We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect - John has thought of everything!”
other travellers have booked this property
Primary view of Cabin - late Summer evening
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Primary view of Cabin - late Summer evening
Cabin in Winter Living Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
80 reviews
Primary view of Cabin - late Summer evening
Cabin in Winter
Living Room
Dining, Kitchen & Entrance
Kitchen
Loft 2
Bathroom
Loft Bedroom - queen Bed
Loft Bedroom # 2
Loft Bedroom # 3
Loft view over the living room
Front Garden and Meadow Flowers
Front Deck, side garden & setting
Entrance (autumn)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Field, Yoho National Park, Kootenay Rockies, British Columbia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 80 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
soccertra...
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Perfect - John has thought of everything!”
Reviewed August 20, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

When my teenage son said he wanted to hike to the Burgess Shale in Field, BC, I was excited at the idea but was unsure about what kind of accommodation we would find in such a small town. Well, did we luck out. My son, his friend and I stayed two nights at this adorable cabin and the owner John is the nicest guy who has thought of everything to make his cabin a pleasure to stay in. The laundry facilities were a gift after our muddy hike up the mountain and the well-stocked kitchen made it an ease to cook in. Though we paid a bit more than if we had stayed in a multi-room lodge or hotel, it was well worth it - and the location was right at the mouth of the Mt. Stephen trail! I would recommend this rental in a heartbeat. Just book early. I think I booked in March for the August trip and there were only a couple days to pick from!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Laundry and the decor
Liked least: Open concept of the bedroom
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 25, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
FiveEleme...
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect holiday retreat for two”
Reviewed July 8, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We loved our stay at this brilliantly equipped,quiet cabin in Field , one of the nicest places we've stayed in

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ricefamil...
Verona, Kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Perfect cabin in beautiful setting”
Reviewed July 3, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Thrilled at our decision to rent this cabin. It was even better than the pictures/description! We arrived just after sunset to soft music and mood lighting...how thoughtful. The cabin was so cozy and had everything we needed for our 5 night stay. John was extremely helpful and friendly. Field is convenient to many tourist spots and, important to us, countless hiking trails. We will remember our visit to Banff and our stay here for years to come.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: wood stove at night, bear sighting in back yard, heated bath floors
Liked least: crunchy (air dried) bathroom towels and not having more
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron W
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A must stay location.”
Reviewed June 20, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

This was the ideal stay over for us. A home away from home with everything you could want. Ideal location for us, it was quiet, close to Banff and other attractions. John the owner is very pleasant and helpful, this is great value and a must stay in a quaint, quiet little town.

Highly recommended and would not hesitate staying again.

Ron & Vikki Salamander Bay Australia.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Thhe property
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Reviewed March 9, 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
skiergirl...
Buffalo
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Perfection”
Reviewed February 23, 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We love everything about the Burgess Lookout Cabin! It is exquisite! The decorating is beautiful, the hardwood floors are wonderful, the bed so comfy, and the kitchen well stocked. There is even a cheese grater and coffee grinder! The view out the window is beautiful, and the town of Field is so quaint and friendly. The cross country skiing is unbelievable, and I miss is already! I just got home tonight, but couldn't wait to write about the wonderful week we had! John is so nice to work with and we count him as a friend since we have stayed at this cabin other years. Life in a fairy tale for a week! I hope to return sometime in the next few years.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing