We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (37)
Filter reviews
37 results
Traveller rating
25
10
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
25
10
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews grizzly bear beautiful view black beans hot tub base to explore stayed here relaxing stay sunshine coast celia stan upstairs balcony canada hosts ferry garden
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 37 reviews
Reviewed July 30, 2018

We stayed here overnight on a trip around the Sunshine Coast Circle and it was lovely. Our upstairs bedroom, the Grizzly Room, had its own balcony and views over the bay.Our hosts, Stan and Celia, were very knowledgeable, recommended places of interest to visit the next day, and friendly. They were prepared for our early arrival and ensured it was trouble free. Breakfast on the balcony was perfect and our stay was topped off with glimpses of a deer with her fauns, as well as 2 racoons in the large cherry tree in the garden. The bed was comfortable, the bathroom spotlessly clean and the room was spacious. Sadly, we didn't have sufficient time to enjoy the hot tub.

Room Tip: Ask for the upstairs, Grizzly Room - it has its own balcony and great water views.
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Beachpipi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bbgirlbc, Owner at Arcturus Retreat B&B, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2018

Thank you so much for staying with us. Next visit we'll be sure to save time for the hot tub. Maybe next time you'll get to see the black bear....he was in the plum tree just a few days after you left. Hope you enjoyed the rest of your BC trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 22, 2018 via mobile

Nice view, nice people, not my cup of tea, these folks did there best to make our stay comfortable, even came into Gibsons to pick us up when we missed our bus stop. I just can’t get my head around the sticker price, $168. / night.
Needs a a fair bit of work to justify the price.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Stephen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 5, 2017

From the moment we arrived we were made to feel welcome and everything was explained about how to get the best out of or short stay. The location is close by to the ferry with great views and was easy to find and very convenient as a base to explore further along the Sunshine Coast

Room Tip: Ask for the Grizzly Bear room for best views in the morning
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Howard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bbgirlbc, Owner at Arcturus Retreat B&B, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2017

Thank you for your kind words. We hope you enjoyed your North American adventure!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 7, 2017

We very much enjoyed our stay at Arcturus. Given our choice of rooms, we opted for the upstairs Grizzly Bear room and were so glad we did. Great views of the islands and mountains from up there.

The hosts were very welcoming and happy to help us with dining suggestions. Celia's breakfast was excellent and presented with care. We took advantage of the hot tub -- a nice way to relax after a few days of hiking the Sunshine Coast Trail.

At the end of our stay it was super convenient to drive down the hill right to the ferry dock. We waited only about 10 mins before boarding!

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Brandon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bbgirlbc, Owner at Arcturus Retreat B&B, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2017

Thank you for your kind words. It was a pleasure to visit with both of you! Come again when you can stay longer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 16, 2016

Let's see ... easy to find, easy parking, easy to get in, spacious, great view, well equipped, friendly hosts. Excellent breakfast, prepared and presented flawlessly, if just a little on the large side (which is apparently the standard for B&Bs). Fair price. Good beds, with reading lights (yay!)

Three of us took the upstairs as a unit, which worked very well for us. The larger bedroom had an ensuite with shower and a walk-through closet area. The smaller had its own batrhroom too (with tub/shower), although it was across the library loft space between the rooms. That space had a couch and two chairs, where we read in comfort for a while. We could have used the main floor as well, or the huge back deck.

The hot tub was easy to use, clean and set at an ideal temperature. Very pleasant after a hard day hiking. Towels and flipflops provided.

This place is a little bit out of Gibsons, just above the ferry terminal. But it's a short and very simple drive into town and we didn't find it the least bit inconvenient.

Let's see, there must be SOMEthing wrong with this place. OK, yes, I'll give you one thing. The larger bedroom had a window with no covering, and if we hadn't been conked out from exhaustion the early summer light *could* have been a problem. And at that, the door to the closet area covered most of it when opened. I'm going to say that this minor flaw is cancelled by the thoughtful provision of a night light for the ensuite.

Recommended.

Room Tip: Two units upstairs are ideal for a 2+1 group
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank kawaguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bbgirlbc, Owner at Arcturus Retreat B&B, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2016

Thank you for your feedback. We are very happy that you enjoyed your Sunshine Coast getaway. Hope to see you again for more hiking and exploring.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews