We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Booking.com
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
eDreams
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
BritishColumbiaHappy
Penticton, Canada

Great Weekend Stay

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed May 31, 2019
This is the second year that our golf group of 16 guys stayed at the New Horizon. All of the rooms were clean and ready for us on arrival and the motel staff was friendly. We made good use of their outdoor area as we had a catered BBQ in the courtyard. We will be back again next year!
Date of stay: May 2019
Room Tip: Rooms at the back are newer.
Trip type: Travelled with friends
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Newhorizonmotel, Manager at New Horizon Motel, responded to this review
Responded Jun 14, 2019
Thank u for staying with us agian, and see you next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Winter getaway
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Official Site
    C$100
  • Priceline
0.4 km from New Horizon Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Official Site
    C$130
  • Hotels.com
2.0 km from New Horizon Motel
Free Wifi
Booking.com
    0.6 km from New Horizon Motel
    Expedia.com
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Hotels.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      C$299
    • Vio.com
    0.4 km from New Horizon Motel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    2 queen beds in renovated rooms
    Expedia.com
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Hotels.com
    • Booking.com
    • Priceline
    2.4 km from New Horizon Motel
    Lol.travel
      4.6 km from New Horizon Motel
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      Booking.com
      C$129
      Fully refundable
      • Hotels.com
        C$129
      • Expedia.com
        C$129
      • Priceline
        C$129
      19.2 km from New Horizon Motel
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      Autograph
      Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
      • Expedia.com
      • ZenHotels.com
        C$148
      • Hotels.com
      29.1 km from New Horizon Motel
      Free Wifi
      Restaurant
      Twilight
      Expedia.com
      Get rewarded with One Key
      • BestWestern.com
        C$117
      • Hotels.com
      • Booking.com
      29.2 km from New Horizon Motel
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      View more hotels in Christina Lake
      Reviews (123)
      Filter reviews
      123 results
      Traveller rating
      80
      29
      5
      2
      7
      Traveller type
      Time of year
      LanguageAll languages
      Traveller rating
      80
      29
      5
      2
      7
      See what travellers are saying:
      Selected filters
      Filter
      Updating list...
      4 - 9 of 123 reviews
      Reviewed May 8, 2019 via mobile

      No hot water told owner he didn’t care didn’t offer different room. My dog found and old dog chew under a side table in the front room . Room was stuffy and smelled of old cigarette smoke and dead flies on the main windowsill. Plus we had to wash our drinking cups and coffee cups so we didn’t get a $20.00 charge on our credit card . We used to stay every beginning of the season when the parents owned the hotel this would have all been unacceptable. We were given $20 off for no hot water 🙁

      Date of stay: April 2019
      Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      Thank cindyr903
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Newhorizonmotel, Manager at New Horizon Motel, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2019

      Sorry about the hot water, I did not know about it before you told me. We had a big water leek from the tank, so we had to change the hot water tank after that weekend. Again I apologize for what happen.

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed October 24, 2018 via mobile

      This motel is clean but old. I stayed here in October expecting breakfast in the morning. Although the website boasts continental breakfast EVERY morning, it is only available from May to September. This should be made clear.

      Date of stay: October 2018
      Trip type: Travelled solo
      Thank louisecX2934HZ
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Newhorizonmotel, Manager at New Horizon Motel, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2018

      Yes, continental breakfast is available from May to Sep, but there is a price drop of $10~20 when there is no breakfast, and some people prefer that. Sorry for any inconvenience. Thank you for staying with us.

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed August 27, 2018 via mobile

      We stay here for a week on our annual family summer vacation.The room was very clean. The air conditioner worked amazing which was a huge bonus. The owners are super friendly and very helpful. Will definitely stay there again.

      Date of stay: July 2018
      Trip type: Travelled with family
      Thank TeresaLee13
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Newhorizonmotel, General Manager at New Horizon Motel, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2018

      Thank you, it's been busy and crazy summer from beginning of May after the flooding. We feel sory for who lost thier homes and busineses. I'm glad the fire is over, and the fire crews are checking out today, thank you for a great job. Thank you RCMP, Hydraclean, Sttuders, DNR, SPL, and all the tourists who stayed with us. You've broke our record again even with flooding and fire, and still on going.
      Thank you very much again on behalf of New Horizon Motel and have a great fall and winter.

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed August 7, 2018

      Due to circumstances beyond our control, we had to cancel our reservation for the weekend. It was with approx. 1 weeks notice. We had it booked for 3 nights and were told that we would have to take it for 2 nights or cancel and be charged for one night. I'm not sure how that is even legal. I'd understand if you were to cancel with less than 24 hrs. notice but with days notice? When asked why we were not told of this when booking the response was "because you didn't ask". Not professional and we would never use this facility and deal with this rude staff again.

      Date of stay: August 2018
      • Trip type: Travelled on business
        • Service
      Thank JudyL1264
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Newhorizonmotel, General Manager at New Horizon Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2018

      Yes, it is legal because it says right on your confirmation, "If cancelled or modified up to 14 days before the date of arrival, no fee will be charged. If cancelled or modified later or in case of no-show, first night will be charged." Please read or ask about the cancellation policy before you book with us or any other motels. We do have a minimum stay of 2 nights on the weekends of Jun, July, and Aug, so you can not stay one night on the weekend, and I did not have to tell you that because you've originally booked for 3 nights. We are super busy with the flooding and three other motels closed, so we can not be flexible with modifying or cancellation for this summer. Please choose another motel who can be very flexible for your changes or cancellation. Thank you.

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed August 1, 2018 via mobile

      This is a clean fairly priced motel at the lake. Our room had two queen beds and a big room with good air conditioning. I had a couple of problems that prevent me from giving it a very good rating. First when we returned to our room for the evening we couldn’t find the remote for the television and we went to call the front desk and our phone didn’t work. Breakfast isn’t what it used to be when they had cereals and milk. With a little attention to details they could do better.

      Date of stay: August 2018
      Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      Thank 606KennyG
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Newhorizonmotel, General Manager at New Horizon Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2018

      We've finally decided to get rid of our phone system, because almost everyone has a cell phone these days. And I don't know why, but people take those remotes, and we've missed replacing it. We never had milk or cereals for our continental breakfast in 5 years that I've worked here, even previous owner did not have them, only because of limited space that we have in our breakfast room. Sorry for any inconvenience, and thank you for a good review.

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      View more reviews