We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem....Pssttt Don't tell anyone!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Horseshoe Bay Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in West Vancouver
Reviewed 12 July 2012

My husband and I love this little hidden gem. The rooms are all done in dark furniture giving it an exotic feel. Rates are very reasonable - lots of parking - and love the ice in the popcorn containers...lol.
boutique, quirky, quaint.
Plus you have the beautiful Horseshoe Bay with its many resteraunts, including the ever popular Boathouse, to explore.

Room Tip: Top floor - ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tripreviews41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atthebay, Manager at Horseshoe Bay Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2012

Dear Tripreviews,

We are really thrilled that your stay with us was so successful. Your very kind comments are gratefully appreciated. Glad to hear that you like our decor, right down to our popcorn containers for ice! Thank you so much for taking the time to write. We look forward to welcoming you back to Horseshoe Bay and specifically, to The Horseshoe Bay Motel.
Bree

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (186)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

143 - 149 of 186 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2012

We stayed one night here in preparation for taking the ferry across to Vancouver Island. This is an older style motel from the outside but all the rooms have been redone individually with a different decor in each one. The room was large with furniture that was unique for each room. The office staff were great-had a good sense of humour and were most helpful. I would stay there again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron3849
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atthebay, Manager at Horseshoe Bay Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2012

Hello Ron,

We are so grateful that you enjoyed your stay with us. All reviews, good and not so good, are very welcome. Through customer feedback, we learn about what is important to our guests and areas in which we need to improve. It was very gratifying that you rated us so highly. Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review....we look forward to welcoming you back.
Bree

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

My friends and I all love the motel at Horseshoe Bay. I wouldn't think of staying anywhere else! This location cannot be beat for beauty, and neither can Bree, Matt and the rest of the staff at this motel. I have stayed here several times, brought different friends, and they all want to return.
Thanks so much for making our stay so enjoyable!

Room Tip: Go for the second floor-
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DenValDoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atthebay, Manager at Horseshoe Bay Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2012

Dear Travel Trio Fort Wayne:

First of all, we really appreciate your wonderful comments. It is always so nice that you choose to stay at The Horseshoe Bay Motel. It gives all of us (Naomi, Math, Shannon and me) a great deal of pleasure to know that you are comfortable and happy to be here in Horseshoe Bay. We really look forward to welcoming you and your friends. Thank you again so much for taking the time to submit your review. Best regards, Bree

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

We recently spent one night at the Horseshoe Bay Motel in Horseshoe Bay. I left my wallet in one of the drawers of cabinet in the room. It contained several items of value. Credit cards, driver's licence and several thousands of dollars in cash.

When I realised what happened (24 hours after we had departed), I called. To my surprise and huge relief, they told me that they had found it and would keep it for me. By that time they had already emailed me!

The manager, Bree, and her team deserve credit for such honesty and service. Not easily beaten! Full marks and many thanks.

Gerrit Pretorius

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gerrit P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atthebay, Manager at Horseshoe Bay Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2012

Dear Mr. Pretorius:
Thank you so much for taking the time to submit your review. We were delighted to have you as our guest. We are so grateful for your kind comments. When our staff member, Shannon, found your wallet, we were very concerned that you would be in a panic regarding where it had been mislaid and also that you might have been stranded somewhere without funds.
Anyway, all ended well and we were thrilled to learn that your entire Canadian vacation was very successful. We hope that you will soon return to British Columbia and specifically to The Horseshoe Bay Motel. Best regards, Bree

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2012

Old-fashioned--in a good way--motel! Well kept & very clean & comfortable. Staff pleasant & helpful on phone when I made reservations & helpful on site. Worked well for our need to catch early morning ferry.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ajoyce7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atthebay, Manager at Horseshoe Bay Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2012

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. All comments are greatly appreciated because it is essential that we are "tuned in" to the needs of our guests. Our goal is to provide comfortable accommodation and an enjoyable experience. Thank you so much for taking the time to write. We look forward to welcoming you back soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

This is right there in horseshoe bay. Close to the ferry terminal. Very friendly town. Good restaurants. Beautiful views. We were there for the diving but it is great weekend destination. The hotel is very nicely furnished and clean.The bathroom was large and great shower with plenty of hot water. They have free wi-fi with two access points and i got a strong signal on one. I imagine the other is better on the other side so i would guess the have pretty good coverage. There are a few things that they could improve on. The doors have a half moon window at the top. The exterior lights are on all night and we had to hang a t shirt over the door to cut down on the light. There is no closet, just some space to hang stuff behind the door. The floors are heated and we could not find the thermostat. We ended up having to crack the door when it reached the high 70's. It's a bit on the expensive side for what you get but I suppose you are paying for the location.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suzie_1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atthebay, Manager at Horseshoe Bay Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2012

We greatly appreciate that you took the time to write. We have great diving in this area and are very pleased that you had the opportunity to experience our waters. Thank you for your comments regarding the Horseshoe Bay Motel. I regret that you found your room to be too warm. There are thermostats on the baseboards in all rooms and had we known that you were uncomfortable, we would have adjusted the heat for you accordingly. Before we had the doors with the glass windows, we used to get complaints that the rooms were too dark. Nonetheless, your point is well taken and we will try to think of a solution. We hope to have the privilege of welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2012

Great staff, very friendly and helpful. Room and bathroom clean and were warm and cosy throughout our stay. Everything you need was supplied. We stayed for eleven nights and room was cleaned every day ,towels replaced and linen changed every two or three nights. Coffee , tea toiletries supplid, even a bathmat for safety. Would highly recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atthebay, Manager at Horseshoe Bay Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your comments. We are grateful for all customer feedback and are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us. Having you here for eleven nights was such a privilege for us. We definitely look forward to welcoming you back to The Horseshoe Bay Motel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Vancouver
12.4 km away
Best Western Capilano Inn & Suites
Best Western Capilano Inn & Suit...
#3 of 10 in North Vancouver
461 reviews
12.4 km away
North Vancouver Hotel
North Vancouver Hotel
#5 of 10 in North Vancouver
325 reviews
12.2 km away
Travelodge Vancouver Lions Gate
Travelodge Vancouver Lions Gate
#8 of 10 in North Vancouver
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 km away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites North Vancouver
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites North...
#2 of 10 in North Vancouver
742 reviews
12.4 km away
Comfort Inn and Suites North Vancouver
Comfort Inn and Suites North Van...
#6 of 10 in North Vancouver
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horseshoe Bay Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horseshoe Bay Motel

Address: 6588 Royal Ave, West Vancouver, British Columbia V7W 2B6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > West Vancouver
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in West Vancouver
Price Range: $115 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Horseshoe Bay Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Horseshoe Bay's convenient location makes a perfect base-camp: for travelers planning day trips or longer excursions ~ to the West Coast and Gulf Islands, or to more northerly destinations through the interior of BC. Located in scenic Horseshoe Bay Village, the Horseshoe Bay Motel is affordable and conveniently located. It is close to all attractions; world famous Whistler is only 90 minutes away and the Ferry Terminal to Vancouver Island is at your doorstep. Horseshoe Bay is a gateway to both Vancouver and the wonders of Vancouver Island including Victoria and Tofino. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity.ca and TripOnline SA so you can book your Horseshoe Bay Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horseshoe Bay Hotel West Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing