We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maritime charm and service.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Maple Shade Vacation Suites
Ranked #2 of 5 Sussex B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 August 2017

All three suites (one-bedroom, two-bedroom, and three-bedroom) have lots of room, and all the required amenities to be very comfortable and self-sustaining (internet, cable, A/C, laundry, fully-appointed kitchen, iron). The house is 1850's, the decor is antique, but it has been modernized where it needs (bathroom, kitchen). Thanks, Jack, for taking care of Greg, me, and our families. We'll be back.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Escape_Journeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (13)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 13 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2017

5 of us shared apartments 1 and 3 for a weekend of scrapbooking. The place is amazing, couldn't be cleaner. Being that it is January, it was cold out but the place was warm and comfortable. We had a snow storm sat night and Jack came to snow blow, he also cleaned off all our cars. Defineately apartment #1 is the cuter of the two, but I'd reccommend this rental to anyone. but I want to keep it quiet so it doesn't get too busy! lol

Room Tip: apartment #1 is the cuter out of the two we had rented
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Evelyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2016

Stay here annually for the Sussex Flea Market and have stayed in 2 of the 3 suites. Excellent location and very nice old architecture residence. lots of room and amenities. not wanting for anything. Landlord very pleasant and knowledgeable. did some cycling aroung a 5 covered bridge tour for 50kms so its centrally located as well. biking friendly as well. stay here anytime and plan to in future again.

Room Tip: very big rooms, old style architecture, all are good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank smarr309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2016 via mobile

I randomly found this place online while looking for a place to sleep that allowed dogs and I was not disappointed. We had the 2 bedroom suite and it was huge! It's in an old house and the decor was charming. It has every thing you need to make yourself at home (it even has a dishwasher). The owners are friendly and answered my many emails very quickly. Jack showed up on arrival and showed me how everything worked. I would highly recommend checking it out if you ever need a place to stay in NB. The only thing that bothered us was the lack of soundproofing, but it didn't prevent us to enjoy our (sadly very short) stay.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Joanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2016 via mobile

A old house with a lot of character that has been converted into large suites (including full kitchen). Comfortable accommodations and prices are very reasonable. Overall a great place to stay. I see it is for sale - hopefully will stay open for years to come.

Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
Thank Didi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2015

We travel to Sussex, NB yearly for the annual Flea Market. For the past 5 years we have been staying in local motels overnight in order to get an early start. When I tried booking a motel in June, the rooms were already taken so I turned to the Maple Shade. I booked the one bedroom suite for a one-night stay. We were so pleasantly surprised when we entered the suite on arrival. Not only did it have everything described in the amenities but it was far more spacious than we could have imagined. We had the entire upper floor which includes a large, well equipped kitchen, separate dining room, living room with 3 chairs and a love seat, flat screen TV and WiFi plus a land line for local calls. It was very clean and comfortable. We wished we were staying longer. In fact we want to book a 2-night stay in the fall and explore the area. The Maple Shade is located just off Main Street in downtown Sussex. I would highly recommend it. The owners do not live on site but all in the instructions you need are provided so don't be taken aback when you arrive. Just look for an envelope with your name attached to the door of the suite in which you are booked.

Room Tip: The one bedroom suite is on the top level, other two suites below were booked when we stayed and we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kitnkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2015

We stayed here for an evening while skiing at the nearby mountain. The suite was HUGE, fully stocked, so quiet and comfortable, and above all, amazingly priced! The home had such character, and we had an entire floor of a house to ourselves. We couldn't believe our luck. The owner was lovely and warm and gave us tons of suggestions of places to eat, (Which we didn't need to do, as the kitchen had everything we needed to make a meal there) and things to do. The location was perfect too. Super close to grocery stores and restaurants, and only 20 minutes away from the ski hill. We loved our stay here and are hoping to return again soon!

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank caddell17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sussex hotels
1.8 km away
Fairway Inn
Fairway Inn
#3 of 5 in Sussex
38 reviews
7 km away
Timberland Motel & Restaurant
1.5 km away
Amsterdam Inn Sussex
Amsterdam Inn Sussex
#1 of 5 in Sussex
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 km away
Pinecone Motel
Pinecone Motel
#2 of 5 in Sussex
62 reviews
1.3 km away
Jonah Place
Jonah Place
#1 of 5 in Sussex
100 reviews
0.7 km away
No photo provided
Brooks BnB
#4 of 5 in Sussex
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maple Shade Vacation Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maple Shade Vacation Suites

Address: 43 Church Ave, Sussex, New Brunswick E4E 1A1, Canada (Formerly Maple Shade Tourist Home)
Region: Canada > New Brunswick > Sussex
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Sussex
Price Range: $99 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Maple Shade Vacation Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maple Shade has 3 self-contained suites. Suite 1 is fully furnished and has 2 bedrooms, a full kitchen, living room, and 4 piece bathroom. This suite can accommodate 1 to 5 guests. Suite 2 is fully furnished and has 3 bedrooms, a full kitchen, living room, dining room and 4 piece bathroom. This suite can accommodate 1 to 8 guests. Suite 3 is fully furnished and has 1 bedroom, a full kitchen, living room, and 4 piece bathroom. This suite can accommodate 1 to 3 guests. Children welcome in all suites. Pets are welcome in all suites. Smoking is reserved for the outdoors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Maple Shade Vacation Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maple Shade Vacation Suites Sussex, New Brunswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing