We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad experience, unprofessional management”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Great Divide Lodge
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Field
Reviewed 4 March 2012

We booked this because of an advertisement we saw at the Lake Louise Ski hill. It was for a stay and ski for $89. When we called we were told they had sold out of the $89 rooms and could only give us a $99 room. When we got there, only one other couple was staying at the lodge and checked out the following morning.
When we came back from skiing we asked what the difference was between the $89 rooms and the $99 rooms and was told that the more expensive one had hardwood floors and a bigger tv, the cheaper room had carpet but everything else was the same. We were told the bathrooms were renovated, but it looked like it was from the 1970's and there were chips in everything. So we asked if we could have the $89 package because no one else was there and we were told that the $89 rooms were unavailable because they were being renovated.

We asked to have the difference of the money back from the room for our stay and they agreed to do it for one night and then said they would move us to the cheaper room which was apparently available now. They gave us a new key and told us we could move after dinner. While we were having dinner they came and told us they would let us stay in the room we were in and just give our money back for one night.

While at dinner the manager was in and our talking to staff about signing for something and the staff were talking about how it was unfair and they were being ripped off, which i thought it was unprofessional for the manager to be discussing this and creating arguments in front of paying guests.

One of the staff was very unfriendly and rude, and one was very apologetic and trying to do everything she could to help us. There were staff complaining about other staff and it was a very unwelcoming environment.

While it is good value to stay for about $20 per person per night as buying a lift ticket is $80 on the hill, i feel like i got screwed over by this place and would much prefer to spend the extra money to stay in a much better hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Penpen5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (188)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

125 - 131 of 188 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2012

This lodge is a good compromise if you are looking for a budget accommodation located about 15 km on the highway from extremely touristic (and expensive) Lake Louise. Rooms are no frills and very basic, but clean; bathroom had "pea green" washbasin and bath tub (somewhat 70's fashioned!) but water was hot. We did not eat at the lodge restaurant as we preferred to have breakfast on our room balcony overlooking the mountain and the lake on the parking/highway opposite side. Staff was friendly and helpful when we had a problem with our key. In the reception area there are two computers with internet connection you can use for free. On the whole, a pleasant place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank worldcitizen31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

This is the perfect ski lodge. Within a couple of hours drive of 6 major ski clubs.
It is located in the remote Yoho National Park. The beauty and tranquility of the mountains surround you. Sandy and Cathy are the perfect hosts, ensuring your stay is friendly and comfortable.

Room Tip: Request a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

This lodge has received some very negative reviews over time, which I think is absolute rubbish. If I am paying $99 for a ski and stay package, I am not expecting a 4 star hotel with all the amenities. yes, this the rooms are basic...but they are perfect for those who are on a budget and want to get out of the city, enjoy a night in the mountains and hit the slopes. This place is affordable, located in a beautiful setting and is beyond perfect for those looking for budget accommodations. As a bonus, the staff, management and owners are all fabulous people willing to go the extra mile to ensure your stay is memorable, relaxed and fun. I recommend the Great Divide Lodge to anyone, and in fact....we are booking our next stay very soon!

Don't worry Great Divide...hopefully we can set the record straight and cure these "Trip Advisor Blues"

You get what you pay for

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whitem82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

We received ski passess and two nights stay at the great divide lodge as a xmas gift but were definately skeptical about the place after reading these reviews. When we arrived we were given our mountain view room. It was a basic room, what I would expect from a hostel, it was clean, quiet, one queen sized bed, old school bathroom and a small tv. That was it, on hardwood floors. After seeing it I thought this isn't ideal, perhaps they have an upgrade. So I asked the very friendly staff if they had any suites, and they did and he said do you want to take a look, and I took a look and it was wayyyy nicer. They are $17 more per person/night, but they are like 10 times the room. They were a nice rustic room, that you would expect to stay in out in the mountains. It had a nice flatscreen tv, leather couch(that also pulls out) a cool fireplace, and a loft where the queen sized bed was. We managed to negotiate a couple of our dinner passes(that we knew we wouldn't use) for the upgrade and the staff were more than accomodating. We stayed there two nights and really enjoyed it. It was quiet, clean, comfortable, the couch was comfy, nice sheets on the bed. it was a really great experience. We also had breakfast there, it was good and cheap($6 for a hot breakfast with eggs, sausages, hashbrowns and toast) and we had dinner there one night and it was surprisingly delicious,and there is a bar with some decent beer on tap. Honestly, the staff were friendly, and if you stay in a suite you will really enjoy your stay. I would recommend this for the ski package, but not the regular rate. We would go back. They only have about 6 suites, so try and book ahead those if you can:)

Room Tip: Do not stay in a basic room for the price(at least not in ski season) in summer it might be more rea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danielle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2011

We needed somewhere cheap to stay, there are 6 in our family and we wanted to ski and watch the WC womens DH skiing. We had a suite this included two queens on another floor and a sofa bed on the base floor with a full bath suite, tv, wifi and fire. The suite was clean and comfortable, I think it was located above their pool so no noise from any where was heard all night. We also paid ahead for dinner and breakfast, the staff were very friendly and helpful, our meal was superb the server was excellent. Breakfast was plentiful and we were all happy, we also received 6 ski passes which were included and the next day was fun on the slopes. We would def go back again. There was also free coffee, hot chocolate etc to help yourself too.

Room Tip: Pick a suite that faces the back nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

We stayed one night. What a mistake. All the hotel staff had a party in the room below us till at least 2:30am. (all 10 of them). We finally fell asleep from driving nearly 10 hours. Yelling, screaming, loud music, and running on the trans canada highway in the middle of the night, where traffic was slamming on the brakes to avoid them..probably thinking they were some kind of animals!!UNREAL!!! When we went to check out I asked for the manager...who said " well, sometimes that happens" I couldn't believe it!! I told her that i would be posting my comments on tripadvisor to warn others!!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank jdog1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Field
10.2 km away
Deer Lodge
Deer Lodge
#5 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,753 reviews
12.2 km away
Mountaineer Lodge
Mountaineer Lodge
#4 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,428 reviews
9.7 km away
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 km away
Lake Louise Inn
Lake Louise Inn
#3 of 5 in Lake Louise
3,038 reviews
13.0 km away
Emerald Lake Lodge
11.8 km away
HI Lake Louise Alpine Centre
HI Lake Louise Alpine Centre
#5 of 10 in Lake Louise
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Great Divide Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Great Divide Lodge

Address: Hwy 1 - 14 km (9 mi) W of Lk Louise | Yoho National Park, Field, Yoho National Park, British Columbia, Canada (Formerly West Louise Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Yoho National Park > Field
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Field
Hotel Class:3 star — The Great Divide Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the Kicking Horse Pass and Continental Divide in the heart of the Canadian Rockies. We are the gateway to 3 of Canada’s national parks and over look Wapta Lake on the British Columbia side of the majestic Canadian Rockies. We're just 10 minutes from the world class skiing and snowboarding at Lake Louise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your The Great Divide Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Great Divide Hotel Field
West Louise Hotel
West Louise Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing