand Falls Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each of our four fully serviced 4.5 star chalets have a jacuzzi, corner shower, leather furniture, full kitchen, two bedrooms, pull-out leather queen size couch, wall-mounted flat-screen television, satellite, DVD player, wireless internet, a private deck and BBQ , and access to our outdoor 6 person saltwater, self cleaning hot-tub.In the winter we offer guided snowmobile tours, snowmobile & snowshoe rentals, and in the summer guided whitewater rafting adventures on the Exploits River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity.ca so you can book your Riverfront Chalets & Rafting Newfoundland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverfront Chalets & Rafting Newfoundland Grand Falls Windsor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing