We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's 2011, figure out your internet situation already.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sunchaser Vacation Villas at Riverside
Reviewed 10 August 2011

The condos were average--not particularly worthy of praise or critique. The pool was nice and the general grounds were well cared for. I rated the place only 3 of 5 because a reliable and fast internet connection is important to me as clean sheets and warm water. Some may not agree but I like to be able to stay connected. The internet was unusable from my condo and poor, at best, in the lounge/check-in area. I've had better rooms at Holiday Inn. I still don't understand why people buy time-shares.

Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
2  Thank putsinker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (197)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

178 - 184 of 197 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2011

We spent a week at this resort along with my parents, nephews, and brother and his wife. We rented three Hillside units, two which were full sized units and one that was a smaller unit overlooking the pool. We stayed in the 8000 building. This building is perfect if you want to be close to the pool but if you want quiet 24/7 try their Riverside units. I found tripadvisor to be very confusing prior to coming to this resort as the resort has four properties: Hillside, Riverside, Riverview and I think there is a Mountainview. The only units close to the pool are called Hillside. However Hillside is not close to the clubhouse which houses a small indoor pool and hot tub, games room, hobby room, gym, play room, and movie room. They have DVD's for rent also in the clubhouse.

There are golf courses galore in this area and the villa's overlook a beautiful one. There is a restaurant that is decent in price and also a golf shop. There are a couple of playgrounds for the kids and scheduled activities for all ages. Also in Fairmont you will find a small but expensive grocery store, and of course the hot springs. You can try hiking to one of the pools on your own and not pay any money or you can visit the pay pool which is a must. Show your hotel room key and get a small discount. Note: the pool says absolutely no shoes of any kind but kids were wearing pool shoes here. The bottom of the pool is quite rough and so is the hotel pool. Our two young kids both ended up with cut feet after swimming for a short period of time. So pack your pool shoes.

Also, a great day trip is to visit Ft. Steele which is an hour away. Another must see. One thing we found with Fairmont is that the weather changes every half hour or so. So don't wait for the weather to be just perfect otherwise you will miss out on many adventures.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Caro281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2011

We love this place. Have a time share in Fairmount. Go there every winter for our family ski trip and soak in hot spring. We have two boys. Absolutely love our time in this resort.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CalgarySummer2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2011

We stayed at the Sunchaser Villas (formerly Fairmont Vacation Villa),through my mom's RCI timeshare exchange, in June 2011 and absolutely loved it!!! We stayed in the Riverview villas, which are the newest villas, and it was absolutely gorgeous!! Each room is either an A or a B. We stayed in the A side. If you have an option, or get to choose, I highly recommend the A side, as you have a private balcony that overlooks the golf course. It was great!!! The B side has a front balcony that overlooks the parking lot, but it is not a private balcony, it is in the open beside the walkway that everyone takes to get to their rooms. And the A side, from what we understand, is a bit larger of a unit. The only drawback about staying in the Riverview villas, as opposed to the Riverside or Hillside villas, is that you have to go back onto the highway and drive across a small bridge, and turn into where the resort and amenities are. There used to be access to the resort on a path through golf course, but the golf course has now put up a fence to stop guest from using that path for safety purposes. So if you have small children it may be easier to stay in Hillside villas (next to water park & playground), or Riverside villas (next to rec centre and playground). But if you want to be away from the hustle and bustle, Riverview is the place to be if you don't mind the small inconvenience of getting to the rec centre, playgrounds etc.

The resort and amenities are terrific!! The outside waterpark is quite large and looks like so much fun, but unfortunately it was undergoing maintenance and was not open, but there is an indoor pool (a little small), and a few hot tubs, both indoors and outdoors, plus the Radium Hot Springs and Fairmont Hot Springs aren't far away. There are 2 playgrounds, and there are tons of crafts and activities you can sign your little ones up for! As well, there are so many programs and activities running for adults and families to sign up for. You can be as busy as you want, or relax as much as you want.

We highly recommend this resort and will definitely be returning again and again!!

Room Tip: Ask for a unit with a private balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank 24Magoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2010

We had a great time, did the promoional sales, as we stay every year anyways and though about buying. We are not going to buy and just continue to exchange. The sales staff and sales manager were so ignorant and rude I would never give them my money. Mountainside is Rustic but quiet, Riverside is big and relaxed. Riverview is new and more like an apartment. but still nice. Staff are always helpfull. This is more of an outdoor vacation place. The town is a little quiet unless you drive to Inveremere or Cranbrook.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank widos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2010

If you are an RCI member and exchange into the Fairmont Vacation Villas, this is NOT really an RCI Gold Crown resort despite what RCI pretends. We booked a 2-unit (2 bedroom lockoff). The units were OK but the entire resort is surrounded by private homes, some of which are just being built. The windows to the units don’t open (they’re not made to open) so you either open the doors (and invite in mosquitoes) or you run a noisy window-unit AC. There are light penetrating shades on the windows but they don’t block out the light so exterior lighting at night keeps the rooms illuminated and the sunshine’s in your bedroom at sunup. The indoor pool, sauna, and spa were all out of service.

The building we were in was undergoing renovation so in addition to being woken up daily at 7 AM by construction equipment literally outside our window, we couldn’t open the doors or run the AC or sit on the unit balcony because of the backloader/bobcat diesel fumes and construction noise. The pictures of the resort are not entirely accurate. There is some nice landscaping but the condo buildings are surrounded by pavement and parking for cars – think Motel 6 or Days Inn.

Judging by our experience, Fairmont Villas Resort management is indifferent to complaints or requests from guests for any kind of resolution. In a nutshell, they don’t care and they don’t follow through.

We read some other negative TripAdvisor comments about this resort and figured people were just being overcritical. Actually, those critical reviews are not inaccurate. For instance, there is one nearby grocery store and the prices are high ($5.75 for 4L of milk, $7.00 for OJ, $12 for a 6-pack of ordinary beer plus a $1.20 “chill charge”).

The resort writes on its literature that “Our mission is to provide an exceptional vacation and experience for our owners and guests.” Our experience couldn’t be further from this mission statement. Why house guests in a building which is undergoing renovation?

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank GPA3818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2010

1.Waterpark on property was closed,no repair work being done. There is no other outdoor pool.
2. Room was on the 3rd floor, no elevators
3. Activity center for Hillside units closed
4. CONSTRUCTION WOKE US UP AT 7:30AM
5. No safes
6. No electronic locks, makes you wonder who else has a key?
7. Kitchen has a bar sink, can't even fit a plate in it.No oven, old 4 burner stove top
8 Shared laundry, not "in unit" as advertised
9.Television set is so small can't see the screen across the room
10. Baseboard heat
11. All blinds are bent & broken. Does not keep out sun. No drapes anywhere
12. Jetted tub didn't drain, shower head put out a trickle of water
13. Play area is dangerous for small children
14. No nightstands in bedroom, almost no drawer space
15. No counter in bathroom, no storage for toiletries.
16. Front desk doesn't care if you are booked for one week & check out after 2 nights because of all of the above issues.

Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
6  Thank TravelConnoisseurs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fairmont Hot Springs
0.9 km away
Fairmont Mountainside Vacation Villas
Fairmont Mountainside Vacation V...
#1 of 4 in Fairmont Hot Springs
139 reviews
22.6 km away
Best Western Invermere Inn
35.8 km away
Best Western Plus Prestige Inn Radium Hot Springs
Best Western Plus Prestige Inn R...
#5 of 22 in Radium Hot Springs
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.4 km away
Copper Point Resort
Copper Point Resort
#1 of 3 in Invermere
1,609 reviews
1.5 km away
Fairmont Mountain Bungalows
Fairmont Mountain Bungalows
#2 of 3 in Fairmont Hot Springs
53 reviews
35.4 km away
Bighorn Meadows Resort
Bighorn Meadows Resort
#6 of 22 in Radium Hot Springs
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunchaser Vacation Villas at Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunchaser Vacation Villas at Riverside

Address: 5129 Riverview Gate Rd | Highways 93 & 95, Fairmont Hot Springs, British Columbia V0B 1L0, Canada (Formerly Fairmont Vacation Villas)
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Fairmont Hot Springs
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Fairmont Hot Springs
Price Range: $91 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sunchaser Vacation Villas at Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunchaser Vacation Villas At Riverside Hotel Fairmont Hot Springs
Fairmont Vacation Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing