We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reef Point Cottages
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wild Edge Lodge(Ucluelet)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (248)
Filter reviews
248 results
Traveller rating
84
84
39
27
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
84
84
39
27
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe cottagesbedroom cottagethe wild pacific trailwifi accessnice cottagekitchen utensilsfull kitchenqueen bedforest viewhide a bedclean towelsclose to townjet tubcoffee makerthree nightsshort driveterrace beach
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
174 - 179 of 248 reviews
Reviewed 8 January 2012

It was great to be in Ucluelet but I don't recommend Reef Point. Some of these cottages are very shoddily built and we ended up needing to move cabins 3 times. The maintenance is quite poor. The toilets are prone to overflowing and when they do the water shoots straight down into the living room! The bathtubs were so scummy we had to buy something to clean them out ourselves... in all 3 cabins. The BBQ's are in extremely rough shape and are rusted and look like they've never been cleaned.
The cottages are in a beautiful location with easy access to the Wild Pacific trail.
At the end of our stay we checked out a few minutes late and the receptionist had the nerve to chastise us about it after everything that had happened!
I am thankful that we got an extremely cheap deal otherwise this would have been a real burn!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank floio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2011

We just returned home from staying in Cabin 25 for the weekend in Ucluelet - this is our third stay at Reef Point Cottages in this same cabin over the past four years, but unfortunately I think it just might be our last.

Pretty much everything the previous reviewer had to say about Cabin 25 was accurate - the TV remote still didn't work, the barbeque lighter didn't work, the fake fireplace/heater thing in the downstairs bedroom area took *literally* 18+ hours to warm the room up to a decent temperature, and the hot tub water's chemicals really irritated my skin and the rim of the "hot" (tepid) tub had a gross discoloured line of scum around the inside.

To add to the disappointments: the kitchen table's legs were so wobbly that I had to tighten them up (by hand! they were *that* loose) so we could use the table to eat on, and the kitchenware is the same old tired stuff that was getting a little worn when we first stayed years ago and is well past its prime these days. The toaster barely worked, the knives were barely sharp enough to chop onions and the blade on one of them plopped right out of the handle, the stove's burner rings were FILTHY underneath, the toilet rocked back and forth on the tile in the bathroom (maybe the bolts were loose?), many corners were full of cobwebs, and the blankets provided on the beds were thinner than Kate Moss on a coke binge.

This place used to be good *and* good value...it was "rustic" but the basics were there, and that's why we've come back three times. Well, it's gone from rustic to just shabby, and the price keeps climbing...we paid over $400 for our two-night stay, and it definitely wasn't worth it.

The place does have pros...the location is good, and if the cabins were actually maintained and had their worn-out items replaced we'd come back. Reef Point management - you'd be smart to drop a couple hundred bucks at Ikea per cabin for some new dish ware, bedding, and small appliances, and actually *clean* these places once in awhile. Until then, we're not likely to return, and that's a shame.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank roferg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2011

All I wanted was an inexpensive place near the ocean to get away for a few days and Reef Point Cottages surpassed my expectations.
I booked a studio cottage on the 3-4-2 deal and it was a great deal. The cottage was clean, the kitchen was well supplied with pots, plates, cutlery, glasses etc, staff were friendly and helpful and I never heard a sound from any of the nearby cottages that were occupied.
The cottages are close to the Lighthouse Loop section of the Wild Pacific Trail and the lighthouse is a fabulous place to watch the sunset from.
It would have been nice to have Wi-Fi in the cottage but there is a guest computer available at the office or they will give you a password to use your own laptop in the office or in the immediate area outside.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nakilady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2011

I took my family here on a 5 night get away. It was a great location and cottage. The office was closed and they left the key in the box so we could access the cottage after hours. They provide all the basics you would need in the cabin. So If your looking for a quick out of town get away and don't want to break the bank this place is for you.

Room Tip: If you have kids i would suggest getting atleast a 1 bedroom. we had a baby with us and when it was time for her to go to bed it was a bit difficult to stay quiet in a small one room cabin.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank missvaliant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2011

Spur of the moment some friends of ours told us they were going to Ukee for a weekend and we decided to join. We check around at the big resort hotels but the prices were way out of our range.

We booked here and it was great. We arrived at midnight and a key was waiting for us, just as arranged.

The cabins are rustic and charming. Just a place to lay our heads. Kitchens were well equipped with everything we needed for the weekend. BBQ out on the front porch, terrific.

Close to town, quiet area, birds signing.

The only VERY minor quip is the gravel driveway is quite loud, so when the neighbours from other cottages were coming in late at night or leaving very early the rocks were quite noisy as the rocks are very deep. I'm sure this is necessary given the amount of rain they get. Like I said, SUPER minor thing. If we were there for a couple more nights we would have probably been used to it.

But again, for the price and the rustic coastal ambience this place can't be beat. I will take the price we paid over the price of a paved road being built into a higher nightly rate any day.

WIFI would be nice.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Damienz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews