We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lake Front and Beautiful”
Review of Sunflower Inn B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Christina Lake
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sunflower Inn B&B
Reviewed 28 October 2012

Was here in the off season (early October 2012) so can't comment on high season, but it was beautiful when we were there. Rooms are large with a sitting area and the lower level rooms open onto a deck that is lake front - literally a few steps from the lake - which is of course absolutely beautiful. We just stayed overnight which was took bad because it looked like a place you could really settle in for a few days! The room was stocked with some quality books, movies and magazines. Very clean. Bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was wonderful - fresh orange cranberry scones, frittata, fresh fruit. Only complaint was the coffee - we are very particular coffee people so like a good cup of strong starbucks type of coffee in the am - way too weak and not flavourable beans at all. Wondered about this because I saw an espresso machine on the counter? At any rate, I certainly wouldn't down rate the place because of that - coffee if our particular thing but probably not the general population! Highly recommend the place - would be perfect for a family get together.

Room Tip: Bottom level rooms have access to the lakefront
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JLMmj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (56)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 56 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2012

I decided to stay at the Sunflower Inn to enjoy BC a little bit more before I continue my journey back home to Montreal. It was fantastic. Great location, superb views, nice hikes and lots more. The sun deck was very relaxing. Huge and delicious breakfast. Very comfortable and cozy rooms. Super clean. Everything that you need is there. Had a great time !

Room Tip: All rooms are great, just depends on your needs and how many people you are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fannyaontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

We experienced a lovely and restful weekend at the Sunflower Inn - swimming & canoeing in the warmer waters of Christina Lake. The spacious room was quiet and what a gorgeous view to wake up to each morning! Delicious breakfasts prepared by owner Kathleen & served on the upper decks each morning, gave guests a opportunity to chat & swap tips on lazing away the last days of summer. Kathleen's suggestion of an impromptu bonfire on the beach for dinner was really fun and was just another example of her charming hospitality and willingness to make our stay memorable.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

For 8 days in July we rented a RV site from Kathleen (owner of the Sunflower Inn), just down the road from the BB. We had a beautiful full serviced lot with a deck. It had wonderful tree's for shade and an open space to allow sunshine during the afternoon. We also had a fire pit which we used every night. Just a short walk away we had full access to the private beach, with a dock, slide and diving board. Kathleen was a wonderful host, she gave us a tour of the BB and offered to cook us breakfast one morning if we wanted to take a break from cooking. We also had access to the lower deck overlooking the ocean to use her WI FI. There are 3 beautiful rooms, each having its own bathroom. I would recommend the BB for a wonder, peaceful, relaxing stay, or for the camper, the wonderful, private woody RV site.

Room Tip: For a couple, the Sage room is perfect, you have a patio door right onto the lower deck and a view o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eddine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

Made an overnight stay on our way down to the American border and were very sad we could not stay longer. Lovely log cabin style property on the very edge of Christina Lake. The verandah was so close to the water, we could swim off the steps. Wonderful to be able to cool down with a quick swim on our arrival and very peaceful sitting on the verandah early in the morning watching the birds flying. Able to get a very good take away supper at the local sailing club just down the road and breakfast on the verandah was extremely good with our very pleasant and interesting fellow guests. Our stay was far too short and we would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 7CarolC7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

An outstanding bed and breakfast. We drove through the rain from Kamloops, only to arrive at Sunflower B&B at Christina Lake in sunshine and were able to get in a quick kayak paddle before meeting some friends for dinner. Despite ‘not ideal’ weather, we had a wonderful time thanks to our host Kathleen and because her B&B is clean, comfortable, and delightful! We awoke in the morning to a delicious multi-course breakfast that definitely filled us up, and the conversation was always interesting and informative. We went for wonderful hikes, including one up to a local waterfall. The B&B is right on the lake and the view is wonderful. Everything you could possibly need is right there – lake access, food storage, a deck, a dock. We were in the bedroom upstairs which was magnificent – clean, very roomy, and oh so comfortable – and the bathroom was the size of a ballroom (even if you don’t care about that, it is really nice). We did see the other two rooms before the guests arrived and they too were fabulous. Try the short drive to Grand Forks for lunch or dinner. We would definitely go back to Sunflower B&B and can highly recommend this gem of a B&B.

Room Tip: Seems all three rooms are great, just a consideration of needs and preferences.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Babs0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2012

We stayed at Christina Lake on our trip from Waterton National Park to Kelowna and so pleased with our choice. The Sunflower Inn B&B was in a perfect location on the lake shore and we had difficulty leaving the peaceful deck overlooking the water. We had the best night's sleep listening to the water lapping beneath the window and the breakfast Kathleen, our delightful host, prepared was delicious and hearty. Loved the log structure of the home and the incredibly peaceful setting. We thoroughly recommend Sunflower Inn for one night or one week to recharge your batteries.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kswitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christina Lake hotels
4.8 km away
New Horizon Motel
New Horizon Motel
#3 of 6 in Christina Lake
117 reviews
5 km away
Park Lane Resort & Motel
Park Lane Resort & Motel
#2 of 6 in Christina Lake
58 reviews
6.8 km away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#1 of 6 in Christina Lake
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 km away
Christina Lake Village
Christina Lake Village
#4 of 6 in Christina Lake
61 reviews
4.9 km away
Totem Motel & Resort
Totem Motel & Resort
#5 of 6 in Christina Lake
26 reviews
4.9 km away
Blue Mountain Lodge
Blue Mountain Lodge
#1 of 5 in Christina Lake
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunflower Inn B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunflower Inn B&B

Address: 159 Alpine Rd, Christina Lake, Grand Forks, British Columbia V0H 1E1, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Grand Forks > Christina Lake
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Christina Lake
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A lakefront log home situated on English Bay in Christina Lake, BC, Canada. The Sunflower Inn B&B offers three guests units that have ensuites or a private bathroom. Each unit has queen size bed(s) with duvet(s). There is a lower level deck with lounges and chairs for guest use, a guest fridge, a microwave and a private dock for swimming. Hiking and biking trails are close by, the Kettle Valley Railway Trail is one of them. Golf packages are offered. Wifi is available. Kayaks, canoe and paddle board are available for a fee. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sunflower Inn B&B Christina Lake, British Columbia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing