We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Close to nature but missed the mark”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Black Rock Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Ucluelet
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Close to nature but missed the mark”
Reviewed 18 February 2012

Black Rock Resort looks like a 5 stars when entering the lobby, the front desk staff was friendly and helpful. The restaurant had good food, the lounge is great. Our room had a great view of the ocean and the waves are great. The problem is in the small details.. fire place doesn't work, this should have been check by house keeping; the balcony door was hard to open and close and still didn't figure out how to lock the door. Bathroom light switches are behind the bathroom door make it hard to access and the floor are cold. I can see gap on some of the wall plug, this may be small detail, but for the price of the room, this should not happened.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LuvTravelGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackRock09, General Manager at Black Rock Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, 19 February 2012
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your comments. You are correct, the issues that you experienced with the fireplace were avoidable. Our goal is to get into every suite prior to arrival to ensure that everything is in working order, it appears the fireplace was missed in your suite. Please accept our sincere apologies. Please feel free to contact me directly if there is anything else you wish to report, I would very much appreciate knowing what suite you were in so we may address the issues you commented on.

Regards, Adele Larkin alarkin@blackrockresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,474 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    861
    367
    160
    54
    32
See reviews for
307
906
29
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (459)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
White Rock, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

The Black Rock resort lived up to all the previous comments. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. Our dog also loved the front desk staff as they gave her some fabulous treats. We ate/drank in the lounge; the staff was very attentive and service was excellent. We were on the storm watching package; however the weather was not stormy but beautiful sunshine; therefore we spent hours walking/hiking the trails and beaches. Our Pacific Spirit room was fantastic; the view utterly amazing. Overall this resort gets an excellent rating.

Room Tip: Pacific Spirit rooms have an amazing view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJCrcc85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

The event planner and all of the staff at Black Rock are truly amazing! My husband and I feel so fortunate to have had their help in not only our wedding plans but our engagement as well! We fell in love with Black Rock on our very first trip there and so my husband decided to take me back to Black Rock to propose... The event planner and her staff were wonderful and helped him with all of his plans... from ordering the red roses... setting the table to his request... bringing out champagne and helping to make our night romantic... it all felt very magical... and imagine our pleasant surprise when we arrived back at our room to find candles and chocolate as well as a card congratulating us on our engagement from the resort management and staff!! and then... The Wedding... Where do I begin... we set our wedding date with little thought about how to arrange everything from a distance with less than 3 monthes to the wedding day! The event planner and her assistant did everything for us.. We wanted our wedding to be elegant and that was exactly how it turned out! The staff were so helpful and even delivered our wedding gifts to each other prior to our ceremony on a silver tray!! We started with the wedding in the wine cellar... oh my... how romantic they helped to make the setting which included serving our guests champagne at the end of the ceremony for our first toast! They then transformed the same venue to our seated dining request of 35 guests while we had photo's taken... All of our special dinner requests were made available even the wine we requested was brought in special for our day! Once again... the wedding planner and her assistant were wonderful and were part of our day... from helping with the music to walk down the aisle to ensuring my guests were treated and served with exellent service. Our guests then moved upstairs to the ballroom to dance and enjoy the remainder of the evening.. The set up was amazing and once again was elegant... Thank you K & N for making our day everything we imagined it would be!! Our guests are still in awe and can't wait to return on their own!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BRHVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chemainus, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

We can not begin to describe how wonderful everyone was at the Blackrock! I contacted them many months in advance and worked monthly with the wedding planner. She was amazing and went ABOVE AND BEYOND what I would have ever expected. The wedding planner made all the arranements to take care of my flowers and cakes once I got them to the resort. She even decorated the cakes and of course looked after all my allergy needs with the wonderful chef. The food was perfect and served promptly as arranged. She managed to get all our guests amazing rates and upgraded us. The trail suits were perfect for our two dogs and easy access to the beach and trails. What can I say, the view can not be described. A MUST SEE! The rooms were beyond fantastic and almost my entire guest list has gone back to stay. We will be back later this month. Thank you Blackrock and all your staff for truely making this the most memorable and beautiful day for all of us.ve

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank M S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tofino
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

I'm very surprised to hear about this past wedding at Black Rock Resort. I've had the opportunity to attend 2 weddings there over the past 6 months, one in the ball room and one in the wine cellar. Both were among some of the best weddings I've been to thus far. I felt the wedding planner was efficient, very approachable and an incredibly sincere woman. Enough to compel me to respond to these negative comments on her work. She went over and above the call of duty, making table settings, smoothly accommodating last minute guest list changes and seating. She offered some beautiful, simple and unique ideas for decorating and then executed them herself. Elegant indeed! Needless to say, she smoothly orchestrated both these events which is a clear testament to her experience and time spent prior to the occasion.
Thank you again and keep up the good work. It's highly appreciated by many!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank carys j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

My husband and I spent two nights here as our last weekend to relax before moving and having our baby.

We had a one bedroom suite, and it was lovely! Sunday was our full day there, and it poured all day long, but we were very comfortable inside the whole time with the TV in the living room and the sound of the rain and waves out the window. The furniture is contemporary in style, but still very cozy feeling, which I appreciate very much.
The bed was divine. I was expecting to be a little uncomfortable, being 8 months pregnant in an unfamiliar bed, but it was not the case! There were plenty of pillows to keep me supported and the mattress was the perfect firmness.

The kitchen is super well stocked and we were able to enjoy most of our meals in the suite.
The one meal we partook of downstairs was the special buffet they had on Sunday morning for Valentine's weekend. There was an excellent selection of hot and cold dishes, fresh fruit (even fresh berries!) and delicious coffee. It was nice to sit and watch the ocean out the window.

The one negative thing I would say is that the rooms was quite warm most of the time, which I did not understand because the thermostats were set to 15 degrees. Because of this, we did not turn on the fireplace or the heated floors in the bathroom. I'm sure they would be great though!

Both people we interacted with at check in and check out were very friendly and professional, as well as a housekeeper we saw in the hall one day.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LariJoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Spent the afternoon at Blsck Rock after a delicous lunch we headed to the spa!! Exceptional service throughout our entire visit!!! A hot stone masssge and foot scrub was fabulous followed by a soak in the hot tub to enjoy the amazing view!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank luv2travel0909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ucluelet
32.5 km away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
33.2 km away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
29.8 km away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Water's Edge Shoreside Suites
29.7 km away
Long Beach Lodge Resort
1.1 km away
Bayshore Waterfront Inn
Bayshore Waterfront Inn
#6 of 11 in Ucluelet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Rock Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Rock Oceanfront Resort

Property: Black Rock Oceanfront Resort
Address: 596 Marine Drive, Ucluelet, British Columbia V0R 3A0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Barkley Sound > Ucluelet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Ucluelet
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ucluelet
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ucluelet
#2 Family Hotel in Ucluelet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Black Rock Oceanfront Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in Nature, Designed for ComfortVancouver Island’s most awe-inspiring oceanfront resort, Black Rock Resort offers a spectacular escape from the ordinary. Experience a Vancouver Island vacation at Black Rock Resort for winter storm watching, spring whale watching, summer beach adventures or a romantic fall retreat. With breathtaking vistas of the Pacific Ocean and rainforest, our comfortable suites offer a magical perspective to Vancouver Island’s rugged West Coast… any time of year!Relax and rejuvenate in exquisite suites designed for maximum comfort- from plush king beds to state-of-the-art kitchens. Lounge in spacious living areas with fireplaces. Rejuvenate in spa-inspired bathrooms. Take in magical sunsets from your balcony facing the crashing waves or lush forest. Our suites are also pet friendly! Enjoy a soak in one of our outdoor hot tubs or the plunge pool over looking the ocean during your stay. Keep up your fitness routine in our 24 hour accessible Fitness Centre. Dine in our oceanfront restaurant Fetch, open breakfast, lunch and dinner or enjoy BC wines or locally inspired martini's and light snacks by the fire in Float Lounge. Artisan Inspired cuisine, sure to impress all of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Black Rock Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Rock Oceanfront Hotel Ucluelet
Black Rock Oceanfront Ucluelet
Black Rock Oceanfront Resort Ucluelet, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing