We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

““Riverside/Riverview/Hillside-DIFFICULT CHECK-IN”” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunchaser Vacation Villas at Riverside

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Fairmont Hot Springs
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sunchaser Vacation Villas at Riverside
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
““Riverside/Riverview/Hillside-DIFFICULT CHECK-IN””
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2011

We stayed at Hillside. It was very nice classy looking resort and the staff were friendly and helpful. We had a problem right off the bat, we couldn't find the joint for over 1 1/2 hrs. We didn't know the Vacation Villas was behind the Riverside Golf Club sign on HWY 93/95. We had to ask around. Finally we find the resort but then the check-in area isn't marked with signs and that all three resort areas use one central check-in building. It was at night when we arrived and all three areas also share with the golf course which added to the confusion. The whole area is several square KM's!! We kept driving up and down through the Hillside Villas looking for the check-in office when all the time it was in the Riverside Villas. I included with the review a map provided by the hotel, recommend you take a look as it make first time visitors have a better check-in.

Point of interest, the two bedroom units come with a fireplace, cook oven and a jet tub but the one bedrooms don't. We do get free in suit laundry/local telephone calls, central vacuum, cook top range, microwave, fridge, coffee maker, dishwasher, patio gas BBQ, two CRT cable TV's, WiFi and a walk through bathroom.
Sept. 30th they close the heated outdoor swimming pool no matter what and the indoor is in the check-in building, a 5 minute walk. The exercise room is also in the check-in building. The public hot springs is a 5 minute drive across HWY 93 to the Fairmont Lodge. Bring your room key for $1 off the $10 price per person. You really have to read through the literature to find that piece of triviality. The hot springs have a diving board, swimming pool and very warm wading pool.
Nobody mentions the WiFi till you get there either. This could be because the signal is weak as it is broadcast from another building, probably the Rec. Centre. It did work although I was kicked off a few times due to weak signal. I just stuck a coat hanger under the laptop and was able to view movies.

Saw deer that sleep on the grounds at night. Invermere has the only canoe rentals for two hours on Lake Windermere under Invermere's main town bridge. Bring snow tires or put tire chains that fit in the trunk, unnecessary for early October but it is the law in British Columbia; Oct. 01 to April 30th. Nobody mentions this piece of triviality, ever. Never the less, we enjoyed ourselves, nice break from city life.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank mrwebber35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    75
    33
    12
    15
See reviews for
74
57
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2011

We stayed across the river in the 8000 building. The unit was modern and very spacious, with a very comfortable king bed, big jacuzzi tub, granite/stainless steel, etc. Very nice. Being across the river, we had to walk on the highway to get to the rest of the resort and it would be nice to have had a walking trail around the premises. We enjoyed golf at the resort and other courses in the area with our discounts from the front desk. We found the resort staff to be very friendly and accommodating. We were on the ground floor and our neighbors above were jumping all day long. The resort staff took care of it right away for us. The hot springs is "so-so" for the price of $10 each. We preferred the rustic Lussier Hot Springs for free at Whiteswan Provincial Park, and had a great time visiting with others there. The best part of our experience at this resort is that we were not "hounded" by time share sellers. No phone calls, no requirements to set an appointment prior to getting our parking pass (really, this has happened to us).... nothing. That alone made our stay a wonderful time and we will come back.

Room Tip: The 8000 building is the newest, and apparently the most modern. Stay in this building if you don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank travbug98501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
118 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2011

Fairmont Springs is an interesting area, but the resort and condos were very average. Our one bedroom unit was tired and needed a complete makeover. The sofa in the living room in our unit was awful and the mattress in the bedroom wasn't great - my wife woke up when I moved around during the night.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SD3212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2011

We stayed in the Hillside Villas (4000 building) which is across from the swimming pool and within walking distance of the Riverside Golf Course.

The villa - was clean but a little on the small side for a family of four with two teenagers. There was a king size bed and a pull out sofa (which of course was not very comfortable). A foam topper is offered so would recommend that you ask for it. Most kitchen supplies were provided, however, the cutlery and dishes were only for four persons. If you plan on eating in for every meal, you will probably have to do the dishes each time but there is a dishwasher in the unit. There is also a washer and dryer just outside the unit which came in very handy. Soap for the dishes, dishwasher and washer is provided.

Wireless Internet - very frustrating in the unit (not much better in the lobby area). It was very hard to connect to the internet and even if you did get on it was very slow and kicked you out quite often. It had kicked me out three times since I've started writing this review.

The grounds - well maintained and beautiful surroundings. Tennis courts near the lobby are in very good shape. There is also a place where you can play volleyball and basketball. Pool is nice but only went there once. You can't bring your shoes to the pool deck where you sit - you have to leave them in the change room or as some people did, just outside the change room. You wouldn't think this was a problem but my Nike sandals (left outside the change room near the pool) were stolen the first day of our stay. On that same day, another person's Nike sandals were also stolen. His were left inside the change room. Management was notified but they did nothing about the situation.

Golf - we golfed at the Riverside, Mountainside and Creekside (short 9 hole course) golf courses for $99 which was a great deal as it included golf carts for the larger courses.

Hiking - close by and the resort offers guided tours.

Biking - we rode to Columbia Lake. Would recommend using mountain bikes and not hybrids (especially if you're on the trails).

River Rafting - went on a full day trip on the Kootenay River for $100/person. If you are with the resort you get a 5% discount with Kootenay River Runners. Was good value for the money (you get a snack and lunch and are out there all day) but would have liked more exciting rapids (you have to go in June or beginning of July for that). There scenery is beautiful and it's very peaceful on the river.

We would stay at the Sunchaser Vacation Villas if we come back to Fairmont but would stay in a 2 bedroom instead.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cindy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaysville, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2011

The condos were average--not particularly worthy of praise or critique. The pool was nice and the general grounds were well cared for. I rated the place only 3 of 5 because a reliable and fast internet connection is important to me as clean sheets and warm water. Some may not agree but I like to be able to stay connected. The internet was unusable from my condo and poor, at best, in the lounge/check-in area. I've had better rooms at Holiday Inn. I still don't understand why people buy time-shares.

Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank putsinker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
British Columbia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

We spent a week at this resort along with my parents, nephews, and brother and his wife. We rented three Hillside units, two which were full sized units and one that was a smaller unit overlooking the pool. We stayed in the 8000 building. This building is perfect if you want to be close to the pool but if you want quiet 24/7 try their Riverside units. I found tripadvisor to be very confusing prior to coming to this resort as the resort has four properties: Hillside, Riverside, Riverview and I think there is a Mountainview. The only units close to the pool are called Hillside. However Hillside is not close to the clubhouse which houses a small indoor pool and hot tub, games room, hobby room, gym, play room, and movie room. They have DVD's for rent also in the clubhouse.

There are golf courses galore in this area and the villa's overlook a beautiful one. There is a restaurant that is decent in price and also a golf shop. There are a couple of playgrounds for the kids and scheduled activities for all ages. Also in Fairmont you will find a small but expensive grocery store, and of course the hot springs. You can try hiking to one of the pools on your own and not pay any money or you can visit the pay pool which is a must. Show your hotel room key and get a small discount. Note: the pool says absolutely no shoes of any kind but kids were wearing pool shoes here. The bottom of the pool is quite rough and so is the hotel pool. Our two young kids both ended up with cut feet after swimming for a short period of time. So pack your pool shoes.

Also, a great day trip is to visit Ft. Steele which is an hour away. Another must see. One thing we found with Fairmont is that the weather changes every half hour or so. So don't wait for the weather to be just perfect otherwise you will miss out on many adventures.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Caro281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2011

We love this place. Have a time share in Fairmount. Go there every winter for our family ski trip and soak in hot spring. We have two boys. Absolutely love our time in this resort.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CalgarySummer2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fairmont Hot Springs
0.7 km away
Fairmont Mountainside Vacation Villas
Fairmont Mountainside Vacation V...
#2 of 4 in Fairmont Hot Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
22.5 km away
Copper Point Resort
Copper Point Resort
#1 of 3 in Invermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,293 reviews
35.4 km away
Bighorn Meadows Resort
Bighorn Meadows Resort
#5 of 22 in Radium Hot Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Fairmont Mountain Bungalows
Fairmont Mountain Bungalows
#2 of 3 in Fairmont Hot Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
30.3 km away
Panorama Mountain Resort
37.1 km away
Panorama Vacation Retreat at Horsethief Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunchaser Vacation Villas at Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunchaser Vacation Villas at Riverside

Property: Sunchaser Vacation Villas at Riverside
Address: 5129 Riverview Gate Rd | Highways 93 & 95, Fairmont Hot Springs, British Columbia V0B 1L0, Canada (Formerly Fairmont Vacation Villas)
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Fairmont Hot Springs
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Fairmont Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 116
Also Known As:
Sunchaser Vacation Villas At Riverside Hotel Fairmont Hot Springs
Fairmont Vacation Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing