We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A breathtaking place so close but seems so far away”

Archipelago Wildlife Cruises
Ranked #1 of 36 Tours in Ucluelet
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: For an unforgettable West Coast experience, join Al & Toddy Landry aboard their luxurious 53 foot motor yacht for a very personalized tour to view whales, bears, sea lions and other wildlife in comfort. More than just wildlife viewing, their interpretive tours include a scenic cruise through the sheltered waters of the Broken Group islands and a gourmet meal while at anchor. Romantic sunset cruises and private charters are also available.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Food available for purchase, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Orlando, Florida
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A breathtaking place so close but seems so far away”
Reviewed 14 November 2011

Our family had a wonderful time with this special small cruise trip. My wife and children were so amazed the what we saw and how exciting everything is during the trip. The owners were just simply pleasant and everything about this trip takes some great effort to describe. Wish the trip were longer but in reality it is not really possible for a day trip. The photo shoot is just so unforgettable and only pity is that it is too hard to catch good whale photos. Please see the photo link of my Pbase galleries.

http://www.pbase.com/adamyz/2011_bc_1

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Yashan Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

755 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    720
    27
    4
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An awesome tour of a beautiful coast”
Reviewed 26 October 2011

I spent several hours aboard the Archipelago Wildlife Cruise for a close friend's wedding. Although the day was rainy, we had a great time. The hosts gave us great hospitality and knew the area very well. Due to weather, we had to change plans and have the wedding on a different beach but this proved to be a good call on the captain's part. The wildlife was amazing and the hosts knew lots to tell about it. The trip was excellent and I would whole-heartedly recommend a tour to anyone visiting this area.

Tip: if you think there is even a small chance of seasickness, take the 1/2 gravol made available. This proved invaluable to a few people on board in choppy waters.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apex, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great fun on the water”
Reviewed 22 October 2011

My wife and I wanted to get out on the water from Ucluelet and chose the Archipelago cruise. It was a really good decision. It was a 4-5 hour leisurely romp among islands and sealife that we will long remember fondly. Captain and crew, Alan and Toddy alternated at the helm, are great narrators with years of experience on the waters of Barkley Sound, and they made the trip very interesting as well as entertaining. Binoculars and other goodies provided.

They run just 1 tour a day (also sunset cruises) so they do not rush anything in order to get back to pick up the next group. That made a big difference compared to other tours we researched, because they are willing and able to follow the whales wherever they are found, and it provides time for the leisurely (optional) gourmet lunch on board. Do opt for the lunch prepared in a local restaurant.

The 53' "Raincoast Maiden" is a treat. It is comfortable, stable, and roomy topside and below. Don't miss this great experience!

Candy and Jack, North Carolina

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank Happytravelers10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vladivostok, Russia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I saw the whales!”
Reviewed 17 October 2011

Our group booked a tour to Broken Group Islands last September. The trip was a great pleisure on the deck of our cruise. We had a nice lunch with salmon and salad. We saw a pack of 4 gray whales playing just some hundred yards away from us. Timmy brought 2 binoculars so we could se them clearly. This is the first time I saw the great gray whales in nature. So wonderful and memorable!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Soracheva155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham., England
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Spectacular trip”
Reviewed 11 October 2011

We took this trip on 19th September 2011 as part of our honeymoon celebrations and we would say that it was the perfect addition to our visit on the west coast. We were blessed with really good weather on our Broken Group Islands cruise and, due to Al and Toddy's expert local knowledge, we saw an abundance of wildlife - bald eagles, seals, sealions and a gray whale. Their enthusiasm was clear to see and the cruise was extremely well organised and every consideration had been taken into account - binoculars available for everyone, blankets, drinks etc. The lunch was also first rate - catered by the Ucluelet restaurant Norwoods, which is also well worth a visit. The spectacular scenery is something that we will never forget, and we really appreciated the surprise champagne toast to celebrate our Ucluelet wedding a few days earlier. All in all, an experience not to be missed.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank NWP9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Archipelago Wildlife Cruises also viewed

 
Ucluelet, Barkley Sound
Ucluelet, Barkley Sound
 

Been to Archipelago Wildlife Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing