We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bella Coola Grizzly Tours Inc.
Nearby Hotels
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cumbrian Inn(Bella Coola)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (41)
Filter reviews
41 results
Traveller rating
34
4
1
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
34
4
1
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsred cedarthese cabinsfull kitchenplace to staysupermarketscenerymountainsgazeboaccommodations
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 41 reviews
Reviewed August 18, 2016

Had an awesome voyage up the bentick arm to some natural hot springs. It was incredible. The captain and first mate were personable and very knowledgable. Megan was great with our toddler. The big cedar was super impressive

Stayed: August 2016
Thank Bryan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 16, 2016 via mobile

We had a trip booked with Leonard and it was amazing. We had a wonderful day. The scenery in this area is just breath taking. Lunch was provide which was delicious. Totally recommend going on this outing.

Really felt safe on the boat, as not a very good sea traveller.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 6, 2016

The cabin was fantastic. Fully stocked kitchen, woodstove, plenty of wood available for guests. The views from the front porch of our (and presumably all) cabin was spectacular.

We were unable to go out on a boat tour but Leonard and his daughter Shannon took us on a tour around looking for grizzly bears. As the salmon were spawning there was a good chance we could see one. Wasn't meant to be...we were about a month early, there are a few around but most were still up in the mountains filling up on berries. Leonard knows his stuff! He taught us about the bear habitats, took us to prime possible viewing locations, showed us where some bears had bedded down. Very interesting!

I would absolutely recommend this place to anyone heading up to Bella Coola.

Thanks again Leonard and Shannon!

Room Tip: I believe all four cabins are the same.
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ddowney1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 6, 2016

In July 2016 my partner and I were on our annual vacation, with the goal of photographing wildlife along BC Highway 20, from Williams Lake to Bella Coola. For flexibility, we used a motorhome for transportation and accommodation. We told our campground hosts at Gnome's Home (Hagensborg) that we really wanted to photograph grizzly bears but so far we had only one fleeting glimpse of a grizzly. They suggested that we talk to Leonard Ellis of "Bella Coola Grizzly Tours" for suggestions on where to find bears.

We drove over to see Leonard who listened intently to our requirements - bears (particularly grizzly bears) relatively stationary (probably feeding on salmon) with good lines of sight at a range of about 100 metres. We explained that we would need to set up our photographic equipment and stay put for several hours at a time in relative safety.

Leonard took special interest in our request and at his own expense and on his own time, drove us around to relatively remote sites. He showed us logs that a grizzly had rubbed bare, paw prints rubbed into the earth to mark territory and likely feeding spots, et cetera. We were very grateful for his expertise and his efforts to make our adventure as successful as possible. Leonard provided his services with no expectation of remuneration. However, my partner and I are so touched by his hospitality and generosity that we plan to return to the Bella Coola Valley in September to continue photographing bears. Rest assured that we will be hiring Leonard to guide us to more grizzly hot spots!

Without doubt our encounter with Leonard Ellis of Bella Coola Grizzly Tours was the highlight of our July vacation!

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank GeoTourist2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 31, 2016

We stayed four nights at Grizzly Tours cabins, and really enjoyed the ambiance of the spacious, wood designed cabin and its excellent location. in Hagensbourg. Owner Leonard and his family were very welcoming and we appreciated their insight into the area's history, tourism, and wildlife. When we were unable to coordinate going on a boat tour with Grizzly Tours due to timing, we were pleased that his employee Megan helped us to find another option. Thanks, Leonard, for the evening bus tour and for the salmon! We will remember seeing those grizzly tracks in the forest that you showed us and also that old Namu bathtub!

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
Thank Frances S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews