We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect escape to the country!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Lower House Barn

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Staunton on Wye, Herefordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kate S
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Perfect escape to the country!”
Reviewed 5 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

I stayed at Lower House Barn with my husband and 6 members of my family to celebrate a birthday over a long bank holiday weekend in May. The accommodation was perfect, even for 8 of us (plus dogs!). Finished beautifully and with all the mod cons you'd expect in a home, it didn't feel like your average holiday let. The surrounding countryside is gorgeous, Hay is a lovely little town, and canoeing down the Wye was a lot of fun (just take some dry clothes!). Di and Martin were very friendly and welcoming, providing help when we needed it and a delicious welcome hamper of goodies on arrival. Not a bad word to say about it. Thank you, we will be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Homely atmosphere
Liked least: Rain!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lpepe2015
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“Beautiful barn conversion, really nice welcome!”
Reviewed 27 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Lovely barn conversion, really nice welcome, including locally produced cider,Herefordshire Hop cheese, locally produced bread and other yummy things for us in basket as a welcome treat. The barn was stunning and Di and Martin were absolutely fantastic right from the beginning before we even confirmed our stay. We went to Hereford Cider Museum, we would strongly recommend it, and canoeing on the Wye. Dinner in Three Tuns Haye-on-Wye was good too. And there's a really good independent farm-shop type supermarket 5 mins from the house, which sells lots of high-quality locally sourced produce. I'd go back next weekend if I could. Perfect stay for our family- four adults and two kids (6 and 8 years old). Bellissima!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Apr 2015
Thank you for such a positive review - we are so pleased that your husband enjoyed celebrating his birthday in our beautiful county and made the most of his love of cider! Maybe a trip to Westons Cider next time you visit Herefordshire!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheryl E
Caernarfon, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful, well presented accommodation - everything we needed and more.”
Reviewed 10 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Lovely warm welcome from the owners Di and Martin. The Barn was beautifully decorated and had everything we needed to make our stay very homely. It was well located for touring Herefordshire with most places within a 45 mins drive. Welcome hamper was delicious and a lovely touch. Thank you for a great Easter break!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Decoration, layout and facilities provided suited our party very well
Liked least: nothing - it was perfect
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Apr 2015
We are so happy that you enjoyed your Easter break. It was lovely to meet all your family and hope to see you again one year when the orchards are in blossom!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaB197...
Watford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautifully presented 5 star barn conversion”
Reviewed 5 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

This barn is finished to a very high standard, welcome hamper on arrival full of lovely local goodies. Everything you could wish for is provided. The reception from the owners could not have been more welcoming. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Apr 2015
Thank you for the positive comments - we are so lucky to have Oakchurch Farm Shop nearby to purchase all the locally produced food and drink to fill the hamper. We are glad you enjoyed your stay in the Barn.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pete M
Warwickshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing place”
Reviewed 1 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Stayed at this beautiful and spacious barn with friends for a relaxing weekend away. The barn itself is superb with high quality finishes throughout and has everything you could need. The views of the countryside are great and there are plenty of good walks to do in the vicinity. Highly recommended.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$154
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing