We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
TeresaLee13

Great place to stay

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Aug 27, 2018via mobile
We stay here for a week on our annual family summer vacation.The room was very clean. The air conditioner worked amazing which was a huge bonus. The owners are super friendly and very helpful. Will definitely stay there again.
Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Newhorizonmotel, General Manager at New Horizon Motel, responded to this review
Responded Sep 1, 2018
Thank you, it's been busy and crazy summer from beginning of May after the flooding. We feel sory for who lost thier homes and busineses. I'm glad the fire is over, and the fire crews are checking out today, thank you for a great job. Thank you RCMP, Hydraclean, Sttuders, DNR, SPL, and all the tourists who stayed with us. You've broke our record again even with flooding and fire, and still on going.
Thank you very much again on behalf of New Horizon Motel and have a great fall and winter.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Winter getaway
C$150
C$130
  • Priceline
    C$130
  • Agoda.com
    C$150
  • Vio.com
    C$130
0.4 km from New Horizon Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$195
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    C$195
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$195
  • Tripadvisor
    C$195
0.4 km from New Horizon Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
2 queen beds in renovated rooms
C$142
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    C$142
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$140
  • Hotels.com
    C$142
2.4 km from New Horizon Motel
C$115
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    C$115
  • Agoda.com
    C$115
  • Vio.com
    C$115
0.0 km from New Horizon Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Luna Bed & Breakfast
C$159
C$142
  • Expedia.com
    C$159
  • Hotels.com
    C$159
  • Priceline
    C$142
16.9 km from New Horizon Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$145
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    C$135
  • Hotels.com
    C$135
  • Priceline
    C$145
17.9 km from New Horizon Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$99
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    C$99
  • Agoda.com
    C$99
18.3 km from New Horizon Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$149
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    C$149
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$147
  • Hotels.com
    C$149
19.2 km from New Horizon Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$156
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
  • Booking.com
    C$156
  • Expedia.com
    C$156
  • Tripadvisor
    C$156
29.1 km from New Horizon Motel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Christina Lake
Reviews (123)
Filter reviews
123 results
Traveller rating
80
29
5
2
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
80
29
5
2
7
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 123 reviews
Reviewed August 7, 2018

Due to circumstances beyond our control, we had to cancel our reservation for the weekend. It was with approx. 1 weeks notice. We had it booked for 3 nights and were told that we would have to take it for 2 nights or cancel and be charged for one night. I'm not sure how that is even legal. I'd understand if you were to cancel with less than 24 hrs. notice but with days notice? When asked why we were not told of this when booking the response was "because you didn't ask". Not professional and we would never use this facility and deal with this rude staff again.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Service
Thank JudyL1264
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Newhorizonmotel, General Manager at New Horizon Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2018

Yes, it is legal because it says right on your confirmation, "If cancelled or modified up to 14 days before the date of arrival, no fee will be charged. If cancelled or modified later or in case of no-show, first night will be charged." Please read or ask about the cancellation policy before you book with us or any other motels. We do have a minimum stay of 2 nights on the weekends of Jun, July, and Aug, so you can not stay one night on the weekend, and I did not have to tell you that because you've originally booked for 3 nights. We are super busy with the flooding and three other motels closed, so we can not be flexible with modifying or cancellation for this summer. Please choose another motel who can be very flexible for your changes or cancellation. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 1, 2018 via mobile

This is a clean fairly priced motel at the lake. Our room had two queen beds and a big room with good air conditioning. I had a couple of problems that prevent me from giving it a very good rating. First when we returned to our room for the evening we couldn’t find the remote for the television and we went to call the front desk and our phone didn’t work. Breakfast isn’t what it used to be when they had cereals and milk. With a little attention to details they could do better.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 606KennyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Newhorizonmotel, General Manager at New Horizon Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2018

We've finally decided to get rid of our phone system, because almost everyone has a cell phone these days. And I don't know why, but people take those remotes, and we've missed replacing it. We never had milk or cereals for our continental breakfast in 5 years that I've worked here, even previous owner did not have them, only because of limited space that we have in our breakfast room. Sorry for any inconvenience, and thank you for a good review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 31, 2018

This hotel is well located and priced right for the area. It is an independent hotel and the owner does his utmost to make feel welcome! The rooms are large and clean. I had a Kitchen and it was stocked well.

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank s_w9mm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Newhorizonmotel, Manager at New Horizon Motel, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2018

Thank you for staying with us and see you again next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 9, 2018

We booked a block of rooms for 16 of us for a weekend golf tournament. We stayed 2 nights. Thanks Luke for making sure we had everything we needed and making our weekend special. The rooms were clean and spacious and we made good use of the barbecues and patio furniture. We will definitely stay there again next year and would highly recommend the New Horizon to others. Thanks again Luke. Well done.

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BritishColumbiaHappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Newhorizonmotel, Manager at New Horizon Motel, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2018

I thank you for your group, it was my pleasure to have you with us. Right after you, we had flooding in Grand Forks, some in Christina Lake, but it is now over, we are back to normal business. Thanks again for staying with us. See you next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 26, 2017

We stayed for 7 days and stayed in the newer section at the rear of the motel. The staff at the motel (Luke) was so friendly and informative about the area. The breakfast was limited but good enough to start your day. The rooms were very spacious and clean, but as others have commented the sheets were rough. The room itself was terrific and met all our needs, gas barbeque, with patio furniture, and quiet surroundings, it was all there. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and wouldn't hesitate to stay there again, and have recommended it to friends

Room tip: Stay in the rear section of the motel
Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank fariwings
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Newhorizonmotel, Manager at New Horizon Motel, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2017

I'm not 100% sure who you are, but thank you for this great review and hope to see you again next time. Have a great fall and winter. Luke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews