We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never Again!!”
Review of Truffle Pigs Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Field
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Truffle Pigs Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Field
Reviewed 27 September 2011

I think we had the hottest room in that place. I will say the room was clean and nicely decorated, other than that I can't say anything else. For the price you pay ($385.00 for 2 nights) they could at least offer you a free cup of coffee in the morning. When we ask about that the girl at the front desk said to use the coffee pot in our room. Well guess what, It was broken. Also when I booked the room I was told they had free wifi ,well no they didn't. It was $5.00 for 1hr or $10.000 for 24hrs. Even if you did get the wifi you couldn't get it in your room you had to go out into the parking lot. What's up with that??? Never again!!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annaohio013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (281)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

224 - 230 of 281 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2011

...and they almost got it.
Stayed a few nights here recently. The rooms appear to be remodeled lately, and they look, well, remodeled but not quite there yet. Everything is brown/tan. A little depressing. Can't see very well in the bathroom. No way to cool room except to open the window to the sounds of the CPR railroad but got used to that. Could clearly hear the upstairs room plumbing operating. Price was high but other places in town were high too.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeanbeanK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2011

We stayed here on September 5th, 2011 - we enjoyed our stay at Kicking Horse Lodge. The kids meal at the Truffle Pigs Bistro was excellent. The room was pretty much standard and clean and the town of Field BC is lovely surrounded by mountains. The Beds were SOFT and Comfortable. (good quality matresses).

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dani2223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

We recently stayed 2 nights at the Kicking Horse Lodge. This is a lodge that has excellent broad ideas but the details are lacking. At $180 per night, the rooms are not inexpensive. They had the basics but overall it was underwhelming and overpriced for what you get.

Our room was clean and updated. The queen beds were actually doubles. There was no hair conditioner, hair dryer, ironing board or iron and the turn down chocolates apparently are only left out on the first night! It wouldn't take that much to make this a more memorable experience (like their restaurant -see separate review) by adding bathrobes, toiletries that weren't dispensed out of a metal container, a T.V. that didn't have a 12 inch screen, and just some mountain charm.

The front desk service was friendly but rushed because they were performing other duties (tending bar and serving customers in the restaurant). Also, don't call between 11:30 a.m. and 4:00 p.m. because they are too busy to take your call.

Knowing that they get a lot of outdoor sports enthusiasts, we would recommend considering adding a hot tub. Note: All the 'B' rooms are below grade and we believe should be at a different price point.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YYC_traveler_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011

Stayed at this hotel on July 29, 2011. We awoke at 1:30AM to the smell of smoke and the noise of the fire truck and firemen. There was a fire in the storage area close to our room. After two hours of noise and smoke we finally went back to a nervous sleep. GET THIS, at no time did anyone in the hotel alert any of the guests about the fire!!!! You would think from a safety aspect, the guests would have been notified. This is a old building and fire can spread very quickly. The next morning I overheard the front desk lady talking to a guest and she said "three minutes later and the whole place would have been on fire" so, what to you get from that comment?

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Kumite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2011

While we didn't stay at the Kicking Horse Lodge, we did eat at the Truffle Pigs Bistro and did try their "famous" Buffalo Burger, with their 'home-made' relish. The only adjective to describe this burger is "Delicious" and at a price of approximately $14 (with your choice of sides) this meal can be considered as value for your money, particularly since Field BC is a depopulated former mining town, with only a few services for the locals and tourists alike. Tourism and a "unique way of life" play a significant role in the economy of the town and as a result Field itself offers a number of B&Bs that are open to the tourists who come to Yoho to camp, hike and climb. And other than a couple of other nominal eating establishments, the Truffle Pigs Bistro is the "preferred game in town".

Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
Thank global_pov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

We had stayed at the Kicking Horse once before, but not since it was purchased and renovated by the people who own the Truffle Pigs Cafe (see separate review), which is now on the lower level of the Lodge. The kitchenette rooms still had a slightly subterranean feel, but ours was spacious and we got good use from the cook top and fridge. The regular queen lodge room we stayed in for one night was more elegant, but just as clean and comfortable. The desk staff (when you can find them) were excessively laid back by our standards, but eventually got the job done.
Field, BC is a small, charming railroad town (train noise is not a problem anywhere unless you're a super-light sleeper), much preferable we think to the expense and crowds of Lake Louise, close to Yoho NP and the Icefields Parkway. The prices at the Horse are in line with other places in Field, and economical when compared with Lake Louise. Now if only we hadn't had to pay an arm and a leg for internet access.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sudbury9122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Field
11.0 km away
The Great Divide Lodge
22.0 km away
Mountaineer Lodge
Mountaineer Lodge
#4 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,439 reviews
19.7 km away
Deer Lodge
Deer Lodge
#5 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 km away
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
21.7 km away
Lake Louise Inn
Lake Louise Inn
#3 of 5 in Lake Louise
3,105 reviews
6.1 km away
Emerald Lake Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Truffle Pigs Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Truffle Pigs Lodge

Address: 100 Centre Street, Field, Yoho National Park, British Columbia V0A 1G0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Yoho National Park > Field
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Field
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 12 room post and beam hotel/lodge in the heart of Yoho National Park, Field BC. Home of Truffle Pigs Bistro and Lounge: award winning and nationally and internationally acclaimed eclectic bistro. This is a unique family run property in the thick of the rocky mountains that is unpretentious, comfortable, welcoming and human. The staff is likewise : energetic, passionate and professional. This property is a fantastic family hotel, romantic outdoor couples mecca, a hikers hang out and a skier friendly lodge that is minutes from some of Canada's most prestigious ski hills and mountain destinations. Winter is cozy and tranquil & summer is relaxing and chaotic: an atmosphere unlike any other in the Canadian Rockies and not to be missed. Rooms are clean and spacious, freshly renovated and affordable. The property has free parking, WiFi, coin laundry, games room, manicured gardens and immediate access to mountain terrain. Cell service is now available in Field. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kicking Horse Lodge And Truffle Pigs Bistro Hotel Field
Kicking Horse Hotel
Kicking Horse Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing