We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Spot-on for our first Wedding Anniversary” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cathedral Mountain Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cathedral Mountain Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Calgary
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Spot-on for our first Wedding Anniversary”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2011

Contrary to other reviews on here, we really enjoyed our two night stay.
We were in a premier cabin which was situated in the middle of the complex (cabin 15).
The cabin was very roomy with rustic lodge-style decor. It came equipped with a small fridge, coffee/tea making appliances and a wood burning fireplace which made the cabin very romantic and homely. The balcony was West facing which caught the late afternoon sun.
There are a few seats situated down by the Kicking Horse river which is a 30 second walk away.
Breakfast was average given the price but it was enough to get you through until lunch, although the coffee was a tad weak.
The noise from Highway1 and the train is very minimal at best so nothing to complain about there.
--> Agree with other reviewers RE: Google Maps location - it's actually on the road to Takakkaw Falls and not in Field itself.
We ate at the lodge restaurant on the Saturday evening and we had a stunning meal for a very reasonable price given their location (~$150 for beers, wine, appies & entree's for two).
Ask for their extended beer list as they have some great specials and maybe even some in stock that are not on the menu - our waitress brought me a Fat Tug IPA, brewed in BC, that the kitchen staff had lurking back there.. fantastic!

Room Tip: Try book one of the cabins leading out onto the river for the most privacy & best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DodsYYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    259
    126
    54
    20
    8
See reviews for
91
291
9
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Sussex
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2011

Stayed for one night on 10th September. Great location, no problem with noise, OK the railway is not far away up the mountainside and occasionally you can hear the distant sound of a train but very atmospheric when you realise the spectaculay journey it makes through the pass and the spiral tunnels. Excellent position by the river with lovely path access to the riverside. No TV or computers.... great! Dining room and breakfast very good but evening meals overpriced although good.

Google maps shows the wrong position, look at the hotels own web site and use their directions.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SussexDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2011

WRONG LOCATION BY GOOGLE!!! The Google location is of a cemetery in Field, only accessible by authorized Government vehicles. The actual location of the Cathedral Mountain Lodge is 4km east of Field, on the north side of the Trans-Canada Highway. Use the same entrance as for the Kicking Horse Pass Campground. Very poorly marked! The actual lodge is quite nice, but NOTE the limitations! No kitchenette, stove or microwave. No telephone in room (cell service is awful), no TV or DVD. Only one very expensive restaurant on-site. No activities on-site. "Free Canoeing" is at least 1.5 hour drive away. Great for people who want to hike, bike, birdwatch, read a book ... and NOTHING else!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2011

We stayed at Cathedral Mountain for 3 nights in mid-September, in a deluxe King. We really considered our stay perfect, and couldn't have asked for anything better. The cabin was well-appointed, staff very friendly, and the food was superb.

I see many complaints about noise. Perhaps we were lucky with the placement of our room, but we heard neither highway, nor generator noise. We were located about halfway back in the property, and on the side furthest from the highway/train. We heard nothing other than the rustling of leaves from our veranda. It might be worth checking into when you make a reservation, asking about the placement of your cabin on the property. We had #22, and had no problem with sounds.

We had dinner twice, and reall enjoyed it. One meal was quite a bit better than the other. I would give 4/5 stars for the quality of the food, and 5/5 for the ambience...beautiful dining room looking out toward the river. The breakfast was fantastic, and was about as good as you will get for a "continental" breakfast.

We would definitely stay there again when in Yoho!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AGSinTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ancaster
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2011

The cabins are lovely. We had a wood burning fireplace and sitting area and it is not hard to get used to the quiet, especially if you have been off hiking all day. It is quite pleasant to be away from the television and computers. The cabins all have front porches which are perfect for sitting down and having a nice glass of wine after all the climbing and walking.
The diningroom in the main building is rustic and beautiful. There is a great fireplace there as well with couches for relaxing. All in all, we found the property very pretty and everything was very clean and well maintained. The staff were very nice as well.
That being said, we will not go back again. As other reviewers have mentioned, there are downsides;
The lodge is located between a side road by the mountain on one side and the river and highway and train tracks on the other. You do hear the train. The cabins are very close together.There is nowhere to go on the property other than wandering down by the river but then if the 4 or 5 chairs that are provided are taken you are out of luck to sit and enjoy the view.
If you are active and went out to the Rockies to climb and hike and be on the go all day then this is not the place for you. The breakfast is all starches. On the 3 days we were there, the hot item provided was either pancakes, porridge or french toast. You will never get any bacon or ham and the eggs were always hard-boiled and cold. The coffee is the weakest we have ever tasted. If you like a hot cup of tea you will be out of luck as they put out the hot water in a thermos carafe and it is never hot enough, ditto the coffee.
You might think that having the breakfast included in the cost of the cabin is a bargain but in this case we would rather have paid and had a decent breakfast with real hot coffee or tea. Dinners were fine, not outstanding for the price.
All in all, as has been said before, you are not getting what you pay for here. It is definitely overpriced for what you get, as previous reviewers have mentioned. We would suggest reading the reviews very carefully. I regret we did not do this.

Room Tip: Avoid cabin right beside main lodge as not as private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank colleen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

As with so many other places you could stay in Yoho and the Lake Louise area, the law of supply and demand has skewed the cost/value equation seriously to the side of the supplier. Sure the accommodations are clean and comfortable. But, come on...$300 for a 10 foot by 12 foot half a "log" cabin, all thirty of them furnished from the same page of the LL Bean catalogue (complete with mandatory snow shoes hanging on the wall), and all of them jammed so close together that there was no sense of privacy whatsoever??
OK, that said. The good part is the restaurant. It was a real pleasure to find in this otherwise barren land a truly versatile and creative chef, who delighted us with every dish. This restaurant would be a winner in any city.
The bigger surprise was eating the following day at The Truffle Pig in "downtown" Field, which delighted us equally with the quality and variety of its offerings. But Truffle Pig has been well reviewed, while this little gem seems to be under-appreciated by other tripadvisors.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hrd2pleez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
168 reviews
158 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2011

Cabins are of a very high standard, although like a previous reviewer we had to change cabin due to a smell of gas. It might be worth specifying a wood burning stove cabin to avoid this.
The location is very good to access the trans Canada highway to Lake Louise, Field and Golden, but a small downside of a little highway noise when sitting outside only.
On the food side the included breakfast is really good and varied, but the restaurant did not live up to expectations. Our meal was lovingly described but nowhere near as special as suggested.
The luxury comes at a high price but we found it worth negotiating (for a mid September stay).

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Field
17.6 km away
Post Hotel & Spa
Post Hotel & Spa
#1 of 5 in Lake Louise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
17.9 km away
Mountaineer Lodge
Mountaineer Lodge
#3 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,147 reviews
15.7 km away
Deer Lodge
Deer Lodge
#5 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 km away
Emerald Lake Lodge
15.2 km away
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
20.0 km away
Moraine Lake Lodge
Moraine Lake Lodge
#2 of 10 in Lake Louise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cathedral Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cathedral Mountain Lodge

Property: Cathedral Mountain Lodge
Address: 1 Yoho Valley Road | PO Box 40, Field, Yoho National Park, British Columbia V0A 1G0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Yoho National Park > Field
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Field
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cathedral Mountain Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy our Timber Frame lodge located in stunning Yoho National Park on the banks of the Kicking Horse River; providing unsurpassed guest excellence and attention to detail while surrounded by the lovingly re-claimed Douglas Fir post and beams. If you love the great outdoors but also love luxurious comfort, Cathedral Mountain Lodge is your perfect Canadian Rockies destination. Allow us to indulge all of your culinary senses at our Riverside Restaurant and Lounge, featuring Western Canada's best in-season regional cuisine, complimented by our diverse well-crafted wine list. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Cathedral Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cathedral Mountain Hotel Field

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing