We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The staff was great!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Surrey
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Surrey
Certificate of Excellence
San Gabriel, California
1 review
“The staff was great!”
Reviewed 2 March 2012

I've stayed here twice now. The staff was very friendly (maybe all Canadians are). It is an easy drive to the city center. I got upgraded both times I've stayed here which made it a very good value. I will definitely come back next time I'm working in the area.

Room Tip: If you have priority club use it and you may get upgraded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 467CharlesC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryl_N_GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Surrey, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
I'd love to believe that all Canadians are friendly! Regardless, I am truly pleased to read that you enjoyed our staff. They are very dilligent in honoring the Priority Club Platinum upgrades whenever it is possible and it is great to hear that it is appreciated when they are able to make that happen.
Thank you so much for spending some of your valuable time on sharing your great comments about our hotel. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Best regards,

Cheryl Neathway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    89
    25
    6
    7
See reviews for
81
51
17
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
1 review
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We stay here and it was excellent. We got a king size bed for a very cheap price and the staff was very nice.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vpuccini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryl_N_GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Surrey, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
We love our neighbours to the south, especially when they write such great reviews!
Thank you very much for taking time out of your day to submit your flattering comments, reading them is such a great way to start our morning.
It will be wonderful to welcome you back again.

Best regards,

Cheryl Neathway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 21 November 2011

We spend lots of time at this hotel for our childrens sports. The staff have always been exceptional, the rooms clean, the beds comfortable and the standard Holdiay Inn Express breakfast is a great addition. There is a pool and a hottub! The hotel is close to restaurants, shopping and a quick drive over the port mann bridge into Vancouver.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on the 4th floor! No one is above you
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryl_N_GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Surrey, responded to this review, 22 November 2011
We love to read great comments from our team travelers, thank you so much for your wonderful review! Your business is extremely important to us and we truly appreciate you choosing our hotel for your frequent stays in the Surrey area. We are thrilled that we are meeting your needs and will strive to continue to make you and your team members comfortable at our property.
Thank you again for taking the time to submit your positive review and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2011

I was there about the last week in June 2011. I was going river rafting and needed to stay between downtown Vancouver and Chilliwack. What a great staff. Everyone nice and friendly and there was a big park across the street. The hotel is about 20 miles from the US Border if you drive it is super easy to locate.
Very CLEAN!!! It can't be that old. It looks to be about 3 to 5 years old.
You can walk to a number of places to eat. In a safe area.
HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank icare4U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryl_N_GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Surrey, responded to this review, 28 October 2011
Sorry for the delay in responding to your great review, thank you so much for your fantastic comments. We are very excited to read that our location met your needs and you enjoyed your time with us, especially the last part of June when I think the weather wasn't that great. We hope you had so much fun river rafting that you come back and do it again or try out a different adventure (whale watching, zip-lining, rock climbing, so much to do) and stay with us again, we'd love to host your stay.
Thank you again for taking the time to post your review.

Best regards,

Cheryl Neathway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2011

The Holiday Inn chain (IC Hotels) maintains a uniformly good standard so there were no surprises here. You get a clean, well appointed room at a reasonable rate. There is no swimming pool, no restaurant, no bar, and none within walking distance but there is FREE Parking, FREE WiFI, and FREE breakfast. The big name 5 star hotel down the street charges for all of these. There is a shopping mall about 10 minutes drive away. Driving to Vancouver is a bit of a task at the moment due to the construction on the highway. Kudos to the front desk staff and to the breakfast lady for their helpful and good service!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NoThreePutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryl_N_GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Surrey, responded to this review, 7 October 2011
Thank you for the great comments in your review, our staff definitely appreciate the kudos.

However, this review will be instrumental in inspiring a quick coaching session at our front desk - we actually do have an indoor pool, whirlpool and sauna, there is a great pub 1 1/2 blocks away, and a restaurant right across the street. While we do place an information slip in our guests' key envelope that mentions the pool area and hours (along with the breakfast hours and wifi passwords so it is easy to miss) your comments illustrate a need to highlight these attractions more upon check in - I am so sorry you missed the opportunity to enjoy this amenity, it's a great pool area!

We also tend to forget that guests are often left with the impression that there is nothing close by thanks to the wooded area we are nestled in, so I believe we could do a better job of promoting our neighboring businesses that are much closer than you'd think.

I sincerely appreciate you taking the time to enter your great promo of the HIE brand and our hotel and staff, but thank you even more for giving us the inspiration to step up our game in promoting what our hotel offers and our surrounding businesses to guests upon arrival. Thank you ever so much and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellingham, Washington
1 review
Reviewed 2 October 2011

Overall, I've really enjoyed stayiing at this hotel. The beds are really comfortable, free full breakfast, indoor swimming pool, jacuzzi and sauna. The staff is also really friendly. The only thing that made it unpleasant this time around was the very strong smell of air freshener. It was a little nauseating at times. Usually, hotels are very good about avoiding strong fragrances for their patrons. They keep their rooms and hallways clean but avoid using products that might turn some customers away. This is the first time I've encountered this problem in any hotel. Even my friend who loves scents thought they poured air freshener all over the place. I had to run the fan all night. Would love to come again but only if the strong fragrance is no longer an issue. Too overbearing throughout entire hotel except in the pool area. Clean is fine, strong smell of any kind is not. By the way, the roomed seemed cleaned, but it was hard to tell since fragrances can mask cleanliness.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miriam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryl_N_GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Surrey, responded to this review, 4 October 2011
First, I wish to thank you very much for your great comments about our hotel.
Secondly, I want to sincerely apologize for any discomfort felt from the extra spraying of air freshner that occurred during your time with us. That was an isolated incident that was quickly addressed as you were not alone in feeling overwhelmed by the scent. While doing an "extra deep clean" of the public areas a staff member believed extra boosts of freshner was part of the process. It is unfortunate that it may have been perceived as covering up a lack of cleanliness when it was in fact an attempt to highlight how truly clean the property is kept. I assure you that it will not happen again and hope you will come and enjoy all of the positive aspects of our hotel you are kind enough to point out in your review. Please feel free to contact me directly and I will personally ensure you have a successful stay on your return visit.
Thank you again for taking the time to review our property and allowing me to address your concerns. I hope to hear from you soon.

Best regards,

Cheryl Neathway
General Manager
gm@hiesurrey.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2011

We stayed at this hotel because it was close to our friend's home in Surrey and because it was well recommended.
We couldn't have been happier with the hotel - the room was a good size with plenty of space to relax, a double jacouzi bath and large shower. The bed was very comfortable with good pillows and enough covers to give a good nights sleep.
The breakfast room has a lovely outlook over a small courtyard and forrested area; the menu was excellent with a good variety of choices.
Next to the Reception desk is a small supply of snack food for guests to purchase at any time; there is a coin operated laundromat for guests and a Business Centre with free internet as well as WiFi in the rooms.
We found the staff helpful and happy to give directions and options for us as tourists from Australia. The hotel is not too far from the sky train so it is very easy to travel into Vancouver.
We hope to return to visit our friends again and will be happy to stay in this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nanamc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryl_N_GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Surrey, responded to this review, 30 September 2011
Thank you so much for your fantastic review!
It is deeply rewarding to hear that guests had a successful stay and enjoyed everything the property and staff provided during their time with us. Your wonderful comments will be shared with everyone.
We sincerely appreciate your effort in posting such a thorough and positive overview of your visit and we look forward to hosting your next vacation to this area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surrey hotels
Guildford
Four Points by Sheraton Surrey
Guildford
Sheraton Vancouver Guildford Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Guildford
Sandman Suites Surrey-Guildford
Newton
Best Western Plus King George Inn & Suites
Fleetwood
Comfort Inn & Suites Surrey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Surrey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Surrey

Property: Holiday Inn Express & Suites Surrey
Address: 15808 | 104th Ave, Surrey, British Columbia V4N 5L2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Surrey > Guildford
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Surrey
#4 Romantic Hotel in Surrey
#6 Business Hotel in Surrey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Surrey 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Smart Choice among Vancouver Area Hotels! Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Surrey. Located just outside of Canada's third-largest city, guests of our cozy hotel experience big city convenience with rural hospitality. Combining the best of the business and leisure worlds, our hotel in Surrey stands out from the crowd of other British Columbia hotels. Business travelers appreciate our convenient on-site meeting facilities, perfect for a corporate briefing, training seminar or board meeting. Even more convenient is our Surrey hotel's unbeatable location near local business and corporations, with easy access to the Trans Canada Highway and big businesses in nearby Vancouver. Guests in town on vacation find our location among the best of British Columbia hotels. Because we are located just east of Vancouver, our hotel's guests can enjoy the attractions and shopping downtown without forsaking the charming rural pleasures located further inland. Surrey's numerous recreational parks and outdoor activities are a sign of what lies just minutes away after escaping the city. Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Surrey, and you can relax in elegant rooms with stylish decor and modern amenities, including free high-speed, wireless Internet access and a mini fridge and microwave in all rooms. Impressive among Vancouver hotels, our amenities include an indoor pool, hot tub, sauna and Fitness Ctr. And enjoy a free breakfast with a view of woodlands and wildlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Surrey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Surrey Hotel Surrey
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Surrey
Holiday Inn Express Surrey
Holiday Inn Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing