We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic day on the land with Benoit!”
Review of Inukpak Outfitting

Inukpak Outfitting
Ranked #1 of 15 things to do in Iqaluit
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Inukpak (in Inuktitut, the Inuit language) means the gentle giant; it should make sense when you’ll meet the company founder. Since 2011, we are pleased to offer guided services in the Nunavut Capital, Iqaluit. Our main goal, designing products to meet “your” expectations and creating an experience of a life time. Safety, public-at-large oriented, client needs, Inuit culture and environment are our main concerns. Specialized in dog sledding, we are also offering other products such as: snow sailing, snowmobiling, ice fishing, hiking, canoeing, kayaking and many more.
Reviewed May 28, 2018

Just back from a day snowmobiling with Benoit.
They provided everything you need in the way of winter clothing, boots, helmet etc.
Went out on the bay ice, checked out the dog teams up close and personal.
Headed into the mountain for lunch in a cabin.
Very safe and educational trip, with greatest respect for the land and people.
Highly recommend to spend a day with Inukpak Outfitting.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (144)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"dog sledding"
in 38 reviews
"louis philippe"
in 8 reviews
"sea kayaking"
in 8 reviews
"ice fishing"
in 6 reviews
"day hike"
in 5 reviews
"few hours"
in 5 reviews
"dog team"
in 5 reviews
"once in a lifetime"
in 4 reviews
"an amazing experience"
in 6 reviews
"an adventure"
in 4 reviews
"warm clothing"
in 4 reviews
"great trip"
in 4 reviews
"snowmobile tour"
in 4 reviews
"these guys"
in 3 reviews
"cultural tour"
in 3 reviews
"a lot of fun"
in 3 reviews
"knowledgeable guide"
in 3 reviews
Filter

14 - 18 of 144 reviews

Reviewed May 22, 2018

My wife and I spent an incredible morning with Louis-Philippe building (ok, we helped only a little) an iglu. Louis-Philippe explained, demonstrated iglu construction and then made novice snow block cutters out of us. Wonderful stories of elders and snow researchers describing the same snow in different ways. Louis-Philippe was also very accommodating - we were originally supposed to meet with him a day earlier but it was too cold (!!) so he adjusted his schedule and then dropped us at the airport in time for our flight back.
You really must do this if you come up to Iqaluit. It will transform your appreciation of snow and your respect for the First Nations people who have lived here for 1,000s of years.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 21, 2018

As a solo traveller, I couldn't have picked a better outfitter and guide. I went out on 2 excursions - snowmobiling and dog sledding. Gabriel was knowledgeable, easy going and he had a great sense of humour. The excursions themselves were exhilarating and fun. If and when I find myself back in Iqaluit, I'll be doing it all again and more. Thank you!

Date of experience: April 2018
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
1  Thank Tracy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 16, 2018

No doubt that Martine is the Director of Awesomeness! Seeing Nunavut without Inukpak Outfitting's services would be a major mistake. As a professional planner and escort for international educational field trips, I found that Inukpak Outfitting is exactly the kind of business that wrings the maximum value out of your visit--whatever the length of your stay and in spite of whatever you forget to bring! From incredible insights about Inuit culture to exploring Nunavut, Louis-Philip and Martine have everything covered in The North. I will definitely come back to see them for both work trips and family vacations.

Date of experience: May 2018
1  Thank George N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed April 29, 2018

We had a fabulous experience with Inukpak. They are knowledgeable, funny, patient, very accommodating. Gabriel took us sledding and he has a great relationship with the dogs - truly amazing animals, you'll want to plan for time to pat/visit with them after the ride.
We had a true arctic experience - warm and not windy on the way out and a light surface blizzard on the way back. Gabriel had great stories about the region. It is worth coming to Iqaluit just to get outside with Inukpak - they love and respect the outdoors and have the gear and knowledge to make it easy and extremely enjoyable for anyone who lives south of 60.

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank mikedY7723FP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Inukpak Outfitting also viewed

 

Been to Inukpak Outfitting? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing