We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Well worth a visit” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bonnie View Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bonnie View Inn
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Haliburton
Certificate of Excellence
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2011

Stayed here for a week from the 9th of July to the 16th of July. Lovely location situated on a large lake with lots of water activities available. We had unbelievvably good weather, not sure how we would have filled our time if the weather had not been so good !

Nearby village of Haliburton is only ten minutes drive away.

We stayed in a 2 bedroom cabin with a pull out sofa bed in the living room. The cabin could do with a revamp the doors and windows had seen better days and the floor in the living room was near collapse. The fire surround had nails sticking out it at floor level so we stuck a rug over the nails for protection. However it was pleasant enough and the bug grilles were effective.

The Staff were very friendly and the sevice was good, There is a kids club in the evenings which allows parents to get a break from the kids and the kids to get a break from their parents !.

Food was on the whole very good.

We had a very pleasant stay at the Bonnie View and the our kids would like to make a return visit !

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WillieGarner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    30
    11
    4
    2
See reviews for
86
63
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2011

1.) Great food
2.) Relaxing by the beach
3.) Bike ride
4.) Hike
5.) Fishing
6.) Nice walk after dinner for me
7.) Kid’s club for my daughter after fun in the sun
8.) A place to practice shooting hockey pucks for my son
9.) Golf for my husband
10.) Close to Haliburton Village
11.) Close to my fav ice cream place in Minden

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Party_of_4_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2011

We stayed there for 3 days and it was a very pleasant one. The food is suprisingly very good, The staff is very friendly and accomodating, they will make sure that your stay is very enjoyable. Lot of stuff to do there and not too far from toronto. A very good getaway from the busy city life.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mightykobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Perry, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2011

My wife and two kids ages 14 and 12 went to Bonnie View Inn for the weekend.
The staff was really friendly and always willing to help make our stay relaxing.
Rooms are clean and the service was excellent. The food was really good !
Nice country feeling, we found the over all stay really peacefull.. Kids enjoyed all the water activities (paddle boats) I on the other hand enjoyed the nice quiet cabin. The dining room and bar were close and i liked the prompt service when ever i went into replentish my drink. All in all a really nice weekend that we all enjoyed. We will be going back for another visit mid summer iether with or without the kids.

Room Tip: Have the person at the desk help you choose .
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Longmont22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ajax, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2011

We spent out second Family Day weekend at Bonnie View and plan to make it an annual event. The cabin was cozy and the beds were comfy. There was an limited amount of wood to burn in the fireplace to keep us warm. The food is excellent with lots of variety and plenty of choices for the kids too. Andrea and Monty were very gracious hosts. There was entertainment on the Saturday and Sunday night (just a guy with a guitar-but it was a really pleasant surprise!) Everything just made the weekend really worth it. There was lots of things to do from tobogganing to skating to snowshoeing and skiing nearby at Sir Sams. Haliburton is really close too so to go into town takes no time at all. All in all we loved it. It's a great place to spend the weekend as a family! It almost feels like you're visiting Family instead of at a resort.
Can't wait to go back next year!!!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank theBrowns2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2011

Everything is relatively expensive up in this area, but I chose this place based on the other reviews and the "meal plan". They have a fine dining restaurant as part of the inn. They have accommodation packages that include dinner and breakfast for two. The two meals are probably worth $100 alone. The dinner includes appetizer, entree, and dessert. While the breakfast is a full-service (not-continental) one including fruits, toast, and a juice/coffee/tea.
That really makes the price deceiving (in a good way!). The restaurant here is very good quality and this makes all the difference.

The rooms are average, not like a real hotel in the big city, but sort of close to it.
The staff are very friendly. They try to accommodate you in all ways. On the website, they do boast a lot of amenities like ice skating, ice finish, show shoeing, and toboganning. I guess my expectations were too high.... the ice skating is just an bumpy outdoor rink next to the lake, the toboggan ride is a 25 yard slope (that is probably used as the drive-down boat ramp in the summer). those things are really no big deal though, but I do applaud the effort. They have board games, books, and DVDs for free borrowing too.

Overall, as I'm not really looking for luxury, I was very happy with this place. It has a homely, friendly, family, type of feel. If you're looking for hi-end luxury with impeccable decor, slick finishes, and poshiness, then this place is not for you.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank booyah27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2011

I am drawn to Haliburton for so many reasons, and for anyone who has been there I don't have to tell you why. If you love the outdoors and being surrounded by water and trees, it is the place for you I am not sure what my husband and I where expecting but it definitely surpassed what we may have predicted. It had the perfect amount of rustic qualities, while mainting a great level of service in every area. Andrea and the staff there did their best to accomadate all of our requests or inquires without hesitation. We where extremely impressed with the service and the food when dining. Each dish that we ordered was excellent. We genuinely felt very welcome and enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JWilliams77_64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haliburton
19.2 km away
Little Hawk Resort and Marina
Little Hawk Resort and Marina
#1 of 1 in Algonquin Highlands
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
1.9 km away
Pinestone Resort and Conference Centre
4.9 km away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#2 of 9 in Haliburton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Halimar Resort
Halimar Resort
#5 of 9 in Haliburton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
5.7 km away
Country Charm Bed & Breakfast
0.0 km away
Carriage Ridge Resort
Carriage Ridge Resort
#10 of 19 in Barrie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bonnie View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bonnie View Inn

Property: Bonnie View Inn
Address: 2713 Kashagawigamog Lake Rd, Haliburton, Ontario K0M 1S0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Haliburton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Haliburton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bonnie View Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bonnie View Inn Resort offers a unique blend of luxury and seclusion that symbolizes the Highland’s magic and magnificence. Our fabulous grounds situated on renowned Lake Kashagawigamog are just five minutes outside the village of Haliburton in the beautiful Highlands region. Bonnie View Inn is a unique Ontario Resort ideally suited for your family vacation or to host your next Ontario conference or meeting event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity.ca, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Bonnie View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bonnie View Hotel Haliburton
Bonnie View Resort
Bonnie View Inn Haliburton, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing