We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bella Coola Grizzly Tours Inc.
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great experience ”
Reviewed 16 August 2016 via mobile

We had a trip booked with Leonard and it was amazing. We had a wonderful day. The scenery in this area is just breath taking. Lunch was provide which was delicious. Totally recommend going on this outing.

Really felt safe on the boat, as not a very good sea traveller.

Stayed August 2016, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    3
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
9
14
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nanaimo, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2016

The cabin was fantastic. Fully stocked kitchen, woodstove, plenty of wood available for guests. The views from the front porch of our (and presumably all) cabin was spectacular.

We were unable to go out on a boat tour but Leonard and his daughter Shannon took us on a tour around looking for grizzly bears. As the salmon were spawning there was a good chance we could see one. Wasn't meant to be...we were about a month early, there are a few around but most were still up in the mountains filling up on berries. Leonard knows his stuff! He taught us about the bear habitats, took us to prime possible viewing locations, showed us where some bears had bedded down. Very interesting!

I would absolutely recommend this place to anyone heading up to Bella Coola.

Thanks again Leonard and Shannon!

Room Tip: I believe all four cabins are the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ddowney1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimshaw, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2016

In July 2016 my partner and I were on our annual vacation, with the goal of photographing wildlife along BC Highway 20, from Williams Lake to Bella Coola. For flexibility, we used a motorhome for transportation and accommodation. We told our campground hosts at Gnome's Home (Hagensborg) that we really wanted to photograph grizzly bears but so far we had only one fleeting glimpse of a grizzly. They suggested that we talk to Leonard Ellis of "Bella Coola Grizzly Tours" for suggestions on where to find bears.

We drove over to see Leonard who listened intently to our requirements - bears (particularly grizzly bears) relatively stationary (probably feeding on salmon) with good lines of sight at a range of about 100 metres. We explained that we would need to set up our photographic equipment and stay put for several hours at a time in relative safety.

Leonard took special interest in our request and at his own expense and on his own time, drove us around to relatively remote sites. He showed us logs that a grizzly had rubbed bare, paw prints rubbed into the earth to mark territory and likely feeding spots, et cetera. We were very grateful for his expertise and his efforts to make our adventure as successful as possible. Leonard provided his services with no expectation of remuneration. However, my partner and I are so touched by his hospitality and generosity that we plan to return to the Bella Coola Valley in September to continue photographing bears. Rest assured that we will be hiring Leonard to guide us to more grizzly hot spots!

Without doubt our encounter with Leonard Ellis of Bella Coola Grizzly Tours was the highlight of our July vacation!

Stayed July 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank GeoTourist2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 July 2016

We stayed four nights at Grizzly Tours cabins, and really enjoyed the ambiance of the spacious, wood designed cabin and its excellent location. in Hagensbourg. Owner Leonard and his family were very welcoming and we appreciated their insight into the area's history, tourism, and wildlife. When we were unable to coordinate going on a boat tour with Grizzly Tours due to timing, we were pleased that his employee Megan helped us to find another option. Thanks, Leonard, for the evening bus tour and for the salmon! We will remember seeing those grizzly tracks in the forest that you showed us and also that old Namu bathtub!

  • Stayed July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
Helpful?
Thank Frances S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 26 July 2016

We booked a wedding with Leonard last summer. The cabins were clean and well stocked. Huge grounds with a good mix of old-growth and groomed lawn, great for photos with plenty of parking, unlimited tent sites. Nice pond and trails out the back.

The gazebo was AWESOME, we set up the sound, bar and buffet and there was still plenty of room to hang out around the firepit in the middle. On-site propane, crab/prawn pot and giant rotissere for your convenience.

If you are into planning an outdoor event with a real bc feel without 'roughing it', at a reasonable price, this is the place!

Our friendly, laid-back host went out of his way to accommodate us from setup to tear down. Thank you Leonard!

  • Stayed August 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wally S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swiss Alps, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2016

As a friends group with 6 people we booked this awesome tour with leonard and his team. very friendly stuff and so many cool things to explore. driving with the boat to different spots in between untouched nature to really hot springs, a huge red cedar tree, taking traps out of the ocean filled with fresh seafood...delicious!

i did a video from our tour if you want to see it click here:

https://www.facebook.com/kevin.troesch/videos/vb.1013911257/10207886589135323/?type=3&theater

Room Tip: lovely nature
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Enjoy611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Paul, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2016

We enjoyed our stay in Bella Coola very much to say the least; and Megan and Lennart are terrific hosts - gems of human beings. The cabins are very clean, cozy and romantic offering everything you need to survive in Bella Coola, with shopping close by. Let me tell you what made me giving a 5 star rating. First and utmost we came as strangers and left as friends! Second, if you decide to visit Bella Coola you should enjoy the outdoors, hiking, canoeing or kayaking, love and respect animals and not being afraid to deal with imperfect weather conditions like rain, sun and fog. Not being to scared by at times treacherous roads, trails and docks will help too. Come prepared with proper shoes, clothing and gear and book your trips ahead of time or better come in a group to make sure the trip you desire can be accommodated. But even if, be prepared to have an alternate plan, because weather and out in the woods bad luck can always strike with breaking down of equipment even if well prepared. And as you can imagine to get parts and repair to a remote location as Bella Coola can become a challenge. Grizzly tours equipment I like to assure you left a very good impression with me, we traveled in a seaworthy boat with all equipment working properly and back up systems available. And Lennarts years of experience and skills as a commercial fisher, guide and a true mountain man, capable of staying cool and organized in any situation are very comforting. If you are the type of tourist, who understands how to deal with this type of travelling, then you will experience Bella Coola as a place hard to beat. There are so many treasures to discover in this area if your eyes are willing to see. If you are the tourist who expects everything to run smooth, being served meals and adventures as effortless as possible: check with your travel agent, there are tons of destination offering just that. If you like to discover and find solitude and don't mind the challenge to get it, then trust me, you will agree Bella Coola is the place to be and Grizzly tours is a great choice. Thanks again to Megan and Lennart, the stay with you was a wonderful experience with great memories forever carved in our hearts.

  • Stayed July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rohnair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Bella Coola Grizzly Tours Inc.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Coola Grizzly Tours Inc.

Property: Bella Coola Grizzly Tours Inc.
Address: 1953 Mackenzie Highway 20, Bella Coola, British Columbia V0T 1H0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Bella Coola Valley > Bella Coola
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Bella Coola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bella Coola Grizzly Tours Inc. 2.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Private Log Cabins with sundecks and full facilities offer panoramic views of the Bella Coola Valley. Kitchenettes, wireless internet, satellite TV and very comfortable Beds. Close to all amenities and very spacious on our Beautiful 20 acre Resort property. Enjoy gathering around our Fire pit in the huge 75 foot Gazebo in the evening and join one of our Land or Marine Tours during the day. Guiding Guests in the Great Bear Rainforest for 35 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bella Coola Grizzly Tours Inc. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bella Coola Grizzly Tours Inc. Bella Coola Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing