We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb food ”
Review of Rustique Bistro

Rustique Bistro
Ranked #4 of 21 Restaurants in Bowen Island
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$2 - US$18
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: French inspirited restaurant on Bowen island , using local fresh ingredients.
Reviewed July 31, 2018 via mobile

This was a great find - the food was amazing! We tried Brussel sprouts, a poke bowl, Cobb salad and a halibut fish as as well as truffle Parmesan fries. The staff were lovely and food came out super fast. They also sell alcohol and coffees. Worth a visit if you’re on this island.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank aroundtheclockfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (115)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 115 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2018

Went here for lunch on a Wednesday (the other options were not open for lunch). It was a hot day and would have sat on the patio but there were no tables fully in the shade. Indoor seating is OK. Waiter brought water (never got a refill, my fault for not asking). We ordered a bottle of white wine off the list but it was no longer served so we were offered its replacement that was very good and very nicely priced ($17.50++ in the BC Govt. Liquor for $32++ - BC Lang Vineyards Bravo White - a blend).
For lunch we had a daily special - Braised Beef sandwich with Blue Cheese and a Garden Herb Chicken Sandwich. The beef special came with a choice of side, the chicken side was extra - picked yam fries that were too salty.
Wasn’t long after we ordered and the food arrived, oops, not our order. The right dishes arrived, good size, average taste. Service was good, washrooms excllent.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank V6A4B3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 3, 2018

It was our second time to Bowen Island and we decided to try this restaurant. We had met the owner the previous month and he was so friendly and warm we wanted to eat at his place. It was Friday night and not too busy, which was kind of surprising as it was the long weekend. I had the mushroom ravioli in a delicious pesto cream sauce. My husband had the steak and fries. They were some of the best fries we had ever tasted! Perfectly cooked - crispy on the outside and fluffy inside. The steak was good too, but it looked like it had been fried and not grilled. We each had dessert which was a gluten free chocolate cake. It was fabulous, but a bit pricy at $8.50 a slice. We were also surprised to see a $3.50 charge on the bill for bread, which I had requested to sop up the yummy pasta sauce. Service was good and the one waitress did a great job of seeing to everyone. We will have to come back again and try their Sunday Brunch next time.

Date of visit: June 2018
1  Thank Karbar1088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 22, 2018

The sign on their door says 'We're open and AMAZING'. Well it was pretty good, but not like their proclamation. I had trout, which was mislabelled, I think, as Rainbow trout, the flesh not the usual nice pink. However, though a bit bland, it was well presented and came with very nicely done veggies. Others had bouillabaise- to the liking of one, but not the other, judging by what was left behind. The disappointment were the mushroom ravioli, a very small serving with far too much liquid- almost a soup.

Cheesecake was reported as good, the creme brule just fine, but the gf ganache was cloyingly sweet, mealy.

With a glass of wine each, it came to $50/pp. So this is getting close to 3 $$$, not 2, and in my view, a bit high for what you get. That said, for Bowen, this was pretty decent.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 13, 2017

Probably the best food on Bowen, a warm cozy and comfortable French Bistro environment. Not an extensive menu but it is a bistro and what they do serve is very high quality.

Date of visit: December 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank flygirl2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rustique Bistro also viewed

Bowen Island, British Columbia
Bowen Island, British Columbia
 
Bowen Island, British Columbia
West Vancouver, British Columbia
 
West Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Rustique Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing